Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poor windscreen visibility

• 08-09-2017 8:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidcon

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Hi lads. I've got a 03 opel vectra. Great car in great condition for its age. The windscreen however is driving me mad. I bought the car in January this year. The lad who used to own it must have had crap wipers on because the windscreen has lots of fine scratches and pitting. Didn't bother me too much at the time but coming into the winter I'm genuinely finding it to be a hazard. The scratches and lack of clarity mixed with car headlights and low light is making it hard to see sometimes. In the rain it's awful, and I've got bosxh aero twin wipers on so it's not them. I have windscreen insurance but the insurance company told me that they don't cover wear and tear. Any suggestions?

Tell them you were just driving through Tallaght and something hit the windscreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Please tell me you didn't call insurance to say there are scratches???

Smash it or crack it and if covered it will be replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Now you have asked them will they not see it as suspicious if the windscreen is smashed the next week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Contact MX Valeting. He will be able to polish the scratches out using cerium oxide and a rayon pad on a dual action polisher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

I had the choice recently of smashing my way into my own car. Baby son had locked himself in with my keys inside spares gone in missus bag to Spain by accident. He was delerious after half hour trying to coax him into pressing the right button to open the door.
    Just about to swing an angle iron into the passenger window when I thought of my windscreen cover.
    Replaced it there yesterday not an eyelid batted. I hit a pigeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I had the choice recently of smashing my way into my own car. Baby son had locked himself in with my keys inside spares gone in missus bag to Spain by accident. He was delerious after half hour trying to coax him into pressing the right button to open the door.
    Just about to swing an angle iron into the passenger window when I thought of my windscreen cover.

I know it's called windscreen but it should cover all the windows. Must have taken some beating to get through the windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Del2005 wrote: »
    I know it's called windscreen but it should cover all the windows. Must have taken some beating to get through the windscreen.

A few years ago the windscreen cover covered my brother rear passenger window!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I noticed getting insurance quotes last night that nearly all of the providers are asking now if you have had a windscreen replaced in the last X years?

Is getting a new windscreen now going to affect your premiums?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

sidcon wrote: »
    Tell them you were just driving through Tallaght and something hit the windscreen

Why Tallaght?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

'A stone flew out of the lawnmower'

It happens all the time, I'm not suggesting you say this and lie, but, if you mow the lawn close to the car it can happen.

If a scumbag breaks your window to rob something, most policies will deny you windscreen cover and charge the excess as it was not an 'accident'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

endacl wrote: »
    Why Tallaght?

It's full of pigeons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I had the fly window smashed about 12 years ago and the car rifled through. The insurance lady said to me "was the there attempted theft of the car?" no I said "well if there was an attempt to steal then it's covered under your windscreen cover if ya get me?" Oh right I says, ya they tried stealing the car, "ah fine, I'll have that fixed tomorrow for you" she says. That was with aviva.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I noticed getting insurance quotes last night that nearly all of the providers are asking now if you have had a windscreen replaced in the last X years?

Is getting a new windscreen now going to affect your premiums?

Nope. I've had a few windscreen claims and none affected the quotes since.

Ironically one was on the N81 the morning of my NCT. Driving the twisty bit just before Jobstown and my windscreen shattered with no vehicles around to flip a stone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Does anybody, including Mods, not have a difficulty with loads of advice being given by posters on how to commit insurance fraud? I've said before that it is every class, creed and colour that commits fraud and this bears it out.

You can recommend any illegal activity here except how to access pirated material. For some reason that will get you banned or warned but fraud is OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

And people wonder why insurance companies are starting to put excesses on windscreen claims or aren't quoting if you have had multiple windscreen claims.

And do you not think the insurance companies are committing fraud against us, running a cartel like business? The extortionate prices, not insuring cars 10-15 years old. Feck sake, I'm 30 and have a full licence since 2006 yet I'm still charged 1500 a year for my car insurance. The insurance companies are the biggest fraudsters and gangsters in this country..

And the price insurers present to you have nothing to do with excessive awards for genuine claims, fraudulent claims, exaggerated claims, high legal costs etc.

When all the costs are added up and divided between the policyholders, that's your premium. Insurers get it in the neck every time (sometimes justified) for advising you of the cost that claimants, solicitors, doctors, garages etc have compiled. Insurers are the end users of our system, but the bad press should rest with the system of law and compensation that Irish people have decided they want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

endacl wrote: »
    Why Tallaght?

Could have been a horse shoe that went through his windscreen.....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Advocating fraud is all wrong. I'm amazed it's tolerated here too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

And do you not think the insurance companies are committing fraud against us, running a cartel like business? The extortionate prices, not insuring cars 10-15 years old. Feck sake, I'm 30 and have a full licence since 2006 yet I'm still charged 1500 a year for my car insurance. The insurance companies are the biggest fraudsters and gangsters in this country..

I actually read yesterday that the EU did raids on several companies in July as part of an investigation into cartel-like behaviour and apparently prices are dropping since... anyone seeing this?

On topic..

My car windscreen has a rather annoying crack (bout the width of a Euro) right in the eye-line of my seat. Would that be covered as is or are what's the threshold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

This thread made me look for quotes on my own car for a new windscreen. My windscreen is in ****e, scratches and chips across the whole thing. Despite using OEM wipers and changing them before they turn to grot.

Anyway, after a bit of looking around I see there is HUGE difference in optical clarity and "tinting" from blue to green from some companies. Does anyone have a recommendation of a company they've used? Based in Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

For what it's worth you should report the post.

No, let it continue. I'm hoping that some day I'll read a cute hoor plan that I've never seen attempted before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

No, let it continue. I'm hoping that some day I'll read a cute hoor plan that I've never seen attempted before.

The pigeons one is novel... although maybe to bring it up to date it really should be drones. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Poor child must have been in some state by the time you got through the windscreen

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

My car windscreen has a rather annoying crack (bout the width of a Euro) right in the eye-line of my seat. Would that be covered as is or are what's the threshold?

Call your insurance company. I had a small chip filled by my insurance. But it depends on the size and location as to whether it can be repaired or replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Polish out the scratches with a hammer and then get a new one fitted due the poor job the hammer done removing the scratches. The insurance company do not ask the reason, you don't even tell them. Simply get it replaced and have the windscreen company bill them.

On a serious note, you don't even need to smash it, just go and get a replacement fitted and have the company bill your insurance. (Assuming you have windscreen cover)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

And then people complain about expensive insurance ???

That's what locksmiths are there for.