Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things people say to get out of awkward situations

• 05-09-2017 9:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Card declined/Direct debit didn't go through: "I must get onto the bank, there must be a problem with their system, this keeps happening". Hahahaha no you're just broke.

You see someone you vaguely know on the street and as you're not in the mood to talk to them you pretend you don't see them but then they see you and start conversation "Jesus I was in a world of my own there".

Any others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

'ah sure look it...'

covers most situations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

When you're children are asking to go somewhere you repy with "we'll see"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

'My planet needs me'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Depends.

"Depends"
    "On what?"
    "Criteria"
    "What are the criteria?"
    "Depends"

Win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

'ah sure look it...'

covers most situations

It's not even English. You might have some hope with look AT it.

Do the GAA lads get some kind of media coach or something training them to preface every utterance with that phrase as some forlorn attempt at deflection?

"You seemed to be getting an awful roasting out there today. Their corner forward fairly cleaned you out there over the second half, didn't he?"

"Ah sure look it Marty..." :D

To answer the OP, I like the abysmal vagueness and dumb closure of "it is what it is".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

topper75 wrote: »
    It's not even English. You might have some hope with look AT it.

Do the GAA lads get some kind of media coach or something training them to preface every utterance with that phrase as some forlorn attempt at deflection?

"You seemed to be getting an awful roasting out there today. Their corner forward fairly cleaned you out there over the second half, didn't he?"

"Ah sure look it Marty..." :D

To answer the OP, I like the abysmal vagueness and dumb closure of "it is what it is".

'ah sure look it, c'mere... that's the way isn't it'

means you have expressed something, and at the same time making it look as if you have come off the fence, but with only one foot on the ground.

We are very good at it in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I used to think awkward conversations were reserved for young people in their 20s, but I've seen middle-aged mothers bump into one another in Tesco.

"Ah how are you Lisa?
    "Fine. Thanks. How are you?
    "Good yeah. How are you?"
    "......I'm fine.....thanks."

It's reassuring that awkward conversations never get less awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

''That's never happened before''......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭Benjamin Buttons

Probably apocryphal but the story goes that when Bob Hope's wife came home unexpectedly to find him 'in flagrante' with a local leggy lovely, he turned round, looked his wife straight in the eye and exclaimed: ''It's not me''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Say "I've got nothing." and simply walk away from whatever the awkward situation is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Wife: What did I just say now?

Me :Oh here, I found 20 euro beside your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I used to think awkward conversations were reserved for young people in their 20s, but I've seen middle-aged mothers bump into one another in Tesco.

"Ah how are you Lisa?

It's reassuring that awkward conversations never get less awkward.

And of course you have to bump into that person in the next aisle again.....and the next....and the next.

...and the next.
    And the next day after the school run, into the supermarket with you as usual, and who do you bump into...

"Ah how are you Lisa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

"You look great"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

"I've left the immersion on"

"Clothes on the washing line"

Crea wrote: »
    "You look great"

''Thanks I don't feel great though, I thought I got upwind of you yesterday and here we are again ffs, what are we like?''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Shut up Kate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

That money was just resting in my account

Pretend I'm on the phone if I see chuggers ahead or someone I don't feel like talking to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

"Well, this is awkward isn't it".

And then I just stare at them waiting for them to fill the gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

honestly officer, she swore she was 18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

"Yeah, haha" when you haven't heard someone say what they've already repeated three times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

you say-"Yerra, shure what can you do??"-then shrug your mighty shoulders and saunter off with a bemused look on your face ,That is what I normally do .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

"Sorry, I'm only renting" works if you end up opening the door go pushy tradesmen flogging tarmac, windows, landscape services etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The vomiting bug , I'm shiiting all the time , its contagious as fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

We drove past a field of cattle recently and a couple of them were having the ride right at the ditch. The little one asked me what they were doing so I told her they were playing leap frog. Best thing I could come up with on the spur of the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Can the next thing you say be something positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

73Cat wrote: »
    We drove past a field of cattle recently and a couple of them were having the ride right at the ditch. The little one asked me what they were doing so I told her they were playing leap frog. Best thing I could come up with on the spur of the moment.

The dogs give each other piggybacks is one that I've usedðŸ˜

Sure a guard wouldn't ask me that .....feck off you nosey git.

The kids are sick ..... I've changed my mind and I'm too lazy to go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Sarn

Will you marry me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

''sorry im in a rush'' to chuggers who want ''just a second'' of my time. i then proceed to walk at a pace unlike someone in a rush.

''sorry ive no cash''to beggars. walks into bank, awkward eye contact when they're still waiting outside.

"I have to go, kettle's boiling" Doesn't matter where you are, in the street, office or home, everyone understands that when the kettles boiled you have to go to it immediately.

Another one I use on the reg is "I need to get home, the pigs need feeding". This is especially effective at letting people know you're bored, and just don't care to continue a conversation, if they know you don't have any pigs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

"Listen i'd love to chat but you are a complete twat"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭elefant

It's just because you're so hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Will you shut up?!

Shut up!

Shut up!

Shut up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Your Face wrote: »
    Will you shut up?!

Shut up!

Shut up!

Shut up!

That's it Tony, I'm putting you on my list of enemies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    "Listen i'd love to chat but you are a complete twat"

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,255 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Your missus has a cream for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I have to return some videotapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

"I'd love to stay at the door and talk to you about Jesus but I'm worried the virgin on the altar table in the attic might get loose"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

No mater what the situation:
    "Anyway..... the cats not going to milk herself"
    and just walk away.

thelad95 wrote: »
    Card declined/Direct debit didn't go through: "I must get onto the bank, there must be a problem with their system, this keeps happening". Hahahaha no you're just broke.

You see someone you vaguely know on the street and as you're not in the mood to talk to them you pretend you don't see them but then they see you and start conversation "Jesus I was in a world of my own there".

Any others?

I actually am in my own world most of the time. I hope people I know don't think I'm going around avoiding them now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Taught my nephew the Bart Simpson classic, Owww... My Overies.