Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda vehicles

• 30-08-2017 3:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1

What vehicles do they use nowadays? For they still use the old Ford Focus and Mondeo?

The Wiki list isn't accurate IMO.

What cars dothey mostly use?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ford Falcon GT's

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Big-block Dodge. Bought it at an auction at the 'Mason's lodge. "Johnson County Sheriff" pained on the side. Also, I believe the armed guys are using Audi Q7s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Funngun wrote: »
    What vehicles do they use nowadays? For they still use the old Ford Focus and Mondeo?

What an interesting first post on boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Why don't you go to your nearest Garda station and do some research into what's parked out front?
    Mad idea I know, for whatever reason you are asking...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,729 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Mostly Hyundai i40 estates and saloons (unmarked) now as well as the i30 hatchback, but there's still a lot of the Fords (Mondeo/Focus) and Toyota (Corolla/Avensis) knocking about too. Also some Volvo estates.

The armed lads have a few BMW X5's and the "fast response" Traffic lads got BMW 5 series and Audi Q7s lately

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Think its mainly Kia's or Hyundai's these days. Might be one or two BMWs around Dublin/Limerick to catch or out run the serious bad guys.

Why, think you might have bit napped by a unmarked one going over the limit?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Those Ford things. :pac:

Cortina.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

Before we go any further, they're VEH HICKLES.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭davo2001

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Think its mainly Kia's or Hyundai's these days. Might be one or two BMWs around Dublin/Limerick to catch or out run the serious bad guys.

Fixed that for you :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Hi...

As the infallible wiki lists vectras of course it's not accurate. They use a myriad of marks. There's no 'mostly' any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭cml387

In fairness the OP probably only sees them from the inside.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

What an interesting first post on boards.
    Watch out! He's got a Funn Gun!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

All shapes and sizes here, some foreign but mostly Irish:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055424268&page=68

• Registered Users Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

They seem to drive mostly Hyundai i40s these days. A few years ago they were mostly driving Toyota Avensis.

One of my mates used to have a white Avensis that looked like an unmarked squad car. We used to have a bit of craic with it sometimes, as we were only in our early 20's then. One night we were driving slowly by a park, and we could see a group of young lads obviously doing a spot of knacker drinking. So we drove around the block and back around to the park again. When we drove slowly by the park again the young lads saw us coming and scattered.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Hi...

As the infallible wiki lists vectras of course it's not accurate. They use a myriad of marks. There's no 'mostly' any more.

There is.Theyre 'mostly' Hyundai's.
    There's more Hyundai's on the fleet now than any other make.I think it's in the region of 700 now.

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

God be with the day when they were chasing IRA bank robbers armed with Kalashnikov's with the good 'ould Renault 4 and armed with a large stick.

%D0%9F%D0%BE%D0%BB%D0%B8%D1%86%D0%B5%D0%B9%D1%81%D0%BA%D0%B8%D0%B5_%D0%9C%D0%B0%D1%88%D0%B8%D0%BD%D1%8B_%D0%9C%D0%B8%D1%80%D0%B0__76_-_Renault_4L_garda_%D0%9F%D0%BE%D0%BB%D0%B8%D1%86%D0%B8%D1%8F_%D0%98%D1%80%D0%BB%D0%B0%D0%BD%D0%B4%D0%B8%D0%B8___02.02.2016.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

i40's me arse. Cleverly disguised heavily modified fit for purpose bad ass crim catchers in disguise i say.

Guards just play down the tech.....swimming in gadgetry the feckers are!

• Registered Users Posts: 36,166 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Must be HGVs as they have 100% blind spots to dozens of offences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Greybottle wrote: »
    God be with the day when they were chasing IRA bank robbers armed with Kalashnikov's with the good 'ould Renault 4 and armed with a large stick.

%D0%9F%D0%BE%D0%BB%D0%B8%D1%86%D0%B5%D0%B9%D1%81%D0%BA%D0%B8%D0%B5_%D0%9C%D0%B0%D1%88%D0%B8%D0%BD%D1%8B_%D0%9C%D0%B8%D1%80%D0%B0__76_-_Renault_4L_garda_%D0%9F%D0%BE%D0%BB%D0%B8%D1%86%D0%B8%D1%8F_%D0%98%D1%80%D0%BB%D0%B0%D0%BD%D0%B4%D0%B8%D0%B8___02.02.2016.jpg

Ever see the gear stick on one of those mad stuff. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Hellrazer wrote: »
    There is.Theyre 'mostly' Hyundai's.
    There's more Hyundai's on the fleet now than any other make.I think it's in the region of 700 now.

There are about 2700 vehicles in the fleet. 700 is a sizable proportion but not 'mostly'.
    It changes constantly. Almost every year they go for something different. Around here there are many Insignias but only at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭passatman86

I40's are everywhere
    Year's ago a silver evo7 passed me with all the blue lights flashing and guards talkin on the radio inside it - was odd seeing it fly past

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Oasis1974 wrote: »
    Ever see the gear stick on one of those mad stuff. :)

my auntie had one when i was a chisler a wee while ago, she used to pull the gearstick right out and put it in the handbag so no fecker would steal it!!!!

Had an 8 track cassette unit in it too with some classic johnny cash!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

There are about 2700 vehicles in the fleet. 700 is a sizable proportion but not 'mostly'.
    It changes constantly. Almost every year they go for something different. Around here there are many Insignias but only at the moment.

No I'm serious.The majority of the fleet are Hyundai's.Probably going to double that figure before the end of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,475 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

same as always, the cheapest, smallest **** they can talk the manufacturers down to. this year it's hyundi i40s

• Registered Users Posts: 13,007 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

A lad I know is a detective and he told me that the car supplier goes out to tender. Currently Hyundai have the gig, hence all the i30's and i40's in the fleet. Interestingly, when they need to get specialist yokes such as the Q7 or BMW's etc they are sourced from the other companies but supplied by Hyundai.

somebody definitely does not get a backhander.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

The only reason they are driving hyundais is because they came in and undercut the **** out of Ford and Toyota.
    The armed guys rather the old volvos to the new audis. Better handling as the audis are a lot more boaty cornering seemingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

An article from a couple of years ago showing a load of new Hyundais.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-top-geart-phoenix-park-today-fleet-new-vehicles-2034147-Apr2015/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Village Crazy Lady

Greybottle wrote: »

nothing wrong with the renault 4, i learnt to drive in one of those many moons ago....lol