Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The right handy yoke!

• 02-09-2017 2:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭

Every now and then when your really stuck it's handy to have an old home lying around they you decided not to get rid of. Might not be used for ages but it's there in times of need.

That an instance in the last few days. Plan was to get the straw in yesterday before the weather broke and was getting everything ready Thursday evening when the boss man was told he was going to Dublin on Friday for the weekend. Normally we would bring in the bales together one on the digger and other on the tractor and trailer.

This led to a bit of head scratching. Made a few calls but no one available and herself is not confident driving tractors on the road.

Anyway we have and old power loader that was on a ford 7000 back in the day but has been sitting in the corner of the yard for a while now. Stuck the brackets on another old ford we have for the spraying and plumbed into the spool valves and crossed my fingers. Anyway brought in 100 bales from about 2 miles away with the old tractor and stacked and all in the shed.

Granted it was slower then normal but this was how we did it for years. Knee is a bit sore today but that will be ok. One problem I did notice was trying to stack them 4 high, normally I stack 2 and lift bottom one but it was more tricky with the tractor and loader.

Anyway with the rain coming in now I'm glad to have the "old yoke" as she has got me outta trouble. 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Like that we have a good mf 168 in the yard doing a bit of scraper work .used to have loader on it but a few years back.the loader brackets were removed to do the clutch and left off , the loader is good but pushed against the hedge .often said I must put that back on .even to just stop it from rotten or getting crushed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭orm0nd

an old mc kenna back end silage grab, hadn't been used for 20 years.+

then we converted a leantoo for sheep

not enough room for 4WD with loader so we recommissioned the rear end on a 2WD 785, modified the 3 point linkage attach and brought the spools into the cab with connectors

does the job the finest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

orm0nd wrote: »
    an old mc kenna back end silage grab, hadn't been used for 20 years.+

then we converted a leantoo for sheep

not enough room for 4WD with loader so we recommissioned the rear end on a 2WD 785, modified the 3 point linkage attach and brought the spools into the cab with connectors

does the job the finest

International 785 with low roof or case xl 785?
    Good enough bus ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭orm0nd

International 785 with low roof or case xl 785?
    Good enough bus ?

IH 785 XL ,, almost 20K hours and A1 ...cab has a bad dose of tin worm though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

orm0nd wrote: »
    IH 785 XL ,, almost 20K hours and A1 ...cab has a bad dose of tin worm though

Ye it's a pity. Eyeing up a 2wd version with a tatty cab. Auld lad is mechcanic and panel beater by trade and might do it up. However mother is sick and that's priority last 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

When I started reading the op I was wondering why an old home would be handy, first thought that came into my head is that the wife kicked him out and he had to shack up in the old farm house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭mengele

i have an old 7 or 8ft buck rake here. It was missing a ram so but in a new double acting ram last winter.

Have done a lot of jobs with it after fizing it up. Made hay in a field close to yard and was able to stack hay on it and draw into a shed and push it off then with the ram. Able to clean out straw bedded sheds, move pallets etc. Basically doing every job except the one it was originally bought for (for silage clamp).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭kerry cow

I know a guy in Cork who has a old tractor 1970S and 80s for every item of machinery .has a big old shed and they are all parked up in there .
    One on the agitator
    One on topper
    One yard scraper
    One fertility spread
    One on sprayer
    And a 171 for the loader and road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭discodaveirl

Have a ford 4000 here.. its either on a bench saw the fert spreader or the sprayer.. had one for years doing everything and we traded this one against our original this one needed a full resto, we built the engine approx 8 years ago and bought a 4wd... glad that we're getting it back into the shed soon to finish it off as its a great asset around the place to be just used on 3 implements.. might post up a photo or two on the relavant forum here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Sam Kade wrote: »
    When I started reading the op I was wondering why an old home would be handy, first thought that came into my head is that the wife kicked him out and he had to shack up in the old farm house.

feckin autocorrect......

that said i was out on it again last night trying to get bales in for my uncle by the time i was finished she was gone to bed to might need an ol house too:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

kerry cow wrote: »
    I know a guy in Cork who has a old tractor 1970S and 80s for every item of machinery .has a big old shed and they are all parked up in there .
    One on the agitator
    One on topper
    One yard scraper
    One fertility spread
    One on sprayer
    And a 171 for the loader and road

i know a lad like that too over the road. they always liked their ford tractors just not big fans of letting them go. he now has his gran-uncles yokes as well.

TW15 on slurry spreader (puts a baler on it for the silage)
    4600 on yard scraper in winter and topper in summer
    another 4600 with row crops and a sprayer for beet (he reckons he needs a winter job for it !!!)
    6610 with loader mainly for bringing bales from outside farm
    old ford digger with no cab or back actor for cleaning out low sheds and as the backup loader
    jcb 3cx for the main loading work
    7710 4wd with a hedge cutter
    7000 for vintage runs ( he dosent like it getting dirty with farm work)
    TS115 for everything else

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Recently picked up a mf 50e loader with lift arms on the back.its the handiest yoke but not pretty to look at.the bale spike stays on it except for agitating and the weight block and scraper fit the bale spike.