Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

200+hp Jeeps.

• 29-09-2017 3:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭

I'm in the market for a jeep of minimum 200hp for towing a horsebox and two horses. Long distances involved so reliability is imperative.

BMW X5/X6/X3.
    Audi Q5/Q7.
    VW Touareg.
    Porche Cayenne.
    Etc.

I will be buying 2nd hand with a €30k budget.

What 200+hp jeep would be considered bulletproof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭SmithySeller

Only noticed this just recently, but it seems there's a huge amount of Horseboxes around my way being pulled by a reasonably new Kia Sorento

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

I'm in the market for a jeep of minimum 200hp for towing a horsebox and two horses. Long distances involved so reliability is imperative.

BMW X5/X6/X3.
    Audi Q5/Q7.
    VW Touareg.
    Porche Cayenne.
    Etc.

I will be buying 2nd hand with a €30k budget.

What 200+hp jeep would be considered bulletproof?

Hp is irrelevant in a tow car, but a Landcruiser v8 is your only option assuming money isn't an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

maidhc wrote: »
    Hp is irrelevant in a tow car, but a Landcruiser v8 is your only option assuming money isn't an issue.

Hp is very important as it will be towing two horses around 4/500 kms by motorway.
    Land Cruiser Amazon, or is the v8 available in the ordinary Land Cruiser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Stephenc66

Hp is very important as it will be towing two horses around 4/500 kms by motorway.

While BHP is important so is torque and the overall balance of the towing vehicle and trailer.

My experience with a Hunter 510 box behind

Landrover 90 200dti no motorway driving and I'm not sure I would like it if I had but very easy to manover in confined spaces

VW Tourag V10 tdi power not an issue even with two large horses will never slow down on a long hill on the motorway just effortless towing in that respect. Air suspension balances the trailer and is nice on the tighter twisty roads.

Land Rover Discovery V6 auto (161) My favorite to tow with not the same power as the VW obviously but so well balanced, always feels settled an comfortable on the road what ever the conditions. Ample power and never feels as if the trailer is "taking over"

Isuzu D-Max 3.0ltr tdi auto 139bhp import just not up to the job every long hills are an effort. I can't speak for the later more powerful models I can only think that they must be better.

Like I say just my experiences but hope they help

V8 is only in the amazon. I have a 3.0 cruiser, and I find it excellent for towing. Don't have horses, but have pulled a few cattle! Again, torque is what really matters.

Stephenc66 wrote: »
    While BHP is important so is torque and the overall balance of the towing vehicle and trailer.

My experience with a Hunter 510 box behind

Landrover 90 200dti no motorway driving and I'm not sure I would like it if I had but very easy to manover in confined spaces

VW Tourag V10 tdi power not an issue even with two large horses will never slow down on a long hill on the motorway just effortless towing in that respect. Air suspension balances the trailer and is nice on the tighter twisty roads.

Land Rover Discovery V6 auto (161) My favorite to tow with not the same power as the VW obviously but so well balanced, always feels settled an comfortable on the road what ever the conditions. Ample power and never feels as if the trailer is "taking over"

Isuzu D-Max 3.0ltr tdi auto 139bhp import just not up to the job every long hills are an effort. I can't speak for the later more powerful models I can only think that they must be better.

Like I say just my experiences but hope they help

It's for my wife.
    She's test driven the v8 Range Rover and loved it but said that it felt 'big' on the road. Too big. Also I'd have my reservations about reliability.

She drove the Touareg (not the v10) and loved it. She reckoned that it felt like a car and was very manœuvrable. Any idea about reliability? Would the large motor chew front types?

It's for my wife.
    She's test driven the v8 Range Rover and loved it but said that it felt 'big' on the road. Too big. Also I'd have my reservations about reliability.

She drove the Touareg (not the v10) and loved it. She reckoned that it felt like a car and was very manœuvrable. Any idea about reliability? Would the large motor chew front types?

All of the Touareg's are hard on tyres in particular the back ones.

The V10s give Turbo trouble and the valve chest in the autobox also gives trouble. Although I would think that most have had upgraded parts at this stage. The turbos (two of them) is an engine out job.

That V10 is not available in the new model either it was replaced 2013-2014 by a 4.2 V8 tdi which produced more power again and a much more reliable engine as well. You would be looking to the UK for one of them though I would reckon for a V10 as well.

The V6 tdi would much cheaper to run it would be well capable of towing as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bhp doesn't tow trailers!

X5 will eat rear tyres if you use it for towing because of the way the rear suspension is set up.

All of the Touareg's are hard on tyres in particular the back ones.

The V10s give Turbo trouble and the valve chest in the autobox also gives trouble. Although I would think that most have had upgraded parts at this stage. The turbos (two of them) is an engine out job.

That V10 is not available in the new model either it was replaced 2013-2014 by a 4.2 V8 tdi which produced more power again and a much more reliable engine as well. You would be looking to the UK for one of them though I would reckon for a V10 as well.

The V6 tdi would much cheaper to run it would be well capable of towing as well

Reliability would count out the v10 so, and the v8 version would possibly be outside of the budget.
    What hp would the v6 come at?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Bhp doesn't tow trailers!

X5 will eat rear tyres if you use it for towing because of the way the rear suspension is set up.

I've been towing with an x5 and it's not overly hard on rear tyres. I'd get about 30k on michelins.

The V6 3.0 comes in various outputs between 200 and 260bhp. The 260bhp also has a lot more peak torque.

I've been towing with an x5 and it's not overly hard on rear tyres. I'd get about 30k on michelins.

Depends on what you're towing and what tyres you have, but we sold a few new (8 years ago at this stage) and they were eating up the inner edge of the tyres. Now these lads would have been towing pretty heavy loads to be fair, but BMW dealer told us it was down to the suspension geometry when the rear end was pushed down the wheels pushed out at the bottom. These were 20" wheels IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

What about a Volvo XC90 D5?

The V6 3.0 comes in various outputs between 200 and 260bhp. The 260bhp also has a lot more peak torque.

What year did the 260hp version come out?
    Reliability?

My max budget is €30k...

Reliability would count out the v10 so, and the v8 version would possibly be outside of the budget.
    What hp would the v6 come at?

http://www.parkers.co.uk/volkswagen/touareg/estate-2010/specs

Some good info here, torque figures for towing there to

Have a look at the X5, Q7 and the ML Mercs as well lots of choice in that category of SUV.

Jaysus those towing figures! You'd need a tacograph!

bazz26 wrote: »
    What about a Volvo XC90 D5?

Had one years ago and it was useless for towing. Otherwise they're a good jeep.

Had one years ago and it was useless for towing. Otherwise their a good jeep.

What year was yours and why was it bad for towing?

Honestly can't remember but it would've been about 15yrs ago. It was seriously short on hp for towing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Has your wife taken the towing driving test?
    She won't be able to tow 2 horses on a B license.

She could see what instructors are using for the tow lessons.

Yes there's plenty to choose from.

I'm having to chauffeur my wife and daughter around with the two horses but work is seriously limiting my time, so the plan is to get a capable reliable jeep and let them at it. Reliability is my major requirement because it's almost unthinkable what would happen if they were to get broken down at the side of the motorway hundreds of kms from home. One of the horses gets freaked by traffic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,259 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Range Rover Sport TDV8.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Has your wife taken the towing driving test?
    She won't be able to tow 2 horses on a B license.

She could see what instructors are using for the tow lessons.

She's got an artic permit courtesy of the amnesties years ago!

chicorytip wrote: »
    Range Rover Sport TDV8.

The RR feels too big on the road and wouldn't be known as bulletproof.

Yes there's plenty to choose from.

I'm having to chauffeur my wife and daughter around with the two horses but work is seriously limiting my time, so the plan is to get a capable reliable jeep and let them at it. Reliability is my major requirement because it's almost unthinkable what would happen if they were to get broken down at the side of the motorway hundreds of kms from home. One of the horses gets freaked by traffic...

What are you pulling the box with now?

X5 285hp 3l Diesel.

Can you let them of at the weekend with the X5. Put something else nice on the road with the 30K

I also need a jeep and I'm partial to my x5!

If you asked this question in the farming forum there would be only one option given; the LC. While on paper they often seem a lesser jeep than the competitors for more money, they are a fantastic machine that will outlive any thing else on the road. The TCO of one is also lower than anything else as even old ones are in high demand.

maidhc wrote: »
    If you asked this question in the farming forum there would be only one option given; the LC. While on paper they often seem a lesser jeep than the competitors for more money, they are a fantastic machine that will outlive any thing else on the road. The TCO of one is also lower than anything else as even old ones are in high demand.

What's TCO?

I've had L Cruisers in the past and I'd agree that they're a good machine but not very powerful or comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Had one years ago and it was useless for towing. Otherwise they're a good jeep.

Honestly can't remember but it would've been about 15yrs ago. It was seriously short on hp for towing.

The XC90 only came out 15 years ago, you must have had a 1st Gen. I thought HP is not a factor in towing?

Also why does everyone keep calling 4x4s Jeeps? Jeep is a brand that's not even on the list of recommendations.

tedpan wrote: »
    The XC90 only came out 15 years ago, you must have had a 1st Gen. I thought HP is not a factor in towing?

Also why does everyone keep calling 4x4s Jeeps? Jeep is a brand that's not even on the list of recommendations.

Because the word "jeep" has for many many years been adopted to mean any 4x4. The odd person who has an issue with this needs to get over themselves.

You don't here people complaining about someone buying a "Hoover" or doing the "hoovering" which every single person in the country says and that's exactly the same using a brand name to describe all aspects of something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

If your getting something for that sort of motorway milage would you be better off getting a transit/master/sprinter size horse box? You'd stick 2 big horses in it and be better suited to motorway speeds? No idea how much a decent one would cost though..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 luffanywalk

I am pulling a 505 with a Horse & Pony. I use my Kia Sportage 2 litre AWD and have never had an issue with it. But if budget was there i would go with a Sorento.

Markcheese wrote: »
    If your getting something for that sort of motorway milage would you be better off getting a transit/master/sprinter size horse box? You'd stick 2 big horses in it and be better suited to motorway speeds? No idea how much a decent one would cost though..

The jeep would also be used as a car when not towing. Those horseboxes that you speak of are fairly pricey and not very practical for everyday use.

I am pulling a 505 with a Horse & Pony. I use my Kia Sportage 2 litre AWD and have never had an issue with it. But if budget was there i would go with a Sorento.

I live and work in France. Pau is a regular venue that the horses get transported to and is over 400km from home...Metz is over 600km away etc etc.

Hence the need for a powerful and comfortable jeep, that is also ultra reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Is the higher ground clearance of a SUV needed otherwise what about an Audi A6 Allroad? 3.0 TDi and quattro should be sufficient to pull a horsebox I'd imagine

bazz26 wrote: »
    Is the higher ground clearance of a SUV needed otherwise what about an Audi A6 Allroad? 3.0 TDi and quattro should be sufficient to pull a horsebox I'd imagine

Good idea, but need the clearance.
    Nice solid car alright though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

If they're happy with the X5 why not get another one?
    Also from reading on the Q7/XC90/X5 reliability is not a big thing with them.
    I suppose with all the electronic gadgets now but all of them fare poorly.
    A Q7 quattro might be the way to go as well with the 4 wheel drive system.
    You could get it for yourself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Wait until you have to perform an emergency stop in the rain and that trailer pushes your car all over the road.
    There's more to safe towing than being able to pull a trailer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭bren11

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Wait until you have to perform an emergency stop in the rain and that trailer pushes your car all over the road.
    There's more to safe towing than being able to pull a trailer.

This is where I would hope that the overrun brakes would kick in, as at this weight the trailer has to be fitted with brakes. Also speed limit when towing is 90km/h on motorways, and 80kmh or lower on other roads.

Blazer wrote: »
    If they're happy with the X5 why not get another one?
    Also from reading on the Q7/XC90/X5 reliability is not a big thing with them.
    I suppose with all the electronic gadgets now but all of them fare poorly.
    A Q7 quattro might be the way to go as well with the 4 wheel drive system.
    You could get it for yourself ;)

I've been doing a little research and it's down to...
    2012 X5 35d, 286hp, 79k kms.
    2016 xc60 5d, 220hp, 58k kms.
    2014 x3 30d, 258hp, 88k kms.

The Volvo XC60 has a manual gearbox. Anyone know what their reliability is like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

bren11 wrote: »
    This is where I would hope that the overrun brakes would kick in, as at this weight the trailer has to be fitted with brakes. Also speed limit when towing is 90km/h on motorways, and 80kmh or lower on other roads.

It's only 90 for HGVs for all others it's 80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I've been doing a little research and it's down to...
    2012 X5 35d, 286hp, 79k kms.
    2016 xc60 5d, 220hp, 58k kms.
    2014 x3 30d, 258hp, 88k kms.

The Volvo XC60 has a manual gearbox. Anyone know what their reliability is like?
    I'd go for the X5 or better the X3 which is also a straight six 3 litre engine.
    I think the XC60 is only a 2 litre and I'm very hesitant about putting a 2litre engine into heavy load carrying.
    Also not sure what year your current X5 is but since 2008 the BMWs had a auto box which also is semi-manual.

Blazer wrote: »
    I'd go for the X5 or better the X3 which is also a straight six 3 litre engine.
    I think the XC60 is only a 2 litre and I'm very hesitant about putting a 2litre engine into heavy load carrying.
    Also not sure what year your current X5 is but since 2008 the BMWs had a auto box which also is semi-manual.

I think the xc60 is a five cylinder 2.4l diesel.

I like the X5 gearbox and I'm told that if the oil is regularly changed there's no real issues...

I'll organisé a test drive of the Xc for herself before making a decision. I actually like the look of the Volvo but I'm a little partial to the X5, even though they're getting dated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭bren11

Del2005 wrote: »
    It's only 90 for HGVs for all others it's 80.

Del, thanks for that, thought it was 90 for all towed vehicles. Recently was overtaken by 4x4 / horsebox when i was on the limit 120km/h !!

bren11 wrote: »
    Del, thanks for that, thought it was 90 for all towed vehicles. Recently was overtaken by 4x4 / horsebox when i was on the limit 120km/h !!

Towing speeds are gone out of control recently. I was a reasonable amount over the motorway speed limit overtaking a Land Rover and fairly decent sized boat the last day and I wasn't pulling away from him much.

I'm far from a saint when it comes to speed limits with just a car/jeep but when towing I would never take chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Towing speeds are gone out of control recently. I was a reasonable amount over the motorway speed limit overtaking a Land Rover and fairly decent sized boat the last day and I wasn't pulling away from him much.

I'm far from a saint when it comes to speed limits with just a car/jeep but when towing I would never take chances.

True. I was behind a 4x4 a few weeks ago towing a load of light boats. The trailer had what looked like bicycle wheels on it and he was going a solid 100km/h with a Garda van behind him.