Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fergal Horgan shortlisted to ref all ireland hurling final

• 16-08-2017 12:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭

I read that horgan has been shortlisted along with Lyons from Cork. Being a ref is a near impossible job nowadays but if their is one man unfit to do that job it is Fergal Horgan. What on earth are the GAA at? He has to be the worst ref i have ever seen. At the wexford/waterford game down in cork both sets of fans wanted his blood. I dont think i have ever seen such a poor performance from a ref (have been to hundreds of games) and here he is potentialy being rewarded with the biggest game of the year. He will ruin the game if he gets it in order that he becomes the centre of attention. The man just loves blowing his whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭kala85

Not too many good ones to choose from, this year.

It will be some physical game if horgan does get it. He lets a lot go and he is well able to produce the cards. He has bottle. I think he might not be bad.

Could be a tough free flowing game which would be great to watch.
    Colm Lyons wouldn't be great either but has improved a good bit this year.
    Both of the above have refereed minor all irelands all ready.

What about cathal McAllister ?? Or maybe kirwin or sean cleere?

I think myself Barry Kelly is the best referee. He is fair and applies the rules. He is well able for an all ireland. He did a near perfect job in the Kilkenny galway all ireland one year, was it 2015 or 2012 drawn match. Sometimes when a referee has a decent game,it can go unnoticed.

I think that alan kelly from Galway is also a decent referee but doesn't seem to be in favour for big games.

Johnny ryan could get it yet or James McGrath.

I think James McGrath could be in with a.chance although it is normally one of the referees from the quarter finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

Horgan is a shambles.
    He made a complete balls of the Waterford under 21 the week before awarding a match winning penalty when it should have been a free out,

The other ref shortlisted is a cork man , forget his name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 RebelRebel2

carq wrote: »
    Horgan is a shambles.
    He made a complete balls of the Waterford under 21 the week before awarding a match winning penalty when it should have been a free out,

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Faiche Ro

Horgan is a shambles.

incorrect - at worst it would have been called back for the first foul.
    Cork woudl still have had a chance to score a goal.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Horgan is a shambles.

Ah now don't blame the referee for that. It was a clear penalty. Waterford threw that game away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭deise man

Faiche Ro wrote: »
    incorrect - at worst it would have been called back for the first foul.
    Cork woudl still have had a chance to score a goal.

Didn't the cork player catch the ball three times on the way towards goal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Faiche Ro

deise man wrote: »
    Didn't the cork player catch the ball three times on the way towards goal?

Yes but whe advantage was being played for the first foul.

I've played in games that Horgan has reffed and I've always found him excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭C__MC

kala85 wrote: »

It will be some physical game if horgan does get it. He lets a lot go and he is well able to produce the cards. He has bottle. I think he might not be bad.

I think myself Barry Kelly is the best referee. He is fair and applies the rules. He is well able for an all ireland. He did a near perfect job in the Kilkenny galway all ireland one year, was it 2015 or 2012 drawn match. Sometimes when a referee has a decent game,it can go unnoticed.

I think that alan kelly from Galway is also a decent referee but doesn't seem to be in favour for big games.

I think James McGrath could be in with a.chance although it is normally one of the referees from the quarter finals.

Barry Kelly who has a thing against Kilkenny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

C__MC wrote:

Because Tommy Walsh says so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

C__MC wrote: »

how many games have KK lost with him in charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

Faiche Ro wrote: »
    Yes but whe advantage was being played for the first foul.

I've played in games that Horgan has reffed and I've always found him excellent.

So it would have been a free rather than a penalty correct ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭C__MC

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Just to clarify

Sends off Henry wrongly in 2014
    Gives a 50-50 call to Tipp which nearly wins them an AL
    Davy Glennon dives in 2012 final to win a free in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Is he from Cork (Horgan)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

The man just loves blowing his whistle.

lol I dont rate his as a ref at all but ffs the one thing he doesn't do is blow his whistle enough, he always try's to let the game flow too much, it's fine when you have two teams that are playing a certian way but some games need a strong referee, he is not one of those but to accuse of him of being whistle happy is so far off the mark its funny.
    road_high wrote: »
    Is he from Cork (Horgan)?

He is a Tipp man, he played in goals for Tipp.

Maybe Kelly is refereeing them fair and to the rules and not pandering to cody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭gobo99

Barry Kelly is a terrible ref. Most games he refs he is the main talking point after the game. The best referees are the ones you don't notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

gobo99 wrote:
    Barry Kelly is a terrible ref. Most games he refs he is the main talking point after the game. The best referees are the ones you don't notice.

Barry Kelly is the best hurling ref in the country.

Which in itself is a very worrying and sobering thought - don't agree FWIW but many would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

there are plenty of 'let the game flow' merchants out there at county level
    I prefer a ref who implements the rules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

There was a few poor decisions across both games but I think generally there was an over reaction in Waterford to Horgans refereeing of the U21 game due to the disappointment of throwing away the game.

Minds were made up then when it came to the Wexford game. The sending off was the linesmans call, not his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

You might aswell expand this rationale to whether or not it was sunny or cloudy on those days and whether Brian Cody had a sh1te that morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

He will ruin the game if he gets it in order that he becomes the centre of attention. The man just loves blowing his whistle.

So Horgan 'loves blowing his whistle' but he also 'lets a log go'.
    Ah lads, how can ye have a complete opposite description of him? :confused: :pac:

It'll be Horgan or Lyons.

I posted the following in the main hurling championship thread before the Cork-Waterford semi-final:

There aren't too many referees in the running for the big games. The clear trend of the last few years is that the referee for the final wasn't in charge for either of the semi-finals. So that would appear to rule out Barry Kelly and James Owens for the final next month.

Alan Kelly (Galway) is from a competing county so he can't do it. Similarly, if Cork make the final, that would rule out Colm Lyons.

If Cork win, that leaves Fergal Horgan, Brian Gavin, and James McGrath as the possibilities. But both Brian Gavin and James McGrath seem to have gone completely out of favour as they have only refereed one match of significance each in the championship so far (Qualifier Rd. 1 & Munster Semi-Final respectively). The most obvious candidate would be Fergal Horgan. He has already refereed a Leinster Semi-Final, Munster Final, and an AI Quarter-Final in 2017.

If Cork lose, then it could be Horgan or Colm Lyons. Lyons has already refereed the Leinster Final and an AI Quarter-Final in 2017.

Here is a list of who has refereed the AI semi-finals and finals over the last few years.

Year | Final | Semi-Final (Leinster Winner) | Semi-Final (Munster Winner)
    2017 | | B Kelly | J Owens
    2016 | B Gavin | J Owens / J McGrath (Replay) | B Kelly
    2015 | J Owens | B Gavin | B Kelly
    2014 | B Kelly / B Gavin (Replay) | J McGrath | J Owens
    2013 | B Gavin / J McGrath (Replay) | J Owens | J Ryan
    2012 | B Kelly / J McGrath (Replay) | B Gavin | C McAllister
    2011 | B Gavin | B Kelly | C McAllister
    2010 | M Wadding | B Gavin | J Sexton

It'll be Horgan or Lyons.

I posted the following in the main hurling championship thread before the Cork-Waterford semi-final:

There aren't too many referees in the running for the big games. The clear trend of the last few years is that the referee for the final wasn't in charge for either of the semi-finals. So that would appear to rule out Barry Kelly and James Owens for the final next month.

Alan Kelly (Galway) is from a competing county so he can't do it. Similarly, if Cork make the final, that would rule out Colm Lyons.

If Cork win, that leaves Fergal Horgan, Brian Gavin, and James McGrath as the possibilities. But both Brian Gavin and James McGrath seem to have gone completely out of favour as they have only refereed one match of significance each in the championship so far (Qualifier Rd. 1 & Munster Semi-Final respectively). The most obvious candidate would be Fergal Horgan. He has already refereed a Leinster Semi-Final, Munster Final, and an AI Quarter-Final in 2017.

If Cork lose, then it could be Horgan or Colm Lyons. Lyons has already refereed the Leinster Final and an AI Quarter-Final in 2017.

Here is a list of who has refereed the AI semi-finals and finals over the last few years.

Year | Final | Semi-Final (Leinster Winner) | Semi-Final (Munster Winner)
    2017 | | B Kelly | J Owens
    2016 | B Gavin | J Owens / J McGrath (Replay) | B Kelly
    2015 | J Owens | B Gavin | B Kelly
    2014 | B Kelly / B Gavin (Replay) | J McGrath | J Owens
    2013 | B Gavin / J McGrath (Replay) | J Owens | J Ryan
    2012 | B Kelly / J McGrath (Replay) | B Gavin | C McAllister
    2011 | B Gavin | B Kelly | C McAllister
    2010 | M Wadding | B Gavin | J Sexton

You need to go back to quarter finals and provincial finals to see a trend. It would be interesting to see if there is trend in who referees the Leinster final and Munster final gets the all ireland.

As far as I remember the refs who got the finals were ones who had previously refereed the quarter final.

Regarding horgan, I remember him refereeing galway vs limerick or Waterford minor match a few years ago and he let a good bit go I remember.

You need to go back to quarter finals and provincial finals to see a trend. It would be interesting to see if there is trend in who referees the Leinster final and Munster final gets the all ireland.

As far as I remember the refs who got the finals were ones who had previously refereed the quarter final.

Regarding horgan, I remember him refereeing galway vs limerick or Waterford minor match a few years ago and he let a good bit go I remember.

With regards to the provincial finals, the trend in the last few years has been that either the referee from the Leinster or Munster final will be in charge for the AI Final. There is a slight bias towards the Munster final ref getting the nod.

The AI Final ref always referees a quarter-final match (from 2010 onwards anyway).

All of this strengthens the assumption that either Horgan or Lyons will be chosen for the AI Final (both took charge of a provincial final and a quarter-final).

Year | Final | Semi-Final (Leinster Winner) | Semi-Final (Munster Winner) | Leinster Final | Munster Final
    2017 | | B Kelly | J Owens | C Lyons | F Horgan
    2016 | B Gavin | J Owens / J McGrath (Replay) | B Kelly | F Horgan | B Gavin
    2015 | J Owens | B Gavin | B Kelly | J McGrath | J Owens
    2014 | B Kelly / B Gavin (Replay) | J McGrath | J Owens | B Kelly | B Gavin
    2013 | B Gavin / J McGrath (Replay) | J Owens | J Ryan | J Ryan | J McGrath
    2012 | B Kelly / J McGrath (Replay) | B Gavin | C McAllister | J McGrath | C McAllister
    2011 | B Gavin | B Kelly | C McAllister | B Kelly | B Gavin
    2010 | M Wadding | B Gavin | J Sexton | M Wadding | B Gavin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

When will this be confirmed?

If they do the same as last year, then the announcement will be made this Monday.

EDIT: Horgan has been confirmed

Fergal Horgan to be announced shortly according to Jackie Cahill on twitter.

The very best of luck to him. It is not an easy task to referee any game especially an All Ireland. I hope that he has a good game.

I think that he will let the game flow and there will be plenty of physicality in the game.
    I think he will suit Galway as I think that they a strong physical team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Fergal Horgan has been confirmed !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭jacool

Browney7 wrote: »
    You might aswell expand this rationale to whether or not it was sunny or cloudy on those days and whether Brian Cody had a sh1te that morning.

Dastardly then types "So Horgan 'loves blowing his whistle' but he also 'lets a log go'."

So tell me, did Cody have a ****e or was he pulled for it?

jacool wrote: »
    Dastardly then types "So Horgan 'loves blowing his whistle' but he also 'lets a log go'."

So tell me, did Cody have a ****e or was he pulled for it?

What ya on about?? :confused:

I read that horgan has been shortlisted along with Lyons from Cork. Being a ref is a near impossible job nowadays but if their is one man unfit to do that job it is Fergal Horgan. What on earth are the GAA at? He has to be the worst ref i have ever seen. At the wexford/waterford game down in cork both sets of fans wanted his blood. I dont think i have ever seen such a poor performance from a ref (have been to hundreds of games) and here he is potentialy being rewarded with the biggest game of the year. He will ruin the game if he gets it in order that he becomes the centre of attention. The man just loves blowing his whistle.

:D this post was funny at the time but is actually hilarious now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

danganabu wrote: »
    :D this post was funny at the time but is actually hilarious now!!

not really, he had a very subtle effect on the outcome of the game in the last 10 mins, when he started to over blow and stop the flow of the play. up to then i thought he had done a good job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Outstanding performance from him today. Pressure in a game that big must be serious, he was brilliant

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Tuned in for the last few mins, but the few times I seen him he look very out of shape and was blowing hard, he seemed to struggle with keeping up in the last 15

not really, he had a very subtle effect on the outcome of the game in the last 10 mins, when he started to over blow and stop the flow of the play. up to then i thought he had done a good job

I wasn't referring to his performance good or bad but the hilarity of the claim that he is a whistle happy referee was clearly wide of the mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

I thought he was excellent today. Part in making it a very good final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Probably the least talked about and obvious person on the pitch today,that's a very good sign that he refereed the game very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

As the poster who started this thread, I had serious concerns about horgan today and after watching his performances earlier in the summer i feared that he would ruin the match. Happy to admit I called it wrong as I thought fergal really was excellent today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

He reffed it well, and sideline and umpires were good. He had sense to see difference between malicious strokes and the normal give and take. With the consequence that there was no messing really. Very few frees and as others have said he was generally anonymous, which is good sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

As the poster who started this thread, I had serious concerns about horgan today and after watching his performances earlier in the summer i feared that he would ruin the match. Happy to admit I called it wrong as I thought fergal really was excellent today.
    Fair play to you for coming back and calling it, a lot of lads wouldn't about to being wrong on it. I definitely agree with the general consensus about him, it's not just a matter of him letting the game flow or whatever, his decision making was almost always good, he managed to keep great control over the match which is never easy when the stakes are this high, he has a tremendous eye for the difference between cynical stuff and the kind of thing that happens in the intensity of the game. I actually agree with heli that he looked a little out of shape keeping up with the game, but he demonstrates such an understanding of the nature of the sport and what was needed to keep it both under control and at a pitch of intensity, it kind of demonstrates the idea that reffing is an art, a bit like conducting an orchestra.

He isn't by any means always a great ref and he wasn't perfect today but that performance was as good as any reffing I've seen in the last ten years.

EDIT: forgive the spelling mistakes and hyperbole, I'm banjacksed with the drink.

Fair play for posting

Fair dues, we all get it wrong occasionally, refreshing to see someone admit it.