Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much is rent?

• 26-09-2017 12:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭

70 acres of good grass , heavy clay, well wired and drained. Big shed for at least 80 head Cattle,big silage pit, how much could that fetch for rent? Located in tyrone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Feckoffcup wrote: »
    70 acres of good grass , heavy clay, well wired and drained. Big shed for at least 80 head Cattle,big silage pit, how much could that fetch for rent? Located in tyrone.

Around my area,e350 an acre seems to be the price the market has settled upon for land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Around my area,e350 an acre seems to be the price the market has settled upon for land

€300+/acre around here for the type of land and facilities the OP mentioned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

450/acre I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Who2

Why stop there the round 1000 an acre plus bps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Know of farmers paying less than 100e/ac for land still. If I was a tillage farmer the last few years I wouldn't like to be paying much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

up north--say 150-200stg an acre, shed be about 1-2k stg then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Is it dry enough for stock to go on? Out of curiosity, why didn't you let it in the spring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Timmaay wrote: »
    Know of farmers paying less than 100e/ac for land still. If I was a tillage farmer the last few years I wouldn't like to be paying much more.

If you were hoping to get tillage land for less than 100e an acre you wouldn't get any land for tillage ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Timmaay wrote: »

I am in drystock and do not rent land but if I did 100-120 would be tops. Any more and I be at it for nothing.
    Sam Kade wrote: »
    If you were hoping to get tillage land for less than 100e an acre you wouldn't get any land for tillage ;)

That is why tillage farmers are going broke

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Tops £175/180 an acre. shed probably £1500 to £2500 depending on accomodation.

Jaysus lads thank god I don't have to farm against some of ye, but I'll rent you all the land you want for some of those prices yer giving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Feckoffcup

squinn2912 wrote: »

Is it dry enough for stock to go on? Out of curiosity, why didn't you let it in the spring?
    Because our cows still graze it
    Dryish if not overstocked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

That's madness

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's madness

Sure what can you do,

I couldn't compete on it,neither could the tillage lads....this lad has around 120 acres rented (dunno what rest is for,presumably roughly the same?).....gotta love white gold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Sure what can you do,

I couldn't compete on it,neither could the tillage lads....this lad has around 120 acres rented (dunno what rest is for,presumably roughly the same?).....gotta love white gold

Cocaine??

Floki wrote: »
    Cocaine??

The way lads are around here about milking cows....similar levels of excitement and talk non stop about it :pac:

Imagine going to a nightclub and some lad asking how are ya for grass.....and ya know it's not the smoking type he's on about ▪_▪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

The way lads are around here about milking cows....similar levels of excitement and talk non stop about it :pac:

Imagine going to a nightclub and some lad asking how are ya for grass.....and ya know it's not the smoking type he's on about ▪_▪

We can't help it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

mf240 wrote: »
    We can't help it.

I hear ya can't attend dairy discussion groups now unless ya have Gerry Giggins on speed dial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Dry land with bps of 250 acre currently in grass what should that make if you were renting it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Dry land with bps of 250 acre currently in grass what should that make if you were renting it out

200 to 300 plus bps at least depending on the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

I was offered 450 plus BPS today for potatoes for ground currently in fodder beet.
    Man taking it wants to take the whole farm if I will lease it out...

mf240 wrote: »
    We can't help it.

Ah Boyz I don't talk about work outside work (nixers aside)....I don't wanna be out for a night out and end up only talking about farming :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

grassroot1 wrote:
    I was offered 450 plus BPS today for potatoes for ground currently in fodder beet. Man taking it wants to take the whole farm if I will lease it out...

Some money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Ah Boyz I don't talk about work outside work (nixers aside)....I don't wanna be out for a night out and end up only talking about farming :pac:

Two of my best friends are dairy farmers. One has 300+ and the other about 80 cows. If we are are on the beer and the 2 of them are there..... there is milk flowing out the door of the pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Two of my best friends are dairy farmers. One has 300+ and the other about 80 cows. If we are are on the beer and the 2 of them are there..... there is milk flowing out the door of the pub

To be fair Darragh one of them, the tall lad would love to talk about scuttering around with tractors and silage too.

Huge repertoire;)