Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Certificate advice for a foreign student

Options
  • 12-08-2017 4:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14

Hello, I am an Italian student and I'm planning to take the Leaving Certificate in 2017/2018 as an external candidate. I did some research and I know how to apply and stuff but I'm still looking for a school (possibly in Dublin) and I have doubts on how do external candidates do laboratory work for science subjects (like physics), I e-mailed SEC through the contact form but they didn't give me much information. Also I was thinking to take English, Math, History, Geography, Physics, Italian and maybe Art as subjects.. Do you have any suggestions/ advices? I don't think I'll have problems learning in English but I don't really know well how does the Irish school system works. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭dorado99

If you don't mind me asking how old are you? Also, you can take more than one foreign language,so would you have a good understanding of the Spanish language for instance? If you know Spanish to some degree I recommend checking examinations.ie past paper archive to see if you're able to take an exam. That would relieve some pressure and will make it easier to focus on other subjects

• Registered Users Posts: 14 ilarien

No problem! I'm 19 and I don't speak spanish but I studied French and German so maybe I could take one of those

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

What the reason you want to take the leaving cert?are you olanning on going to college in Ireland after it