Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woke up to this

• 10-09-2017 8:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭

Hopefully insurance will sort this. Its the wifes car.the other car was stolen that rammed into the back of another parked car and pushed that car into ours. Both of the other cars are def write offs. Not sure about ours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'd be surprised if the boot floor isn't crumpled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Boot door is completly in no way of opening it. Our neighbor car was a lovely merc 11. He'd just gone to england to buy it.. paid vrt then this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

Did you get insurance details of stolen car?

Lantus wrote: »
    Did you get insurance details of stolen car?
    Yeah guards have the stolen car and it was insured. It was left there when they crashed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Certainly a write off. At least it's all legit through insurance etc so you aren't chasing the MIBI for recourse etc, so the process should be relatively quick and painless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I'm confused though if the person driving stole it then they aren't insured.

Does this then not fall under the same as owner wasn't the driver so actually isn't responsible.

Mibi will have to be involved I would have thought.

Fairly sure that the policy covers you in that regard regardless of who was driving. So if your mate borrows your car and has no policy of his own and crashes. Your policy can be claimed on. Driver will have a separate case if caught.

Car looks very badly damaged in pic. But if just bumper and rear door you may looking at 2.5k repairs. Maybe less if lights are ok???

Question is whether insurance will pay subject to car value?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That chassis is most likely bent from the force of the rear impact. I certainly wouldn't want that car back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

How would that impact the owners policy if it's stolen and claimed on then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Fairly sure that the policy covers you in that regard regardless of who was driving.

That sounds ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Certainly a write off. At least it's all legit through insurance etc so you aren't chasing the MIBI for recourse etc, so the process should be relatively quick and painless.

Nothing will not surprise me when it comes to insurance in Ireland... But...

Did a car cause that or a driver? A driver, and that driver wasn't insured to drive that car. MIBI needs to be involved unfortunately.
    If the accident was caused by a malfunction in the said vehicle, there would be a chance of claiming from that policy directly.

That car is a write off unfortunately, so time to look for a new one. OP, you might get some satisfaction in future, but for now you're on your own unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Effects wrote: »
    That sounds ridiculous!

Yes, it is. The policy owner has no liability for actions resulting from theft.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bloody car thieving scum. Sorry to see your hassles D. :( Given the option I'd happily string the scum up and watch them dance at the end of a rope. May they die screaming. :mad::mad:
    ba_barabus wrote: »
    I'd be surprised if the boot floor isn't crumpled.
    Maybe, maybe not BA. It looks bad yes, but if you take a second look at it the damage to the plastic bumper could make it look worse than it is. The hatch is pushed in alright, which would explain it not opening(the largest indent is around the lock, the lock receiver may be OK), but the glass didn't shatter. The rear quarter panels look straight too, even the shut lines with the hatch are pretty OK and the rear lights haven't cracked, nor does their mounting points look compromised. Which might suggest it looks worse than it is and the transfer of energy wasn't so high to bugger the floor pan as well. It might be good as new with a new hatch and bumper.

Now that's if the car has value to you. Sentimental or whatever. If not and if the insurance will chose to write off and compensate you for a replacement car then bang on(though the insurance pricks are almost guaranteed to load you on your next policy even if "officially" your no claims remains untouched. They will extract their pound of flesh). If it was a rarer car or one sentimental to yourselves then I'd not be that quick to assume the worst myself. I'd get an experts opinion. Someone like a panel beater say.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Probably is a mibi case but will be processed through your insurer, not direct with them.

As driver had no insurance you shouldn't lose your NCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭honda boi

Fairly sure that the policy covers you in that regard regardless of who was driving. So if your mate borrows your car and has no policy of his own and crashes. Your policy can be claimed on. Driver will have a separate case if caught.

So if you we're to rob my car,crash into someone on the road.
    Not only is my car stolen/wrecked but also my insurance is gonna be claimed from from the car that was crashed into and leave me screwed for years????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

For property damage claims, if you have comprehensive cover your insurer will handle the claim on behalf of the MIBI. There is industry wide agreement that it will not affect your premium or NCB and other insurers will accept you at standard rates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

honda boi wrote:
    So if you we're to rob my car,crash into someone on the road. Not only is my car stolen/wrecked but also my insurance is gonna be claimed from from the car that was crashed into and leave me screwed for years????

No

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

Just a quick hypothetical situation here:

e.g. my car was stolen and the car thief then proceeds to crash my car into a 3rd party like the OP's wives car?

Would my insurance be held liable for the damage caused even though it was a car thief responsible for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

No

Agreed and would people refrain from giving duff factually incorrect advice if they clearly don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Doltanian wrote: »
    Just a quick hypothetical situation here:

e.g. my car was stolen and the car thief then proceeds to crash my car into a 3rd party like the OP's wives car?

Would my insurance be held liable for the damage caused even though it was a car thief responsible for it?

No.

It is just more drivel being posted here by people that don't have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭honda boi

No
    Vic_08 wrote: »
    No.

It is just more drivel being posted here by people that don't have a clue.

Thanks lads ,people saying it would effect the stolen persons insurance.
    Thank f**k it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It's an 06 car, the insurance company will not repair it. You'll get an offer for its value which won't be much, maybe €2k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

dave1982 wrote: »
    Hopefully insurance will sort this. Its the wifes car.the other car was stolen that rammed into the back of another parked car and pushed that car into ours. Both of the other cars are def write offs. Not sure about ours

Awful for ye

Still trying to get through to someone to deal with claim. I get as far as the person that answers phone but thats where it stops. I am put on hold then told someone will call you back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

As others have said, definite write off. Not saying it could not be repaired, but in the eyes of the assessor, there will only be one recommendation in this case.