Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Politician blackmailed with "honeytrap" video

• Registered Users Posts: 7,059 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

It's amazing how naive people still are with technology.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

A well respected Fianna Fáil politician, I'm stumped...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Lesson to be learned.

When flailing the bishop on Facebook to some random strange Eastern European woman , who most probably is way out of your league.

Wear a mask.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Sure wasnt he "hacked" :P

• Registered Users Posts: 16,553 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

That big photo of Michael Martin in the middle of the article is ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

It's a subtle (NOT) insinuation...

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

Is it? I'm clueless

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

It's amazing how naive people still are with online women.
    Fix'd that for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Chester Copperpot

It says further down that he was made aware of the situation though so maybe is just clumsy rather than an insinuation

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Lesson to be learned.

When flailing the bishop on Facebook to some random strange Eastern European woman , who most probably is way out of your league.

Wear a mask.

Can we leave the clergy out of this one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

osarusan wrote: »
    That big photo of Michael Martin in the middle of the article is ridiculous.

Or maybe the paper doesn't want to say too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Chester Copperpot

Reminds me of the time someone hacked Michael McGraths Facebook so they could click like on the milf of the week. Scoundrels will go to any lengths to embarrass an upstanding citizen

• Registered Users Posts: 7,453 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Reminds me of the time someone hacked Michael McGraths Facebook so they could click like on the milf of the week. Scoundrels will go to any lengths to embarrass an upstanding citizen
    Senator Ted Cruz of Texas was liking porn clips on twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Does anyone think the victim should shoulder some of the blame?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Blame for what? Consenting adults and all that. Presuming that what he did was legal. Naive, sure. What's the sentance for being naive?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭exaisle

A well respected Feel an' Fall politician....Jaysus, that really narrows it down.

I have no respect for any of the feckers...

MarkR wrote: »
    Blame for what? Consenting adults and all that. Presuming that what he did was legal. Naive, sure. What's the sentance for being naive?

Oh I agree.
    I confess I had the George Hook thread in mind when I posted.
    Victim blaming and all that....

Don't think George Hook will press that angle anyway...

What an eejit though. If I get a friend request from someone on social media, unless I know them I assume it's a scam and decline them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Tabnabs wrote: »
    A well respected Fianna Fáil politician, I'm stumped...

If anything it improves my impression of the party.

Don't think George Hook will press that angle anyway...

What an eejit though. If I get a friend request from someone on social media, unless I know them I assume it's a scam and decline them.

That's what I'm wondering Conor. He is a fool for putting himself in that situation, where as the girl at the centre of the Hook controversy isn't?
    I happen to think neither are fools or should shoulder any blame.
    Double standards maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Firstly, how can one be conned or tricked into performing a sex act or sending a video?

Secondly, he'd have been better to (a long as it was a legal act) brazen it out, pre-empt any revelation, and be like 'Yeah, that's me with a duster up my arse having a ****. What about it?'

You never pay the blackmailer, they never destroy the evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Do not care if he was Finnart Fail or not, no one deserves to be held to ransom by these scumbags. These cnuts have led to people committing suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Registered Users Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭jelutong

Caught with his trousers down you could say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Or just laughing at a Fianna Fail politician, he deserves it for willingly being in that party.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Those MILFs should consider themselves lucky, they could have 9 kids with MMcG otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I thought these traps involved them recoding you over Skype, sounds like this clown, recorded himself and then sent them the video from his own account. Honey Trap it ain't.