Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Champion greyhound tests positive for cocaine

• 15-09-2017 8:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

you couldn't make it up, sounds like the best irish joke ever
    An Irish champion greyhound, Clonbrien Hero, has been banned after testing positive for cocaine.
    In three separate tests between June 24 and July 22 this year, the dog was found to have traces of benzoylecgonine, the main metabolite of cocaine, in its system

like something out of Father Ted :pac:

http://metro.co.uk/2017/09/14/irish-champion-greyhound-clonbrien-hero-tests-positive-for-cocaine-6928236/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

fryup wrote: »

Fúckin' Hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Woudl have been some craic trying to get a dog coked off his head in to the stall.
    The chatting out of him would have been hard to bear too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Was it ever in doubt really?

methode%2Ftimes%2Fprod%2Fweb%2Fbin%2F6d8bb64a-98bb-11e7-8c3c-cb45202c3d59.jpg?crop=535%2C301%2C4%2C287

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

he'll have to go to rehab

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Cocaine: Breakfast of Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭Glebee

The boom is definitely back baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

One would've thought that sniffer dogs were the more likely co-canines to be stung like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,964 ✭✭✭gifted

Winterlong wrote: »
    Woudl have been some craic trying to get a dog coked off his head in to the stall.
    The chatting out of him would have been hard to bear too.

"Craic"....good one lol lol

osarusan wrote: »

methode%2Ftimes%2Fprod%2Fweb%2Fbin%2F6d8bb64a-98bb-11e7-8c3c-cb45202c3d59.jpg?crop=535%2C301%2C4%2C287

LOOK AT HIS FACE! I MEAN LOOK AT IT! IT'S SO DAMNED CUTE.

Even if he might be off his face on coke

had to laugh at this...
    Clonbrien Hero’s trainer, Graham Holland, is adamant that the dog ingested cocaine accidentally.

..and i say to that

The poor doggy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

maybe thats what the dog gets as a treat for winning?? instead of the usual doggy biscuits give him some snow instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

In the racing world this is called chasing the rabbit. It's a ruff business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

He's like Scarface, but since the neutering all he has his word now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

http://metro.co.uk/2017/09/14/irish-champion-greyhound-clonbrien-hero-tests-positive-for-cocaine-6928236/

The trainers excuse is even more like something out of father Ted
    You can pass traces of cocaine by handling money ... When a dog wins a race, people are walking up to the dog and patting it on the head. If they have cocaine on their hands, they can pass that to the dog and it can come out in a urine sample

Give this man the Nobel prize for science

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,136 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

had to laugh at this...

..and i say to that
    3 times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If anyone watched the Prime Time special on greyhound racing in Ireland a year or so a go this would be no surprise at all. I'd never attend a race in this country as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

So, how does it work does the dog see some sort of millennium Falcon hyperspace racetrack,?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    The trainers excuse is even more like something out of father Ted

Give this man the Nobel prize for science Bullsh!t

corrected that for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The trainers excuse is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

That dog has lost the trust of his owner, that's punishment enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

That dog has lost the trust of his supplier, that's punishment enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Isn't it weird - you wait for ages for a story about dogs on cocaine and then two come along at once?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/09/12/dog-mauled-owner-death-front-bbc-film-crew-probably-crack-cocaine/
    A Staffordshire Bull Terrier which mauled its owner in front of BBC staff was likely to have taken crack cocaine, an inquest has heard. Mario Perivoitos, 41, died in March after losing 10 pints of blood and having his larynx crushed in the attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

No.Something out of father ted would be that the rabbits chase the greyhound and not the other way around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I heard a few years ago that defibrillators were being stolen from sports grounds to super-charge dogs for illegal dog fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

E tables was the common drug for greyhounds to he given before the race, must only be the fancy greyhounds who get the coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I heard a few years ago that defibrillators were being stolen from sports grounds to super-charge dogs for illegal dog fighting.

Ah here. They're not bumper cars. What do you mean by super-charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

topper75 wrote: »
    Ah here. They're not bumper cars. What do you mean by super-charge?

It's like Red Bull, but for dogs.... and it's electricity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Wish I looked that good when I used to be banjoed

osarusan wrote: »

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

I know a bit about greyhounds and racing and drugs are rife in the industry especially with the big trainers.
    Greyhounds before racing are locked up 2 hours before racing and no one can be in contact with them until race time.
    I believe cocaine is a drug that hit only lasts a half hour to an hour so if this drug was emitted to a dog before racing what was the point?? But I don't believe it was I reckon it was submitted to the dog either on parade before racing.
    Again the IGB has a red face and nothing will be done about it as us the tax payer won't stand up to them

I know a bit about greyhounds and racing and drugs are rife in the industry especially with the big trainers.
    Greyhounds before racing are locked up 2 hours before racing and no one can be in contact with them until race time.
    I believe cocaine is a drug that hit only lasts a half hour to an hour so if this drug was emitted to a dog before racing what was the point?? But I don't believe it was I reckon it was submitted to the dog either on parade before racing.
    Again the IGB has a red face and nothing will be done about it as us the tax payer won't stand up to them

Listen not to be funny but Roy Rodgers talking about Greyhounds doesn't seem right

21/25

Poor animal. :(

Jake1 wrote: »
    Poor animal. :(

Why he looks happy as Larry

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Aren't you guys hilarious?! Sharing smart jokes about the abuse of greyhounds.. such beautiful serene and graceful, affectionate and loyal creatures and one of the most exploited creatures for monetary gain on the planet.Ah sure isn't it all only a bit of craic? I'm off out of here before I spew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

I very rarely bet on the dogs (stick to horses and matches for my sins) but got a tip for this guy in the final back in July and won a nice little €60 off him, I wonder will Paddy Power be looking for their money back now in light of today's revelation!

The really hilarious part is now that he's banned and he's not making them money anymore he'll probably be shipped off to China and ran to death or boiled and skinned alive then eaten!

Or maybe if he's lucky he'll just disappear here in Ireland, like thousands of other greyhounds every year. And he might even turn up again, at the bottom of a river, with his ears burned off with acid so his tattoo can't be found. That's hilarious too.

Another really funny part of this whole business with greyhounds.. you'll like this now lads, it's just so funny.. The industry is dying on its arse because it's such a total disgrace but our government keeps throwing millions at it every year! 16 million this year! While we're crying out for more important things like better mental health services and hospital beds.

Let's all run over to thread there on suicide, where they're talking about having no access to mental health services out of hours and on weekends and tell them about the millions being been flushed down the jacks on an evil and sick industry and I'm sure they can laugh along with us too.

Ha fu.cking ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

The industry is dying on its arse

The quote above is the bit I can't agree with, I was recently at a night in Cork dog track, a Friday night, 36 of us went there as part of an engagement party, we had the best night ever, betting on the greyhounds etc, and from what I could see all the dogs were treated very well being collected straight away after each race by the owner/trainer and given water etc, I really don't see what the problem is, the place was packed the same night and everyone enjoying themselves

The really hilarious part is now that he's banned and he's not making them money anymore he'll probably be shipped off to China and ran to death or boiled and skinned alive then eaten!

jeeze!! do you mind i'm having my breakfast :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

it seems he was supplying the whole kennel

Barking-Bad-Nikko-Portland-Police1715125939.jpg

GoneHome wrote: »
    The quote above is the bit I can't agree with, I was recently at a night in Cork dog track, a Friday night, 36 of us went there as part of an engagement party, we had the best night ever, betting on the greyhounds etc, and from what I could see all the dogs were treated very well being collected straight away after each race by the owner/trainer and given water etc, I really don't see what the problem is, the place was packed the same night and everyone enjoying themselves

Well I wasn't just making that up. It's just fact. Attendance figures halved between 2007 and 2015. From around 1.2m to around 600,000.

Because of that they have less prize money. I believe it's dropped by about 31m. Thats led to less breeders and less trainers.

They have rising staff costs. Just over 7m in 2011 and over 8m in 2014. Why their staff costs are growing while the industry is declining I don't know.

They have a rising debt burden and plummeting attendance. Im not sure of the exact figure. I know they had a debt of over 20m at one stage recently. Harold's cross was sold off because of their debt burden.

It's not just Ireland either. 40 out of 50 US states have banned it and the other 10 don't have tracks. Argentina has banned it. It's on its knees in Australia as well.

As for your remark about from what you could see the dogs were being treated well. I dont really know what relevance that statement has tbh. They're hardly going to bring the loser out at the end of a race and flog him for the audience to watch! The cruelty of the industry is a badly kept secret. But a secret nonetheless.

The reason attendance has dropped and the industry is failing is simple.. the public are turning on it. Increased sharing of info worldwide is bringing it down. People don't want to support what is an inherently cruel institution. It doesn't have the public backing to make a proper comeback.

Doping is widespread, this is only one story of many. Ireland doesn't or didn't have proper labs for proper testing so old stats here aren't even realistic. Several cases have been taken over the years in Britain, against Irish trainers and owners for doping. This is because it's properly tested for there. In fact the Greyhound board in Britain warned it's members about taking Irish dogs as steroid use in them is 'endemic'. (These trainers and owners are still high profile members here in Ireland)

In Britain and Australia and Ireland itself, Irish owners and trainers have been filmed blooding their dogs. In 2014 an Irish Greyhound handler was filmed in Australia taking part in the strapping of a tiny live piglet to a lure and then it was subsequently torn to shreds by the dogs. That's just one example, there's many. Blooding is rampant here. That particularly handler is back in Ireland, working in the industry also. Blooding uses cats, kittens, rabbits etc.

The Greyhound industry also covers hare coursing so when you're betting on the dogs you're also funding a practice where tiny creatures are taken from their natural habitat and forced to run in blind panic from pre blooded dogs who ultimately maul them to death, crush them to death or they're caught and released to die of their injuries at a later stage.

A Greyhounds natural lifespan is 14 years. In Greyhound racing it's 3 or 4. That's for the ones that aren't killed as pups. And how those lives end is often heinously cruel.