Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is your car remapped / chipped?

• 16-08-2017 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭

As there is a heated debate about wheter or not amf78 should remap or not.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057774685

How about a poll

Have you Remapped/ Chipped your car 87 votes

Yes. I've Remapped / Chipped
    0% 0 votes
    NO.. Bog standard for me
    28% 25 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    71% 62 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

So.. which insurance company do you work for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

shietpilot wrote: »
    So.. which insurance company do you work for?

I set the poll up so that it doesn't show what boardsie voted what way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

No benefit for me really. NA BMW petrol, remapping doesn't get you much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Can you get it remapped with indicators ? :D

tossy wrote: »
    Can you get it remapped with indicators ? biggrin.png

Again.. they'd be of no benefit to us BMW drivers, pointless modification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I don't know. Bought a second hand car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,634 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

No. Can't remap an electric car. Well you probably can, but I haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

ELM327 wrote: »
    No. Can't remap an electric car. Well you probably can, but I haven't.

i presume you have a nissan, they seem to be the most popular EV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

I wanted to get my e31 remapped, but couldn't find anyone who could do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

No but I've thought about it. Unsure how much my insurance would go up by though.

A garda friend of mine says they are introducing roadside remap testing soon .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

They havent even got working anpr for all the discs yet :pac: zero chance of this ever happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Another money making racket! They'll be checking stereos next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

mikeecho wrote: »
    As there is a heated debate about wheter or not amf78 should remap or not.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057774685

How about a poll

No Garda

< <

> >

april-fools-day-is-a-bull****-holiday
    they cant even check at the roadside how many penalty points you have, or if you are insured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Are we stuck in some sort of bull**** chipping black hole paradox?
    That's the second time utter nonsense of the guards checking the maps has come up.

Answering the op. I don't but have seriously contemplated having the dpf and egr deleted and then properly remapping it but the costs are astronomical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Currently no in the past yes and will have in the future. At the moment I've 170k miles on the original clutch and turbo and kinda want to see how far they go.

bear1 wrote: »
    That's the second time utter nonsense of the guards checking the maps has come up.

Answering the op. I don't but have seriously contemplated having the dpf and egr deleted and then properly remapping it but the costs are astronomical.

Well you heard it here first.
    He said that they have a rolling road installed in Templemore and some lads have been training in the UK.

Mine is mapped and I'm bringing it in to get flashed back to stock

He said that they have a rolling road installed in Templemore and some lads have been training in the UK.

But as I said in the other reason, I just cannot see this happening.
    Allowing a non authorised person to access my ECU and then fiddle around for details that might not be there and to then call my insurance company to see if i've declared it?
    So the checkpoint lasts what 1 hour?
    Nothing online about this either neither in the UK nor Irl.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,207 ✭✭✭✭beertons

It was on the car when I got it. And it wasn't said to me when buying it. So I play dumb.

beertons wrote: »
    It was on the car when I got it. And it wasn't said to me when buying it. So I play dumb.

If I remember, there was something I read years ago that mentioned that the onus is on the owner to know what has been done to the car.
    Idiotic in every sense.
    At this stage, the threads should be merged as it's going the same way as the other.

This is brilliant lads. The gards will be providing free dyno runs at checkpoints! Sign me up. I might turn around and come back for a few more runs to get an average power reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Micky 32

But if remapping isn't against the law or illegal in itself it's nothing to do with the Gardai so this doesn't make sense. Unless they are bringing in legislation for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

No standard 150bhp 320d. Have a very good place local to me which is run by a Beemer head who told me I could expect 180-190 on a remap for a reasonable enough price. Tbh, I'm no speed freak and I've never felt I needed more power so I've been leaving well enough alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Cannon_fodder

Done 2.5 yrs ago and highly recommend it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

Another pie in the sky. Noreen her name by any chance ?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭LawlessBoy

Ive had my past car remapped from 105bhp to 170bhp my current (mkv gti dsg) will be getting a remap in the near future along with a dsg remap. Its more the added torque that i think its worthwhile for rather then the bhp figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

wonski wrote: »
    I don't know. Bought a second hand car :)

me too ;)

LawlessBoy wrote: »
    Ive had my past car remapped from 105bhp to 170bhp my current (mkv gti dsg) will be getting a remap in the near future along with a dsg remap. Its more the added torque that i think its worthwhile for rather then the bhp figures

A mk5 gti is 199bhp stock

I think you missed the "past car" and "current car" bits :)

I know id be hoping for 240/50 from a remap and the added torque

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Vowel Movement

I have a DTUK green box in my vectra, 120 bhp stock but now is quicker than the 150 hp version. It does smoke a fair bit under hard acceleration. The egr has also been blocked off

LawlessBoy wrote: »
    I know id be hoping for 240/50 from a remap and the added torque

I dont think you'll get that from a remap alone.
    If you do I'll be next in line for the same map :D

Pre-cat removal and a remap will see 240-255 on a Mk5 GTI :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Not remapped as it seems age is against the car... Might as well break out the spanners and vice grips for extra poke :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 READYBREK

Had to get the DPF removed and remapped and EGR deleted. New/Clean DPF and new EGR worked out alot more expensive than remove/delete/remap.

They may have chipped it up a bit also...:D

You would be surprised how well they take to a remap. Decat and a downpipe and a panel filter should easily see 240bhp