Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Graham Dwyer

• 05-10-2017 5:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭

Is it just me who thinks that there were just too many coincidences of good luck which led to the arrest of GDwyer ? Also how on earth would a clerk in a busy city centre 02 shop have been able to remember a man who bought a sim card but refused to give his address after all that time?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,861 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Joe Duffy. wrote: »
    Is it just me who thinks that there were just too many coincidences of good luck which led to the arrest of GDwyer ? Also how on earth would a clerk in a busy city centre 02 shop have been able to remember a man who bought a sim card but refused to give his address after all that time?

I'm a foreigner: what happened? :o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,077 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Overheal wrote: »
    I'm a foreigner: what happened? :o

Someone is clutching at straws to create a conspiracy theory.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,296 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Both of the coincidences were caused by the good weather so its actually not that odd, the body was exposed because of the earth being dry and the reservoir was low because of the run of good weather.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,431 ✭✭✭Markcheese

I hadn't heard anything about the o2 shop or sim thing, but you'd be amazed by how a customer can ( but doesn't always) stick in your head... Sometimes it's just something weird they say or do..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I know the guy who he was dealing with on the model airplane videos, and he's a straight up guy. There's no conspiracy here.

The address was recorded on the companies computer system - it was a made up address but it was very similar to the address of one of his relations/inlaws- can't remember which now.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,239 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I know the guy who he was dealing with on the model airplane videos, and he's a straight up guy. There's no conspiracy here.

Unless.....

You're part of it!!!

:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

endacl wrote: »
    Unless.....
    You're part of it!!!
    :eek::eek::eek:

*shuts down laptop and heads for the door*

Too late. Black helicopter inbound.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

He did give an address. It was for an Oaklawn, Cherihan in Tipperary which matched his sister's address. He also registered it under the weird name Goroon Caisholm, a corruption of one of his former colleagues name Gordon Chisholm. The number matched his own personal number with the exception of the 08- prefix.

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

No conspiracy, just a wickedly evil man who preyed on a vulnerable woman for his own perverted needs. I recently rewatched a Prime Time documentary on YouTube, the Gardai did an amazing job of nailing him while catching some breaks along the way. In particular a small town member of the Gardai going the extra mile on a hunch. Hope the piece of crap Dwyer rots in his cell for a very long time. Guilty as sin.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,040 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Just finished reading Paul Williams book on it.
    I had to skip bits of it due to the graphic details.
    Fair play to the jury to sit through that harrowing evidence.
    Thankfully Elaine got a burial and the family got the truth.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Graham! You're a boardsie!

bilbot79 wrote: »
    Graham! You're a boardsie!

He actually was a boardsie! Frequented a model airplane forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Omackeral wrote: »

Freaky...seems a bit intense even on boards..

Just finished reading Paul Williams book on it.
    I had to skip bits of it due to the graphic details.
    Fair play to the jury to sit through that harrowing evidence.
    Thankfully Elaine got a burial and the family got the truth.

It really is a surreal book. The work of the police and the strokes of luck they had were phenomenal but their perseverance is what really paid off. I'd recommend it definitely for the procedural stuff, unreal. As said, the graphic parts are very graphic and are tough to read at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

It really is a surreal book. The work of the police and the strokes of luck they had were phenomenal but their perseverance is what really paid off. I'd recommend it definitely for the procedural stuff, unreal. As said, the graphic parts are very graphic and are tough to read at times.

What's the name of the book if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

What was his username?

Psycho McWeirdo, I believe.

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    What's the name of the book if you don't mind me asking?

It's called "Almost The Perfect Murder: The Killing Of Elaine O'Hara". I picked it up in Eason a while ago in the true crime section.

25853039.jpg

What was his username?

First initial, last name. All one word

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭by8auj6csd3ioq

To the two who read P Williams book on Graham Dwyer. Do you think Dwyer would have been convicted if he had invoked his right to silence? As best as i can recall it : They first questioned him about and airplane event in Tipperary and got an admission he was there. The real reason, which they came back to later, was she had a had a text they had traced to the tipp area and so now he was in less of a position to deny it. Reading through his interrogation i would be surprised if he was convicted had he kept his mouth shut

• Registered Users Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭tara73

First initial, last name. All one word

good lord, it's quite freaky they are still there. thought they would have them deleted by now..

• Registered Users Posts: 10,295 ✭✭✭✭branie2

He's evil and guilty

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

Read the book over the weekend after spotting this thread, some story. Glad he was caught, for the sake of that poor girl's family.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Lowdown scum preyed on a naive trusting girl and acted out his vile fantasies on her. Apparently he tried to trap another woman as well. In the meantime he was living a double life as a perfect husband and father. People like him give BDSM a bad name.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

I see this is back on the front pages today, an appeal to the supreme court on behalf of the state about the use of mobile phone metadata and if it is a breach of EU law under the European convention of human rights. Fascinating stuff, it could have implications on some serious issues in years to come.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/1216/1099426-graham-dwyer-court/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,648 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

To the two who read P Williams book on Graham Dwyer. Do you think Dwyer would have been convicted if he had invoked his right to silence? As best as i can recall it : They first questioned him about and airplane event in Tipperary and got an admission he was there. The real reason, which they came back to later, was she had a had a text they had traced to the tipp area and so now he was in less of a position to deny it. Reading through his interrogation i would be surprised if he was convicted had he kept his mouth shut

Totally. He even answered questions where I guess he (Dwyer) just thought the guard was just shooting the breeze, whereas "everything you say can be used as evidence" etc
    i.e. The guard asked about his kids, when they were born etc - and then matched this to text messages found on the phone that he used to message Ms O'Hara i.e. Baby girl born today etc

Ugh what a creep on a million of different levels

• Registered Users Posts: 8,431 ✭✭✭Markcheese

There is something quite scary about the gardai acting in good faith (not breaking the law as understood at the time ), and catching and subsequently successfully prosecuting a selfish murderer (he did it for his satisfaction ,) and possibly the guy not just being let out ,but found not guilty ...
    ( Kind of reminds me of judge Brian curtain ,the evidence was there and was collected ,the warrant had been issued ,the dates were out , so actual facts about found kiddie porn were disregarded and the guy gets off Scott free ...) Legal but not just ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

amdublin wrote: »
    Totally. He even answered questions where I guess he (Dwyer) just thought the guard was just shooting the breeze, whereas "everything you say can be used as evidence" etc
    i.e. The guard asked about his kids, when they were born etc - and then matched this to text messages found on the phone that he used to message Ms O'Hara i.e. Baby girl born today etc

Ugh what a creep on a million of different levels

You think the guards wouldn’t have access to state registered birth records?