Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

God Love Them!?

• 01-10-2017 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭

I see it every weekend on our streets, the state of our kids, young ones and young fellas out of their heads on top-shelf shít.. Most of them wouldn't even be fit for a few beers but yet a lot of them ordering and drinking enough shorts to knock out a wee horse.. Where did it all go wrong?.. My God back in the day if I had a shot of tequila for some sort of celebration once or twice a year that would be it... Come on get away from that bloody top-shelf.. http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/health/rising-number-of-u18s-entering-detox-36185098.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

For a second there I thought they were getting high on porn magazines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Wont somebody think of the children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Wont somebody think of the children.

It's the pub, not the church they're going to!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭etselbbuns

God does Love Them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I see it every weekend on our streets, the state of our kids, young ones and young fellas out of their heads on top-shelf shít.. Most of them wouldn't even be fit for a few beers but yet a lot of them ordering and drinking enough shorts to knock out a wee horse.. Where did it all go wrong?.. My God back in the day if I had a shot of tequila for some sort of celebration once or twice a year that would be it... Come on get away from that bloody top-shelf.. http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/health/rising-number-of-u18s-entering-detox-36185098.html

Uh, this was hardly the common thing in Ireland in the last 30 years easily.

Hell, I remember being young in the 80's and watching teenagers and people in their 20's going out and getting plastered every weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

You all obviously and without a shadow of a doubt!? Condone such behaviour... Sad so sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Same weekend as the announcement of over 3000 children in the family homelessness statistics:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=104827377#post104827377

429281.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Would you g'way. I was going out getting mouldy in the 90s, and my brother's were in the late 80s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

etselbbuns wrote: »
    God does Love Them

No I don't.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I have a question please:

Did you hear the phrase "top shelf" in reference to spirits over the weekend, and decide that you wanted to use it in a thread?

Because "top shelf" doesn't mean all spirits, such as shorts or shots of tequilla. It refers to the more expensive fine spirits, usually whiskies and brandies etc. The phrase comes from the fact that the regular spirits for mixing and shots etc are usually kept at arm or shoulder height for easy access and then the more expensive spirits, which are ordered less commonly, are kept on the upper shelves.

Now if you are making the point that kids are mixing Middleton Very Rare with Ginger Ale, then yes, you are right to decry them. But I suspect that kids being kids they don't really have that kind of money to throw around.

I have a question please:

Did you hear the phrase "top shelf" in reference to spirits over the weekend, and decide that you wanted to use it in a thread?

Because "top shelf" doesn't mean all spirits, such as shorts or shots of tequilla. It refers to the more expensive fine spirits, usually whiskies and brandies etc. The phrase comes from the fact that the regular spirits for mixing and shots etc are usually kept at arm or shoulder height for easy access and then the more expensive spirits, which are ordered less commonly, are kept on the upper shelves.

Now if you are making the point that kids are mixing Middleton Very Rare with Ginger Ale, then yes, you are right to decry them. But I suspect that kids being kids they don't really have that kind of money to throw around.

Dear God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Some people cant handle their liquor.

Shame on them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Meh what about it as long as they're only affecting themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Meh what about it as long as they're only affecting themselves

True,but the problem is "they" are usually effecting a far broader chunk of society.
    This time of year,as freshers turn up on University doorsteps,tends to be one of the most challenging for Gardai,Ambulance Staff,Busdrivers,Taxidrivers,Shop Assistants,Shop Security and many other "Customer" facing jobs,and,with some certainty,Hospital A&E staff.

It is,for sure a Rite of Passage as the "Child" passes from the parental nest out into the wider world,however it is my experience that this rite often tends to extend well into the life of many youuthful Buachailli agus Cailini.

Watching semi-comatose young wans being hefted aboard a Dart,Luas or Bus only to see them vomit or unrinate all over themselves,is par for the course,and so be it.

However,with one of the best basic 2nd level educational systems in the World,freely available to all,please do not expect me to go all sympathetic when young Murieann or Tomás falls through a plate glass door or gets clattered by a car whilst staggering across a busy dual carriageway.

You are correct Sam Quentin,it is "Top Shelf" carry on,from the top shelf of a big Island Sanitorium floating off the mainland of Europe...where the "Craic" is 90 altogether ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

My God back in the day if I had a shot of tequila for some sort of celebration once or twice a year that would be it...

How far back was your day?

I started drinking about 15 years ago and we were mad for beer and spirits, there would be spirits with mixers and many shots drank after pints at least twice a week. The difference is we can handle our drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

It's called progress OP, apparently.

How far back was your day?

I started drinking about 15 years ago and we were mad for beer and spirits, there would be spirits with mixers and many shots drank after pints at least twice a week. The difference is we can handle our drink.

You can't handle your drink, and the sooner you learn that the better.. In all my years 'trolling' the streets of our busy towns and cities I have never NEVER met anyone who can 'handle' their drink!? I have met thousands who know their limits(if that's what you mean?)and make their way home in a safe respectable orderly fashion.. And I have met thousands who have no bloody inkling or idea of what their limits are or how ridiculously stupid and desperate they appear to others<<and these are the ones who can be tolerated.. Don't get me started on the disorderly violent type, fighting causing property damage etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

If you talk to someone in their 60's, they drank whiskey and ale when young. I'm 40, I drank plenty of spirits when I was in my late teens.
    So which generation didn't drink spirits? Was it just you and your sad friends?

Snotty wrote: »
    If you talk to someone in their 60's, they drank whiskey and ale when young. I'm 40, I drank plenty of spirits when I was in my late teens.
    So which generation didn't drink spirits? Was it just you and your sad friends?
    That's it that's it right there.. We'r all sad now because we never drank spirits(so bloody Irish)you should at least be trying to put people off spirits, not telling them they're sad for not drinking spirits. Anyway I of course did drink some spirits in the past.... But i never EVER entered a pub or club and ordered spirits from start to finish NEVER..And i never met anyone in my era(80/90s)who did either NEVER.. Yes of course I had friends who thought a couple of wee ones at the end of the night after a feed of beer was grand, even at that they had to be 'watched'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

gallons of Cider and beer and and odd dolly mixture

spirits were rare

I agree with the OP they wont have a liver between them when they hit 40

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I drank a lot and had fun when I was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Your Face wrote: »
    I drank a lot and had fun when I was younger.

Were you off your face?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Were you off your face?

Good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

But it's great craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

That's it that's it right there.. We'r all sad now because we never drank spirits(so bloody Irish)you should at least be trying to put people off spirits, not telling them they're sad for not drinking spirits. Anyway I of course did drink some spirits in the past.... But i never EVER entered a pub or club and ordered spirits from start to finish NEVER..And i never met anyone in my era(80/90s)who did either NEVER.. Yes of course I had friends who thought a couple of wee ones at the end of the night after a feed of beer was grand, even at that they had to be 'watched'..

Do you follow all these "young uns" throughout the night and see that they only drink shorts? You see people "falling around the place" so of course that means they are drinking shorts only, cause beer never got anyone drunk. What a stupid thread.