Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

finding farm staff

• 29-09-2017 4:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭

Hi I was just trying to get a idea from the guys in the know as to finding foreign staff .is there a Web site or recruit company out there .is see posted today here how a guy got Romanians.
    Where did all the Brazilians go ?
    Are there any foreign agri students out there .
    Any info welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Take a few ag college placement students if you had an interesting farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Take a few ag college placement students if you had an interesting farm

How do you about getting them. Seems to be a closed shop

whelan2 wrote:

Think someone has to go out and inspect the farm to make sure it's safe and has all facilities needed for staff etc. Easiest way I'd imagine is actually go and ask one of the ag colleges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Think someone has to go out and inspect the farm to make sure it's safe and has all facilities needed for staff etc. Easiest way I'd imagine is actually go and ask one of the ag colleges

I gave up ringing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭jaymla627

whelan2 wrote: »
    I gave up ringing them

You have to be a progressive farmer, if you're cows aren't out night and day by the middle of February your no good to them haha, a big no no would be feeding any meal past the month of April also, its a gentlemans club set-up by all accounts and a closed shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

whelan2 wrote:

Join IFA(and FG) work your way up through the ranks and bobs your uncle free to cheap labour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Jezz lads, it's not that hard to get students. Biggest hurdle yous all have is changing your attitude about it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I remember the 80's, farm apprentices used as slave labour £35/week live in and get every sh1t job on the farm as well as plenty abuse :mad: One fella in our group spent a week cleaning out poultry houses and recorded it in his diary :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

whelan2 wrote: »

Once you get a name for taking students you'll get plenty looking for placements........if you want them :rolleyes:. it's not always win win you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Its very hard to get dairy students. Because of the demand. The majority of students would be willing to learn and work but you can get a handful of duds aswell. The same can be said for some of the farmers also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

Know a lad that used to always have students
    Give up on it he said if one out of every 20 were any use u would be lucky
    Far better off with someone from frs one or two days a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

kerry cow wrote: »
    Hi I was just trying to get a idea from the guys in the know as to finding foreign staff .is there a Web site or recruit company out there .is see posted today here how a guy got Romanians.
    Where did all the Brazilians go ?
    Are there any foreign agri students out there .
    Any info welcome
    Just reminding ye of the question the op asked which was a good one. Thread seems to have gone on a tangent re ag students!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Just reminding ye of the question the op asked which was a good one. Thread seems to have gone on a tangent re ag students!

The guy op is referring too who got the labour is in France not here. Only foreign staff I know working on farms are there with years when eastern Europeans first came to Ireland. Is imagine the majority are now working in the building trade. OP id say advertise in your local area or use frs to find someone that you could work with and offer better terms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Who2

Wildsurfer wrote: »

If you want someone long term you'll have to be willing to pay. Is there any lad around part time farming with a wife with a reasonable job that could do a few hours every day, but still get the time to do the school runs and an odd bit for himself. I never found a good lad advertising, I always had to search and keep asking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Maybe there's a opening for someone in Europe to get a finder fee for foreign works will to come to Ireland .bet there are guys out there who don't know how to work it out to find a Irish farm and work out the trappings of it all ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Kerryman79

What you looking for the monastery boys to come back ??? Worked on a farm years ago when the kosovars came over first , worked for half what we got but still drew their state benefits - nothing wrong there eh ? Simple fact is you get what you pay for me thinks .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

One in twentys a bit of a stretch of say, there's some lads you couldn't please no matter what you'd do for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭White Clover

What do you mean by any use? Did he think he had them there for his own benefit only? I'd like to hear what the students had to say about what they learned from him. Isn't that the purpose of the placement in the first place?? Or is it just for slave Labour?
    Some farmers badly need to wake up. As each year passes, less and less youngsters grow up in contact with farming, and in particular, dairy farming. They need to LEARN this stuff on farms, not treated as slave Labour.

What do you mean by any use? Did he think he had them there for his own benefit only? I'd like to hear what the students had to say about what they learned from him. Isn't that the purpose of the placement in the first place?? Or is it just for slave Labour? Some farmers badly need to wake up. As each year passes, less and less youngsters grow up in contact with farming, and in particular, dairy farming. They need to LEARN this stuff on farms, not treated as slave Labour.

Couldn't have said it better. You read about ****e saying we have to encourage young lads to go farming and all this, the way some of the farmers out there are with there attitude and everything how could anyone want to go farming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Kerryman79

Where did all the Brazilians go ? May aswell buy that cheap brazillian beef so , simple fact is we all have to look after eachother, i know times are hard but its hard for everyone , exploiting students not good in my book , call a spade a spade. If the op happens to be in kerry id be glad to help out but for a fair wage , i dont need another person to make an idiot out of me i can do that all by my big self