Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog bit someone

• 10-08-2017 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭

I'm just posting for a friend to try put her mind at rest;

Her brother was coming in from work, and just as he opened the front door to the house a door to door salesman came up behind him and startled him, so he didn't catch the dog on time as she ran out the door. There was a slight kerfuffle with both people grabbing at the dog and the dog bit the man on the leg apparently in the confusion.

After the dog was brought back inside, my friend's brother came back out and the salesman had called the guards to report a the incident. He showed a scratch on his leg, said he was going to get a tetanus shot etc and wouldn't press charges if they covered the hospital bill, which of course they are going to do.

Legally, what's the likely outcome of something like this? I know they can't seize the dog without a court order, but what's likely to happen if he changes his mind and sues?

Not that it matters at all, but the dog is a very small & dainty Tibetan spaniel. Not in the slightest bit aggressive, ever, so she must have been spooked pretty bad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Take him at his word and hope that's it... I can't see a grown man claiming emotional distress from it but you never know in claim culture Ireland! Possibly he reported it on the off chance you refused to pay the bill. Do they have a contact number that they could call and ask how he is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Ms Doubtfire1

all will depend on the salesmen.If he sues they will seize the dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Greendaisy

Something similar happened with my brother's terrier dog. Tetanus bill paid for and a gift of a nice bottle of brandy (to aid healing of the scratch) sorted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

Yeah I just imagine the warden coming along with his catch pole to take away a little fluffy spaniel. Was this one of those unwanted salesmen?

I would be looking for proof of any medical help received, receipts etc. These Spaniels can give a nasty bite with their soft little mouths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Knine wrote: »
    Yeah I just imagine the warden coming along with his catch pole to take away a little fluffy spaniel. Was this one of those unwanted salesmen?

I would be looking for proof of any medical help received, receipts etc. These Spaniels can give a nasty bite with their soft little mouths.

I prefer the description : "young person who having gone through the Irish education system, either finding it necessary or considering it a step on the ladder to better things, takes job as Sales Representative for greedy Corporation, for minimum wage or commission only". Hardly warrants anyone's opprobrium. Or being bitten.

A bite is a bite, its right and sensible in my opinion to get it treated.

I prefer the description : "young person who having gone through the Irish education system, either finding it necessary or considering it a step on the ladder to better things, takes job as Sales Representative for greedy Corporation, for minimum wage or commission only". Hardly warrants anyone's opprobrium. Or being bitten.

A bite is a bite, its right and sensible in my opinion to get it treated.

Yeah unwanted is still unwanted and to be honest I feel like muzzling some of them myself.

I think the OP mentioned it being a scratch. This is a Tibetan Spaniel we are talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Knine wrote: »
    Yeah unwanted is still unwanted and to be honest I feel like muzzling some of them myself.

I think the OP mentioned it being a scratch. This is a Tibetan Spaniel we are talking about.

Ah, Knine, you're too harsh. They're only trying to earn a crust, have a heart :).

As for the bite, I was bitten by our own pet and still went to the doctor who gave me a tetanus shot. As a precaution. One way or the other he would have gotten €55 out of me, but he still gave me the injection (I hadn't asked for it). I'm loathe to reveal this, but it was a rabbit. We didn't send for the rabbit warden...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I got bitten by a neighbours rabbit too! I was minding it for them, the thing hated me and attacked me every time I fed, watered or cleaned his hutch out!

Rabbit warden!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Ah, Knine, you're too harsh. They're only trying to earn a crust, have a heart :).

Some of us are trying to earn our own crust and get interrupted with them banging the door down. Followed closely in the irritation scales by pet shop chuggers - they're like polictians kissing babies when they try to lure you to the direct debit forms by petting your dogs :mad:

Any update from your friend OP? Did the hear back from him/check he's ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Flibble

Thanks for the replies guys, it was just such a kerfuffle from the man that my friend was terrified expecting the guards to come sieze her dog. The guard she ended up talking to was very anti-small dog and was generalising about 'all small dogs being vicious' so she was in a panic.

They phoned the salesman today, he had intended on going to A&E yesterday but said he didn't want to wait for hours, so I think he's going to go to his local doctor tomorrow, and he'll send them the bill over the next couple of days.

I just can't get over his reaction, it was literally a scratch, no blood like.

And yes, a completely unwanted door to door sales-person... With no cop on, ambushing someone just coming home from work. Trademark inconsideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

There was an awful lot happening in that few seconds for the poor dog. The owner was coming in so that was excitement, the dog took to run which obviously made the owner and in turn the salesman nervous and then the poor dog had two people grabbing at it and one of those was a completely unknown person who was not invited onto the property.
    If he didn't feel the urgency to attend a+e then I should hope that once the bill has been paid it will go no further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Flibble

Bells21 wrote: »
    There was an awful lot happening in that few seconds for the poor dog. The owner was coming in so that was excitement, the dog took to run which obviously made the owner and in turn the salesman nervous and then the poor dog had two people grabbing at it and one of those was a completely unknown person who was not invited onto the property.
    If he didn't feel the urgency to attend a+e then I should hope that once the bill has been paid it will go no further.

I know :(

And I believe the man gave her a little kick after she bit him, so she's been a bit off. She's a very sensitive pooch, and spent a few hours hiding under the kitchen table while everything was going on. Poor lil thing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Bells21 wrote: »

in fairness it doesn't sound like he needed an a+e trip, gp is the right place for him to go.

Make sure your friend gets a copy of the bill before any money is paid out in case they are paying for any other Doctor Visits. If he needed a tetanus he sure is taking his time.

Turning up at my door unannounced and kicking my dog. I know what I would be telling him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

This thread has inspired me to buy a 'no salespeople' door sign to do under the 'no junk mail' sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭noble00

A bite is a bite it is the person that owns the dog responsibly if the dog does bite , even if it was just a scratch do you realise Bacteria that can get in from a scratch seriously and that dainty little dog bred is known for being cross and can take a nice little bite . Don't blame it on the sales guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

noble00 wrote: »
    A bite is a bite it is the person that owns the dog responsibly if the dog does bite , even if it was just a scratch do you realise Bacteria that can get in from a scratch seriously and that dainty little dog bred is known for being cross and can take a nice little bite . Don't blame it on the sales guy

If a stranger came into my garden and startled me from behind as I was trying to open my door, he'd want to be worried about far more than a dog bite :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

This was covered on the pat Kenny show earlier this week or late last week. Believe it or not a dog can bite someone on your property & it's ok. It's only an issue if it's not on your property. You must have your dog under control while out in public. In your own home a dog is allowed to be a dog & defend himself & it's home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    If a stranger came into my garden and startled me from behind as I was trying to open my door, he'd want to be worried about far more than a dog bite :mad:

Well, human bites can be even nastier! :D

If nothing has happened -yet-, it probably won't. Paying the doctor's bill and maybe a bottle of brandy should hopefully sort it out. He likely got a bit of a fright himself, and was still high on adrenaline and shock too. Sounds like it was all a bit fraught for a few minutes.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    This was covered on the pat Kenny show earlier this week or late last week. Believe it or not a dog can bite someone on your property & it's ok. It's only an issue if it's not on your property. You must have your dog under control while out in public. In your own home a dog is allowed to be a dog & defend himself & it's home.

That's not quite true, and is a common misconception, possibly due to the Control of Dogs Act not being read in its entirety. People tend to concentrate too much on the parts of the Act and subsequent regulations that cover owner responsibilities whilst their dog is in a public place.
    Section 22 of the 1986 Act, which covers "Dangerous Dogs", specifically states that any damage caused by a dog to any person can be adjudged to be a Dangerous Dog... It does not mention anything about the injury having to occur in a public place. Neither, as it happens, does it mention any specific breed of dog. Dogs adjudged to be "Dangerous Dogs", and their owners, under this Section are subject to a stated set of actions to be handed down by the judge.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1986/act/32/section/22/enacted/en/html#sec22