Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camaro SS - 6.2 litres of V8 American muscle

• 23-08-2017 4:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭

Was holidaying in the US for for 11 days and I had reserved a Mustang Convertible rental, likely to have been the 2.3 EcoBoost version...

Was pleasantly surprised when they handed me the keys to a 6th Gen Chevrolet Camaro SS 6.2 V8

What an absolutely beast of a car!

455bhp, and 455lb/ft (617nm) being pumped through 6.2 Litres American V8 muscle!

This particular model was equipped with the optional 'Dual Mode' Active Exhaust and needless to say, it sounded absolutely glorious!

It was an 8-Speed Auto box with "performance shift mode" and paddle shifters... it was spectacular and really slammed the gears in when you put the foot down. I was seriously impressed by how good the gearbox was!

Had it in 'Sport' mode for the entire time, which means the active exhaust was always on "loud" mode, steering was more taught and the the gearbox held onto revs for longer.

I really liked the fact that the driving mode didn't default back to the standard "Touring" when the car was switched off and back on again.

It also had 'Brembo' brakes all round which were amazing - the first time I actually remarked at how good brakes on a car were!!

I covered just over 2,000Kms and [without even trying] managed 12,5 Litres/100km (or 18.9 mpg) which was surprisingly good given the engine size.

The car also has cylinder deactivation mode which turns it into a V4 (yes really, "V4" actually comes up on the Display) when gently cruising. This was a seamless transition and you wouldn't even notice it.

Cylinder deactivation is nice tech but not that you would really care about the economy when petrol costs $2.70 a Gallon (roughly equivalent to 65 cent per litre)

I also later found out the car had "Launch control" which was quite fun when taking off from the lights as you can imagine!

I must say, I came back feeling a little bit resentful at our "Environmentally Conscious" (read: money hungry) Government that makes larger engined cars such as this and the Mustang 5.0 V8 (and other fancier European machinery) as unattainable as they are.

I could only imagine what it would be like ringing up AXA or FBD and telling the auld' biddy on the other end of the phone that you would like to insure a "six point two litre" car .. they would either have a heart attack or laugh you off the phone.

Overall a stunning car in all respects - to drive, to look at or even just to listen to .... the hardest part was handing the keys back!!

Anyway, some pics for you .... taken on the last day so a little bit on the dirty side

Happy to answer any questions if your curious about any aspect of the car and driving it.

Full_Size_Render_2.jpg

Full_Size_Render_3.jpg

Full_Size_Render_4.jpg

Full_Size_Render_5.jpg

Full_Size_Render_6.jpg

Full_Size_Render_7.jpg

IMG_0608.jpg

IMG_0612.jpg

IMG_0615.jpg

IMG_0617.jpg

IMG_0623.jpg

IMG_0635.jpg

IMG_0632.jpg

IMG_0633.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

What's the motor tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Who'd you rent with?
    I've a mustang convertible booked with alamo but don't think they've the ss in stock.
    I'm really fearing a Chrysler 200 as it's "similar"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

What's the motor tax?

Not sure, but I'd guess it's nowhere near €2,350

Who'd you rent with?
    I've a mustang convertible booked with alamo but don't think they've the ss in stock.

Ahhh the dreaded chrysler 200 :P

I rented with Sixt because the 200 was not in their inventory, so it was either gonna be the Stang or Camaro... wasn't expecting the Full Fat version though :)

My tip, is make 2 reservations (obviously without prepaying) - that way if they try shaft you, just walk away to your second reservation :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

ION08 wrote: »

I rented with Sixt because the 200 was not in their inventory, so it was either gonna be the Stang or Camaro... wasn't expecting the Full Fat version though :)

My tip, is make 2 reservations (obviously without prepaying) - that way if they try shaft you, just walk away to your second reservation :)

I've already prepaid.... damnit

Ring up the actual rental location (not customer service) , ask to speak to the manager and soundly have a chat and ask him to try and have a Mustang for you on the day. Worked for me before with Avis in NY.

Are you taking into account that the US gallon is less than our gallon in your calculations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

The car looks amazing even though I was never a fan of the Camaro. I could definitely ignore those air vents for the rest of the car. Nothing wrong with an EcoBoost Mustang though :p

I rented a Mustang in Orlando for 2 weeks at the end of April and to this day I'm still sad not to be driving it anymore. Driving in the US is something else, big open fast flowing roads. It's amazing. I had a very hard time readjusting to 30-50kph speed limits when the slowest roads over there were 45mph, 72kph! Needless to say I accidentally turned on the "MyKey" safety feature and ended up being limited to 90mph/145kph.

Looks a bit tight inside, how was the space? I'm 6' 4", had no issue in the Mustang. I loved the low position with the legs stretched out.

How was the ride quality? The Mustang soaked up the bumps like nothing else I've ever felt, to be fair though their roads aren't a disgrace like Dublin. Heavy car though being a convertible and all. Had to press hard on the brakes coming to a stop from those speeds.

Put it into sport mode, woo...the feckin sound of the thing growling holding at the higher revs. My biggest complaint was that I didn't go for a cruise and just drive around for no reason.

The car I fell in love with costs the same as the Golf Highline I ordered, with a much slower engine and even less spec. Electric leather seats cost a fortune in a Golf and the passenger seat is still manual. I did however spec keyless entry with push button start because the Mustang had it and I loved it :)

Needless to say, I want to go back. The Mustang here is a joke. Besides the fact the roads here aren't suitable for a car like that it's €55,000. It's supposed to be an affordable sports car. They're only $25,000 over there. The handbrake is also on the wrong side here because they didn't change it for the EU market...
    Who'd you rent with?

Most of Alamo's stock these days is a Mustang, when I was in Orlando they had 75% Mustangs, a Camaro and a few Beetles. I was extremely surprised to get into an EcoBoost Premium rather than the expected bare bones rental V6 trim. I done a lot of research before I went away and lots of people saying they got Mustangs all over the US without any issue. If you're going peak times during the middle of Summer, maybe not but the 200 doesn't sound to be in their fleet anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭moonlighting

How did things get so bad here that we cant drive cars like this. was it always like this or just the last 20 years etc.
    I know we had some American cars as presidential / ambassador cars back in the day.

Are you taking into account that the US gallon is less than our gallon in your calculations?

What calculations? The info is displayed on the trip computer in both US and Metric!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Sixt are good for trying to push upgrades... I had a 'compact' booked in March and when i arrived they offered me an upgrade to a Camero SS for about $200. Unfortunately I was booked on a company account (policy restrictions) so couldn't upgrade.

Got a Camero SS a couple of years back with Hertz after booking a Challenger RT. Fun drive for 2 weeks.

DaveyDave wrote: »
    The car looks amazing even though I was never a fan of the Camaro. I could definitely ignore those air vents for the rest of the car. Nothing wrong with an EcoBoost Mustang though :p

I rented a Mustang in Orlando for 2 weeks at the end of April and to this day I'm still sad not to be driving it anymore. Driving in the US is something else, big open fast flowing roads. It's amazing. I had a very hard time readjusting to 30-50kph speed limits when the slowest roads over there were 45mph, 72kph! Needless to say I accidentally turned on the "MyKey" safety feature and ended up being limited to 90mph/145kph.

Looks a bit tight inside, how was the space? I'm 6' 4", had no issue in the Mustang. I loved the low position with the legs stretched out.

How was the ride quality? The Mustang soaked up the bumps like nothing else I've ever felt, to be fair though their roads aren't a disgrace like Dublin. Heavy car though being a convertible and all. Had to press hard on the brakes coming to a stop from those speeds.

Put it into sport mode, woo...the feckin sound of the thing growling holding at the higher revs. My biggest complaint was that I didn't go for a cruise and just drive around for no reason.

The car I fell in love with costs the same as the Golf Highline I ordered, with a much slower engine and even less spec. Electric leather seats cost a fortune in a Golf and the passenger seat is still manual. I did however spec keyless entry with push button start because the Mustang had it and I loved it :)

Needless to say, I want to go back. The Mustang here is a joke. Besides the fact the roads here aren't suitable for a car like that it's €55,000. It's supposed to be an affordable sports car. They're only $25,000 over there. The handbrake is also on the wrong side here because they didn't change it for the EU market...

I rented a Mustang Convertible EcoBoost in NY last year. It's a good car and the only relsitically viable choice to go for if you wanted one on our little green isle - but trust me, having also driven a 5.0 V8 Mustang (abeit the previous gen) and this Camaro SS, i can tell you the V8 versions are in a completely different league!!

As for the vents, i do like them as they signify thats its the V8 version and they are actually functional for cooling. That being said, they do look a bit tacky if the car is a different colour as the vents will always be black!

The Mustang V8 also has vents ;) .... but of course, not in Europe :rolleyes: where it also loses the cool sharkfin DRL's and Sweeping Indicators

Brakes on this were awesome, ride was a little stiffish (tbh i dont find the surfacing on some of their freeways agreat) but i also had it in Sport mode, Touring mode was a lot softer.

I'm quite tall too and here's the main negative aspects of this car; outward visibility is bad! almost like looking out through a letter box :P - you do get used to it, but its not the most confidence inspiring car for reverse or parallel parking! ... funny thing is, it has a reversing camera but no sensors (like on my Audi) so i was waiting for the beeping as i got close to something when reversing.

The other "ergonomical" issue I would point out is that the door is too far back, so the seat and dashboard are really close to the pivot point of the door... this means you really have to swing it wide open to get enough space to get your leg out. It's quite a large door too, so parking in tight places is definitely a no no! :o

Roof is low too so you also need to crouch to get it if you're above 6ft. Once inside though, its pretty comfortable and the seats are great!

Another thing, the centre touchscreen although great to use is ever so slightly tilted downward which i found weird! Should be tilted towards the driver but it's probably to avoid glare with the roof down I figured.

A nice touch was the vent and temp control, you twist the chunky silver bezel around the centre vents to control this which I though was nicer than having a normal switch/button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I had a Northern Irish customer with me at work the other day. He had a 2015 5.0 Mustang out front.

Got it for £35,000 on a dealer pre-reg with some serious haggling, had 700 miles on the clock. Tax is £500 a year.

Same car in the south with a haggle would be at least €65,000 and €2350 a year to tax.

mloc123 wrote: »
    Sixt are good for trying to push upgrades... I had a 'compact' booked in March and when i arrived they offered me an upgrade to a Camero SS for about $200. Unfortunately I was booked on a company account (policy restrictions) so couldn't upgrade.

Got a Camero SS a couple of years back with Hertz after booking a Challenger RT. Fun drive for 2 weeks.

They tried to push a Corvette on me for an extra $100 a day as an "upgrade" ... even though the Corvette and the SS share the same engine!

That reminds me... I rented a Corvette (C6) for 2 days in Vegas. Corvette not the most comfortable drive... interior wasn't up to much and the transmission tunnel got very hot.. but a lot of fun to drive through the desert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

What calculations? The info is displayed on the trip computer in both US and Metric!

You were getting 22.59 MPG Imperial(Irish:)).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

hi5 wrote: »
    You were getting 22.59 MPG Imperial(Irish:)).

Pretty impressive really. That's not much thirstier than your average 2 litre + petrol. I regularly see sub 25 if I'm not spending much time on open road.

Yeah I was surprised myself at how efficient it was relative to it's engine size and power output - and trust me when I say, that I was in no way taking it handy :D

That being said, a lot of the miles covered were on the open road.

For what its worth, the trip computer also records your "best economy" over a 50 miles stretch and it showed me 37.1 mpg (so 44 uk mpg)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I've booked a Ford fusion (mondeo) for October in NYC. Any tips on how to get an upgrade? Ive heard you can book a car but have no idea what you'll get until you arrive, anybody know which company that is?

Ask. Americans are less shy than us Irish.. when you arrive before they start any paper work just ask "are there any upgrades available?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

You'd be quite surprised at insurance. I was upgrading from a 5.0 V8 to a 6.0 V12 and it made no difference to my insurance. I pay €1333 for fully comp

I had a Northern Irish customer with me at work the other day. He had a 2015 5.0 Mustang out front.

Got it for £35,000 on a dealer pre-reg with some serious haggling, had 700 miles on the clock. Tax is £500 a year.

Same car in the south with a haggle would be at least €65,000 and €2350 a year to tax.

Something similar the other day but the guy had a Niassan GTR :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭marathonic

And the same car registered post April-2017 in Northern Ireland will be £140 a year tax as opposed to £535.

It's so annoying that we don't get a fair cut of the motoring pie in this country.

The fact that we even have a €2,350 tax band is an absolute disgrace

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

managed to blag a dodge challenger r/t for our roadtrip last year - absolutely made the holiday. Have pics somewhere

*note, not blag from the rental company (they got their pound of flesh), but get it past the war department..

Wossack wrote: »
    managed to blag a dodge challenger r/t for our roadtrip last year - absolutely made the holiday. Have pics somewhere

*note, not blag from the rental company (they got their pound of flesh), but get it past the war department..

The Challenger is a bit too retro for my liking.

The Hemi is also a bit underpowered compared to the Camaro/Mustang but it sure makes a nice sound!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

The Challenger is a bit too retro for my liking.

The Hemi is also a bit underpowered compared to the Camaro/Mustang but it sure makes a nice sound!

That depends on which Challanger Hemi you go for.

R/T...376 BHP
    SRT...425 BHP
    Hell Cat...707 BHP
    Demon...830 BHP.

hi5 wrote: »
    That depends on which Challanger Hemi you go for.

R/T...376 BHP
    SRT...425 BHP
    Hell Cat...707 BHP
    Demon...830 BHP.

Demon is just nuts for a production car :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Tommyboy40 wrote: »
    You'd be quite surprised at insurance. I was upgrading from a 5.0 V8 to a 6.0 V12 and it made no difference to my insurance. I pay €1333 for fully comp

Luck of the draw with insurance companies here - I can guarantee you there'll be people with like 5 years NCB paying that kind of money for a 2.5L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Luck of the draw with insurance companies here - I can guarantee you there'll be people with like 5 years NCB paying that kind of money for a 2.5L.

I suppose I am almost 50!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭NyOmnishambles

Which is what I have booked for my upcoming holiday :pac:

Fair play OP, beautiful looking thing
    I couldn't justify the extra cost for anything fancy for the small amount of driving I will be doing on this trip

But i am planning a road trip on the West coast in the next couple of years and will aim for the Camaro or Dodge challenger type on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭kyote00

Tesla guy had to take the bus home though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

It's so annoying that we don't get a fair cut of the motoring pie in this country.

The fact that we even have a €2,350 tax band is an absolute disgrace

:mad:

if you want to get in even most of a twist walk into a premium dealer and look as the base price and the vrt and excise prices.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Jude13

Lovely looking car, you're a lucky man.

One of the lads in the office, a yank, has a challenger srt and takes pleasure in telling our boss that it is a better car as it has more hp that his maserati. That is the sole criteria he uses to measure cars against each other.

Which is what I have booked for my upcoming holiday :pac:

Fair play OP, beautiful looking thing
    I couldn't justify the extra cost for anything fancy for the small amount of driving I will be doing on this trip

But i am planning a road trip on the West coast in the next couple of years and will aim for the Camaro or Dodge challenger type on that

The 200 isn't the problem, if that's what you've paid for and that's what you're expecting.

Reserving a Mustang and Camaro (*or similar) and being shafted with a 200 on the basis of it being similar is the issue :)

Enjoy the Holiday!

Jude13 wrote: »
    Lovely looking car, you're a lucky man.

One of the lads in the office, a yank, has a challenger srt and takes pleasure in telling our boss that it is a better car as it has more hp that his maserati. That is the sole criteria he uses to measure cars against each other.

The new Maseratti Ghibli seemed to be a relatively popular car over there. Saw quite a few of them as well as the older GT, amazing sounding cars.
    Blazer wrote: »
    if you want to get in even most of a twist walk into a premium dealer and look as the base price and the vrt and excise prices.:mad:

Im bitter enough as it is, thanks :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭NyOmnishambles

The 200 isn't the problem, if that's what you've paid for and that's what you're expecting.

Reserving a Mustang and Camaro (*or similar) and being shafted with a 200 on the basis of it being similar is the issue :)

Enjoy the Holiday!

The hate makes sense so, I would be fuming in that scenario

Thanks, first trip away in 3 years. Looking forward to it

The hate makes sense so, I would be fuming in that scenario

Thanks, first trip away in 3 years. Looking forward to it

Cant't remember which company it was, but when I was making my reservation one company had a VW Beetle and Mini Cooper listed under the same category as being "similar" to the Mustang.

Imagine wanting to rent a Mustang and ending up in a Bettle or Mini :D