Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man tries to remove clamp with hacksaw - caught by Garda.

• 06-09-2017 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/music-student-sawed-clamp-off-his-car-because-he-only-had-half-of-the-80-fee-36107014.html

Gets clamped, tries to remove clamp with a hacksaw - caught by gards, no id so held in cell for the night, and to top it all off re-clamped.

Not the luckiest guy in the world.

A garda sergeant told Dublin District Court officers on patrol at 5.15pm, June 5 saw the accused cutting a clamp from a vehicle.

On speaking to him, McCallion admitted cutting the clamp from the wheel of his own vehicle.
    He gave his name and was arrested and taken to Mountjoy Garda Station.

Defence solicitor Tony Collier said he understood the cost of the damage was about €380.

Judge Anthony Halpin applied the Probation Act, leaving him without a conviction after he paid €200 compensation for the damage.

The clamp would have cost €80 to have removed by the clampers but he only had €40 on him, “€20 of which he spent in a hardware shop on a hacksaw.”

“He was anxious to get home and not be stuck in Dublin,” Mr Collier said, adding that in the end McCallion had spent the night in Mountjoy Garda Station.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Moral of the story: Don't touch council clamps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

antodeco wrote: »

Private clampers are fair game though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

antodeco wrote:

Or dont get caught doing it :-)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

eeguy wrote: »

Absolutely! Don't think council clamps. Private clamps and Guarda don't care!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭mossy50

Moral of the story use an ANGLE GRINDER much easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

200 quid for a bit of chain, that's steep. He hardly cut the body of the clamp like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I'm guessing he cut the actual clamp rather than the chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'm guessing he cut the actual clamp rather than the chain.

With a hacksaw? No wonder he was caught, he must have been at it for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I was clamped in Galway once. But it was a weird clamp that went through the alloys wheel which left all the wheel nuts exposed so I just took the wheel off and put the spare on and cut the clamp with power tools once I got home.

Nice try lads but you will have to try harder next time..... :D :pac: :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

€20 for a hacksaw. That's the real crime here.

€20 for a hacksaw capable of cutting a clamp is a bargain :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I was clamped in Galway once. But it was a weird clamp that went through the alloys wheel which left all the wheel nuts exposed so I just took the wheel off and put the spare on and cut the clamp with power tools once I got home.

Nice try lads but you will have to try harder next time..... :D :pac: :cool:

I'd be livid if someone used one of those style clamps on my wheels. There's no way they didn't damage them putting it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

eeguy wrote: »

A certain minority parked outside the emergency door of CUH blocking ambluance parking there. They were clamped and when they came out they contacted their comrades to bring an angle grinder and cut the clamp off while the clampers watched from a distance. I'd say they'd give the council clamp the same treatment without anyone approaching them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭duffman3833

slam your car and they cant clamp you

6739d659d931d6a6cd19ef9d9d90883a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

slam your car and they cant clamp you

Not a bad idea tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭cfuserkildare

Happened to me once in a shopping center car-park.
    Car was parked under a sign that states Customers have 4 hours to park,
    Car was clamped after 35 minutes!!!
    Stated this, and informed them that the Clamper had damaged the paint on my car and that my Solicitor was on way to inspect damage.
    Clamp was removed within 20 minutes, and now center uses a different company to maintain car-park!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not a bad idea tbh.

The downside is you look like a tool.

endacl wrote: »
    The downside is you look like a tool.

Buy a Citroen xm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Vic_08 wrote: »
    With a hacksaw? No wonder he was caught, he must have been at it for ages.

With a hacksaw it might actually be quicker, a hacksaw will really struggle with the hardened chain but the clamp itself it normal steel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Buy a Citroen xm

Pay for parking/ don't park where youre not allowed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Buy a Citroen xm

The downside is you're stuck with a French car. And look like a tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Mini850

Classic Minis with 10' wheels and slightly lowered are un-clampable.

It was great when I had it. It also had an old style reg (637 MZZ style) so the parking ticket enforcer couldnt even give me a ticket (their hand held gizmo for giving you a ticket doesnt do the old reg numbers apparently, open to correction on that but never happened me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭Cerco

Surprised his solicitor did not complain about his detention overnight for such a trivial issue.
    Any reasonable person would think a simple warning would have been enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Cerco wrote: »
    Surprised his solicitor did not complain about his detention overnight for such a trivial issue.
    Any reasonable person would think a simple warning would have been enough.

The detention was because he had no Id to prove who he was wasn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

Surely his car reg would identify him?...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Surely his car reg would identify him?...

Maybe the car but not its driver

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

Surely a law abiding student would have his driver's licence on him. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

It gives a definite route to identifying the owner and therefore the driver.

Keeping someone in a cell overnight for such a modest crime is ridiculous IMO.

I hope he at least got a good breakfast out of them...

Edit: The accused was from the North so does that change things?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

the interesting part of this story (to me anyway) was that the judge said the fact that they re-clamped him was possibly illegal

"When the judge heard the car had since been re-clamped, he said he did not believe this was legal and advised the accused to make a criminal complaint against Dublin City Council"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

mossy50 wrote: »
    Moral of the story use an ANGLE GRINDER much easier

Strange why so many people carry them. Drove in Ireland for 22 years and was never once clamped.
    I don't know, it's like some people are either very unlucky or they are doing something wrong...

Strange why so many people carry them. Drove in Ireland for 22 years and was never once clamped.
    I don't know, it's like some people are either very unlucky or they are doing something wrong...

I was only clamped once and that was outside the back of Galway hospital. They used to let people park there but there was construction work going on and delivery's and such to the building site were blocked by cars. People who are there regular knew about the changes I didn't as I don't be there too often but I always parked there when I was at the hospital. So that particular day I went to park and I remember saying to myself they mustn't be busy today as it was usually really hard to find a spot(illegal spot mind you) Came out a while later to find I was clamped.

But I never paid the fine and they were down a clamp afterwards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I was only clamped once and that was outside the back of Galway hospital. They used to let people park there but there was construction work going on and delivery's and such to the building site were blocked by cars. People who are there regular knew about the changes I didn't as I don't be there too often but I always parked there when I was at the hospital. So that particular day I went to park and I remember saying to myself they mustn't be busy today as it was usually really hard to find a spot(illegal spot mind you) Came out a while later to find I was clamped.

But I never paid the fine and they were down a clamp afterwards.

Do you ever wonder why they clamp? I don't just mean your case, looks like there was no signeage or you need glasses (I'll get me coat ;):D )
    The obnoxious parking thread speaks volumes.
    And especially in private estates or anywhere not on a public road it's endemic. People just ignore signs and markings and just dump their cars any old where. The Lidl in Ennis had to put up plastic bollards to stop people from blocking the entrance and trolly bay. Once people discovered the bollards were quite flimsy, they just drove over them. If that's not the ultimate fcuk you...
    I'm back in Germany now for a year and it is true, people do really keep to the rules much more. It doesn't matter if it's a public road, hospital car parks (which I regretably had to use quite a bit), a government authority or the local Lidl or Aldi car park. You will almost never see a car parked out of line. If there is, there will be a crowd of bewildered people standing around it, tutting and sighing.
    And the funniest thing? I haven't seen any clamping in any of those spots. Doesn't exist. People just try their best to play by the rules. But if you do park anywhere you're really not supposed to, you are then kindly invited to collect your car from the local pound for a small (large) fee. And I haven't ever seen anyone get towed.
    Maybe it's a difference in attitude.
    Germany: Those rules exist so that we can all get along together and if everyone keeps to the system, life will be easier.
    Ireland: Jaysis, fcuk that, bunch of bastards trying to stop me from doing what I want, well, fcuk that any way terfcuk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

It was, he couldn't prove who he wasn't, so the gardai didn't know who he was

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

Do you ever wonder why they clamp? I don't just mean your case, looks like there was no signeage or you need glasses (I'll get me coat ;):D )
    The obnoxious parking thread speaks volumes.
    And especially in private estates or anywhere not on a public road it's endemic. People just ignore signs and markings and just dump their cars any old where. The Lidl in Ennis had to put up plastic bollards to stop people from blocking the entrance and trolly bay. Once people discovered the bollards were quite flimsy, they just drove over them. If that's not the ultimate fcuk you...
    I'm back in Germany now for a year and it is true, people do really keep to the rules much more. It doesn't matter if it's a public road, hospital car parks (which I regretably had to use quite a bit), a government authority or the local Lidl or Aldi car park. You will almost never see a car parked out of line. If there is, there will be a crowd of bewildered people standing around it, tutting and sighing.
    And the funniest thing? I haven't seen any clamping in any of those spots. Doesn't exist. People just try their best to play by the rules. But if you do park anywhere you're really not supposed to, you are then kindly invited to collect your car from the local pound for a small (large) fee. And I haven't ever seen anyone get towed.
    Maybe it's a difference in attitude.
    Germany: Those rules exist so that we can all get along together and if everyone keeps to the system, life will be easier.
    Ireland: Jaysis, fcuk that, bunch of bastards trying to stop me from doing what I want, well, fcuk that any way terfcuk.

As for people in Europe obeying the rules, I agree with you. The problem in Ireland is that since the foundation of the State, people in certain exalted positions are exempt from the laws which govern the working class. We have one of the most corrupt goverments in the world and their example finds its way down the line. Lead by example and not by penalty. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I'd have held him overnight too, looks suspect

Guard: What's your name kid?
    Kid: Hacksaw Herbie sir

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

If it was me I'd just ruffle my stubble along the chain and snap it off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭goochy

Was busy but wasn't there something on Liveline last week about some girl who took clamp off her car ? guards send once the clamp isn't damaged its ok ?? didn't get full story - anyone get ?

Yeah she cable tied to underneath the car and drove off I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

If they were looking at him on CCTV trying to cut a clamp with a hacksaw , he'd look a bit special.

They'd have to be concerned about his safety and go see what was wrong