Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mr Genealogy to the rescue!!

• 24-09-2017 5:28pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Looks like John got himself the task of fixing the census transcripts.
    johngrenham.com
    Well done that man!

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

How will he do it? Sit in a garret somewhere going tappity tap tap tap, ninety to the dozen? How do I apply to do some typing for him?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

I envisage vast spreadsheets with macros.

Genealogy Forum Mod

pinkypinky wrote: »
    I envisage vast spreadsheets with macros.

Oh. :(

But I can deal with spreadsheets! :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    How do I apply to do some typing for him?

Yes, I feel the need to put the shoulder to the wheel too.
    Be delighted to lend a hand if I could.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I've said it before here, I think sometimes the professionals like the National Archives folk underestimate how many willing and conscientious volunteers there might be out here, should they ask for help. Subject to not doing any existing employees out of jobs of course.

Bet they could do with some interested temps though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

Don’t want to be the grouch here, but …………. I see it as a major disservice and a retrograde step. The ‘Authorities’ should place JG far above that type of stuff and I (a non-professional genealogist) view it is an insult to the genealogical community to employ him in that role. No offense to the man, (he has to earn a crust) but really, a genealogist of his calibre working as a data input clerk? Let’s be realistic, I share Spurious’ view and have advocated the Australian ‘TROVE’ model many times before. Similarly, look at the Nick Reddan site on the Registry of Deeds Project and the amount of volunteer work done there.

Successive governments, for all their hype about Ireland and ICT and the ‘digital age’, have been an absolute disgrace on handling anything to do with computerisation. Look at the Company Registration Office, the failure of PULSE, the failure of E-voting, the failure of HSE IT systems, to name just a few. What about the Data Commissioner fighting with another Government over online access to voter registers that can be viewed in hard copy? What about the delays on the missing GRO images? They have no idea and we continue to elect idiots bereft of any notion of technology. Ah shur it’ll be grand.

I don't think you're being the grouch pedro - unfortunately you're just telling it as it is.

But at least with John at the helm it's likely to be done properly unlike so much else in this country.

Genealogy Forum Mod

I agree with all pedro says, but I really was joking when I envisioned JG typing in a garret, I sorta bet he will outsource this to his own trusted people, not India or Canada. Maybe JG will update us on his blog in his own good time. I'd love to help fix dem transcriptions!!

...I really was joking when I envisioned JG typing in a garret...

It's a lovely thought though - in a Banvillian sort of way.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

Hermy wrote: »
    It's a lovely thought though - in a Banvillian sort of way.

I’m not as assiduous as I should be in keeping up to date with JG (or Ms.Santry’s) blogs ‘cos I’ve other stuff going on, but I did use your link (thanks) to scan through what JG wrote.

His blog does read as if he is doing it unaided, perhaps tapping away in lonesome seclusion at a desk in a garage-conversion office, (today’s equivalent of the frosty garret!)

Financially it is a small job, subcontracting would require a contract, a bigger budget, etc. and that would have to go to tender, to comply with EU rules (for all contracts above €25k.) unless the NAI has some sort of exemption..

In fairness to the NAI correctors, I sent three corrections (two surname errors and one townland) and they were rectified within a few months.

I had never heard that they were looking for anyone to do that work. Could anyone have tendered? Its reading and typing, but one would probably have had to have a degree under their belt I suppose.

They did a tender: Claire Santry reported on it in June.

A level 7 NFQ was required and the contract was for one individual with no provision for sub-contracting. Interestingly, the work has to be carried on the NAI premises and cannot be done in the evenings or weekends. The tender shows the start date was 24/7/2017 so I presume John has been working on it for 2 months already.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Pity Level 7 Cert won't cut it. I bet my tappity tap is much faster than JG's though! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Waitsian

I had never heard that they were looking for anyone to do that work. Could anyone have tendered? Its reading and typing, but one would probably have had to have a degree under their belt I suppose.

What does it say about the state of the industry in Ireland that the country's most famous genealogist is taking on work from the government? I mean fair play to him, and more power to him. But he must have time on his hands and needed the work. How many genealogists are in full-time work in Ireland? How many are retired and do it to supplement a pension? How many rely on it as a sole source of income? More to the point, of the latter how many are struggling? It's an interesting question. :eek:

Can one be a full-time genealogist in Ireland, and not work for a commercial company but for oneself, and earn a sustainable income?

Sorry if I've pulled this off-topic Pinky; I'm fully prepared to have my knuckles wrapped if you feel it necessary. I can start a new thread if you like.

Ah sure go ahead: it's an interesting topic. As someone who works part-time in the field, I don't foresee a way to earn a full living from it but would love to be. I have a separate full time job to cover my mortgage, etc.

Genealogy Forum Mod

I will be interested to follow all the errors I found and reported over the years and watch them all magically become corrected! What about errors I may find this year, will he keep going or just the ones previously reported?

mod9maple wrote: »
    Can one be a full-time genealogist in Ireland, and not work for a commercial company but for oneself, and earn a sustainable income?

Can one work for a commercial genealogy company in Ireland?
    I'd love to rather than self-employment but I've seen very few vacancies since I began looking some years back.

Genealogy Forum Mod

If you search back on this forum, Hermy, you'll see we discussed the jobs that came up in Ancestry 2 years ago. They've got about 3 associate genealogists and a few more junior ones.

Genealogy Forum Mod

That's the point Pinky - three jobs in the past two years - and not much since that I can think of.
    Hermy wrote: »
    Can one work for a commercial genealogy company in Ireland?
    I don't mean is it merely possible but rather is it likely that opportunities will present themselves?
    I think the answer might be no as it's still a very small niche industry.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Yes, it's a very niche industry and the criteria Ancestry was looking for were lengthy.

Nearly everyone I know who earns a living (full or part) from genealogy has their own business.

Genealogy Forum Mod