Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society - Kilkenny 26th Aug 11.00

• 10-08-2017 9:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭

Hope everyone's been enjoying the lovely summer we've been having and getting plenty of golf in. We have just over two weeks to go until our penultimate event of the regular season which sees us venture into the land of the Cats. Normally the locals are busy preparing for All-Ireland hurling semi-finals or finals at this time of the year but unusually they don't have to worry about that this time! :D

This is the first time the Boards Golf Society has visited Kilkenny golf club, which is a par 71 measuring 5,718m off the forward tees and 5,908m off the back tees. It's not a course I've got to play before so if anyone has any tips, a course guide etc. feel free to post it up. The club website has some pictures and tips on how to play the course at: http://www.kilkennygolfclub.com/the-course.html

Our first tee off time is at 11am. The cost will be €35 for members, €40 for visitors. I've issued the teamer invite so please respond stating your availability and also let me know here if you require an early or late tee time and I'll do my best to facilitate.

Given that there are only 2 competitions left to count towards crowning the Golfer of the Year/Ryder Jug selection hopefully we will get a good showing. Every point is likely to be crucial in deciding the winner of Golfer of the Year and the team for the Jug. The lucky 12 who qualify for the Ryder Jug team will be venturing back to Kilkenny in October to play in Mount Juliet against the dastardly REPS. :P

Rumour has it that one or two of our members are in good form at present (here's looking at you Macker :D) so I expect a good score will be required to win this one.

Let me know of any questions or comments or if I've missed anything and looking forward to seeing those of you who can make it down in Kilkenny.

Yours in golf,

ballyk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

looking forward to it, early tee for me please gaffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Getting no joy with the timing of the events this year. Am away on me holliers and won't be back in time for this, sorry Captain.

Another course I hadn't played, so was looking forward to the chance

Definitely locked in for Captains though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

I'm booked in - unfortunately I'm missing the chance to win €25k at St Margarets for the privilege - unlucky timing

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Early tee time for me captain please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

I should be good for this. Early time pls captain.

I'm booked in - unfortunately I'm missing the chance to win €25k at St Margarets for the privilege - unlucky timing

25k...... what the hell is that all about?

Seve OB wrote: »
    25k...... what the hell is that all about?

Celebrating our 25th anniversary - weekend just gone they set up a par three hole on the driving range and everyone playing got a numbered ball - top 25 qualified for hole in one shoot out for €25k

Realistically what are the odds of 1 of 25 scoring a hole in one?? Million to 1??

Lads, anyone coming to this event and who plans to stay over at captains day, please bring hotel deposits.

we have 10 beds booked at €65 per head in Hotel Killarney, but if we don't get deposits paid up we can't guarantee your room.

Seve OB wrote: »
    Lads, anyone coming to this event and who plans to stay over at captains day, please bring hotel deposits.

we have 10 beds booked at €65 per head in Hotel Killarney, but if we don't get deposits paid up we can't guarantee your room.

How much is the deposit Seve?

€65 ;)

ah no, 20 or 30 I suppose, whatever is good with you. I just don't want to get stung with the bill, so will only hold rooms for whoever pays up a deposit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭The Aul Switcharoo

I am in a society out at 10am so just before ye! I sometimes keep an eye on this thread but never got the chance to meet many of ye. I played years ago in a matchplay thing on here.

Most of the society I'm in are very infrequent players so be warned about some slow play. They do pick it up a lot as most just go for the session we have after. If any of ye are around about 9ish for some breakfast give me a pm

Lads, never played the course before-anyone got a course guide or any insights etc?

Looking at the card it looks tough enough, long par 3s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭thelostboys23

Long time follower of the thread and can give a course guide, hope it helps all for the week ahead and the practice. Its a lovely course and I thouroughly enjoy playing it

Kilkenny isnt an overly long course and there are no water hazards and the biggest defence the course has is the greens which are exceptional all year around and the many greenside bunkers.

Ye will probably be playing off the greens bit id suggest the whites as they are not actually that much longer really. Distances are in metres and ive put white and green.

Flags are coloured and red is back, blus is middle and yellow is front. Markings on fairways are metres to the front of greens.

Hole 1
    Par 4 index 4
    White 380 Green 360
    First hole is a nice par 4 that plays down into a dip so the tee ahot is a blind shot. If you're confident with your long irons you can play to the top of the hill beside the big tree and its about 180 to the green from there. Aim to go slightly right of the big tree but too far right can leave a awful lie as theres a very steep hill down. Nice big green protected by bunker to right and back.

Hole 2
    Par 4 index 10
    White 306 Green 301
    Heading back up the hill of sorts and no need for a driver at all. Trees and oob to left of fairway. 4i or hybrid should leave a nice wedge to an elevated green protected by bunker on the right.

Hole 3
    Par 4 index 2
    White 377 Green 367
    Longish but straight par 4. Drive to the left hand side of the fairway as trees along the right hand side can cause trouble if right but far enough right and you will be on 18th fairway and have a shot in. Green is protected by bunker on the left hand side.

Hole 4
    Par 4 index 16
    White 324 Green 316
    Dog leg left par 4. Longer hitters can cut the corner and depending on wind can get close to the green. Trees and bunker right on the corner however can mean there is an element of risk in it. A nice 3wood to the corner leaves a 9i to the green which is protected on either side by bunkers and a tough green with a dip in the middle.

Hole 5
    Par 4 index 18
    White 275 Green 273
    Definitely the weakest hole on the course. On a good day a wind assisted strike will come very close to the green. There is a large valley to the left and lots of trees to the left also. If wind there I generally have a go for green and if not a 4i or hybrid. Flag position is key as there is a two tiered green and if pin is back right it brings a large tree into play if you push the drive right. Green is protected by bunkers to right and left.

Hole 6
    Par 3 index 14
    White 164 Green 138
    First and shortest par 3 on the course. Green is protected by bunkers to the front, left and right. Sometikes can feel like no wind so again flag position is key as it can be 170 to the back from the whites.

Hole 7
    Par 4 index 6
    White 360 Green 354
    Slight dog left to the left par 4 with oob danger to the right. Large tree on left which can severly punish a drive thats left. Large sloping green protected by 2 bunkers to the right and left and also a fairway bunker that big hitters may threaten if the wind is up.

Hole 8
    Par 4 index 8
    White 362 Green 352
    Straight par 4 back down from the 7th green. Trees to the left and right but there is quite an opening if you push too far right where a bit of luck is needed to avoid trouble. Small ridge on fairway from drive should leave a 9i in to a green protected by bunkers on right and left.

Hole 9
    Par 5 index 12
    White 452 Green 446
    First par 5 and is a 90 degree dog leg. Some say that it is 2 shots to the top of the hill every day and play a 3w off the tee all the time. If downwind take out the driver and aim for right hand side of dairway where you can take on the trees and turn and go for the green in two. Fairway bunker on rhs that is in play on most days and trees on either side of fairway. Bunkers protect either side of green so going for it in two is risky. Generall I use driver as even if left of fairway can play to top of hill with second.

Hole 10
    Par 3 index 9
    White 194 Green 183
    Longest par 3 and there is a huge 100 yard bunker that punished any shanks. Trees to the right for any push and there are a couple of hollows on either side of green as well as a bunkers to the front right and left. As with most holes pin is key as the back can be 230 yards.

Hole 11
    Par 4 index 1
    White 394 Green 390
    Index 1 par 4 and totally agree with it. Tree lined fairway on both sides along with oob to the right. Aim for the righy hand side of fairway as is an ever so slight dog leg to the left and a good drive will leave a nice mid iron onto the green. Bunkers to the left and right and beware of over clubbing as oob to rear of green.

Hole 12
    Par 5 index 13
    White 457 Green 446
    Par 5 that has a recently constructed tee that hugely enhances the hole. If off whites it takes cutting the corner out and also brings oob right more into play. Trees to the left present trouble but a solid drive can allow bigger hitters to go for green in two. Oob on right entire way up and couple of fairway bunkers in play if laying up second shot and green protectrd to right and left by bunkers.

Hole 13
    Par 4 index 5
    White 389 Green 361
    Long par 4 playing downwind into lower green. Aim for left of fairway as large tree to right of fairway can block second shot in of drive is pushed right. Prob my favourite green and is toughest green on course I think. Bunker to left of green and valley to right that can leave awkward lie if too far right of green.

Hole 14
    Par 5 index 17
    White 452 Green 443
    Straight par 5 and very reachable in two. Two fairway bunkers in play for drive on either side of fairway and prob the hole for longest drive. Tree lined to the left but a good chance to score on this hole. Green protected by bunker to right and left.

Hole 15
    Par 3 index 7
    White 181 Green 174
    Third par 3 and another long one. Tough green with a ridge on middle that can be awful if pin is on left hand side. Bunker to left and right and beware of bunker at front, it may look way short but often can drop one into it.

Hole 16
    Par 4 index 3
    White 379 Green 365
    Tough par 4 with oob to the right and trees and trouble to the left. Be careful of tee box, i feel that it faces slightly right and I tend to hit oob far too often -well thats what i tell myself anyway . A good drive will leave an 8i in to a very narrow green protected by a bunker on front and trees behind.

Hole 17
    Par 3 index 11
    White 165 Green 154
    Deceptive par 3. When standing on the tee it will look like a wedge will do but its still a good 180 yards. There is a big valley and the wind if any again will affect club selection. Long sloping green with bunkers left and right.

Hole 18
    Par 4 index 15
    White 312 Green 301
    Last hole is a short par 4 back up alongside the club house. Personally I play a 3w here as will leave a wedge in but bit hitters can go for the green. The fairway narrows in the landing area where a tree on left and bunker on right come into play. Be careful of too far right as oob at putting practice green area. Greenside bunkers to right, front left and back. Green is narrow to left and as with most hole pin position is key.

Hope this gives a flavour to what to expect and hope ye enjoy the visit to the club. The food is excellent and has the usual burgers, fish, steak, specials etc and all reasonably priced.

I would suggest nearest the pin to be 6 or 17 and long drive to be 14 or 16. Probably 14 is best though. Happy golfing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Thanks for the course guides fellas.

I'll be putting up the timesheet this evening or tomorrow so if anyone else wants to play let me know. There's still a few spots available.

ballyk wrote: »
    Thanks for the course guides fellas.

I'll be putting up the timesheet this evening or tomorrow so if anyone else wants to play let me know. There's still a few spots available.

As early as possible for me please captain

Hi all

Here's the provisional timesheet for Saturday. If anyone else wants to be added or the time doesn't suit let me know.

See you all on Saturday. Also, please remember to bring deposits if you are planning on staying over in Killarney, thanks!

Time: | Player 1 | Player 2 | Player 3
    11:00: | SeveOB | charlieIRL | RoadRunner
    11:10: |BigChap1759 | Macker1 | tigerwood1
    11:20: |benny79 | doublecross| a post punk
    11:30: |jarrieta | Brian Rossiter | Spudmonkey
    11:40: |ballyk | ThecHamp26 |

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Alanm

Hey Captain, I've managed to get permission for Sat. a later tee time will suit. Accepted there on teamer too. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Break80

Hi all

Here's the provisional timesheet for Saturday. If anyone else wants to be added or the time doesn't suit let me know.

See you all on Saturday. Also, please remember to bring deposits if you are planning on staying over in Killarney, thanks!

Time: | Player 1 | Player 2 | Player 3
    11:40: |ballyk | ThecHamp26 |
    I am almost sure I accepted on Teamer a while back.
    Please add me to the timesheet. I am raring to go
    Thanks.

Time: | Player 1 | Player 2 | Player 3 | Player 4
    11:40: |ballyk | ThecHamp26 | Break80 | Alanm

Weather looking ok for the weekend thankfully. Fingers crossed it stays that way.

Is it a hilly course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭thelostboys23

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Weather looking ok for the weekend thankfully. Fingers crossed it stays that way.

Is it a hilly course?

Not really hilly course at all. Bit of a slog up the second but other that that no severe hills.

Cheers, tweaked my knee again last week and it can't take muck of a hammering again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭a post punk

I didn't make the playoffs for our captains prize anyway so I'll see ye tomorrow lads :(

Results from today:
    1st place charlieIRL 44 points
    2nd place SeveOB 38 points (countback)
    3rd place Roadrunner 38 points
    Longest Drive: a post punk
    Nearest the Pin: Alanm

Another second spot for me again today and it was hard fought for. The two lads were flying on the front 9, I think Charlie had 23 and Roadrunner had 22. I was just about holding my own and had a mere 15 points which included an 8 on the index 18. A few wayward shots but luckily didn't find to much trouble and most of the time I could recover. I think I only had 2 pars though on the front which was not to good when you are playing off 11! 11, I have to get used to saying that :D

Realistically I was hoping to sneak a few pars on the back 9 and maybe come home in 18. A solid bogey on 10, the tee shot was just a bit heavy and a good chip saw me with a good chance to make par but the putt just didn't break, think I hit it a little to hard. A screamer down the centre of the index 1 11th was one of my better drives, but I just found the front half of the green with my approach and long putt to a back pin. It never looked like it was going anywhere else except dead centre of the hole once I hit the putt and she dropped for a tasty birdie. Just left of the green in 2 on the par5 12th but a poor chip left me a bout 15 foot for a 2 putt par. A good par followed on the 13th from the trees on the right. I rode a bit of luck with a drive that found trees on the 14th when my recovery ricocheted off a tree and went across the fairway, not a great lie, but I was able to chase it up to the front of the green in 3 but I failed to get up and down. 15 was again a bit lucky as I bit a bit of a blade but finished just over the back and I was able to chip to about 6 foot and drained the putt. My drive of the day came on the next, close enough to about 280 yards I reckon and I hit a sweet shot in at the pin, but still managed to leave myself a tricky downhill putt. If it wasn't;t going in for birdie, it was going off the green, so I made sure it was bang in the middle for birdie no 2 on the index 3 :) A pulled tee shot on 17 left me a tricky chip which I played well enough but got a bit unlucky to hit the pin and bounce away down the green so a bogey was as well as I could do. Not the best tee shot on the last as I found the rough on left, and it was sitting down and the grass just wrapped around the club as I played my approach and took the power out of it and my ball could only find the front bunker, but a well executed sandy left me little more than a tap in.

So coming home in +1 gross and a savage 23 points was a nice way to battle for 2nd place. So after +10 on the front I finished bang on my handicap strokes wise so very happy with that. I honestly thought there would be a few better scores out there today, thought it was playing a bit easy, but fair play to Charlie, he played superb, very solid all the way around, as of course was Roadrunner. He just kinda gives up a bit on the back 9 though and lets it get away from him a bit. He has a big score brewing, one to watch for Captains I'm sure.

Thanks to Captain for all the solid organising yet again, roll on Killarney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Great to see Charlie's name top of the list & great to see A Post Punks work with his pro paying off with the extra distance to pick up the long drive!!!

Sorry i missed it lads. Havent played for about 3 weeks now. Looking forward to captains

Great day out with the society again today and fantastic that all the practice I've being doing it paying off resulting in a great round today.

I had that feeling driving down today that I was going to have a good round (don't we always?!) Have had a few good rounds lately but there's always been a few scratches and three putts to make them an almost round. Last time out I had 36 points and that included 3 scratches and a few three putts. Was making sure that didn't happen today.

Started off with a fluffed drive but recovered well. Second drive was another mis hit and only made it as far as the first green 20 yards away!! Couldn't recover and scratched it. Third hole even worse, I nearly hit myself on the head with my tee shot, it went straight up in the air. I'd say if I swung again I would have hit it like a baseball!! Took a 3 wood off the tee box and creamed it down the fairway. 8 iron to green and sunk the putt!! Most unorthodox par on the index 2 but it was the catalyst that started what turned out to be a great round.

On the back 9 Seve was calling me the bogie man, was happy to keep them going and only the par on index one broke the trend.....until I got to the 18th!! Drive down the middle, iron to front of green but ball ran on and left me a dead straight uphill putt which went straight into the hole. Nice way to finish.
    Many thanks to seve and roadrunner, great crack all way round today as per usual and was a joy to watch the fantastic golf the lads played. I knew I was scoring well but didn't think I was in the same league as the lads, they were cracking drives down the fairways and top drawer approaches followed. Very impressive golf.

Thanks to ballyk for picking out the course and all his hard work, looking forward to Killarney.

I had a very up and down day on the course which wasn't surprising after being out until after 3am the night before and only getting 4 hours sleep! :eek:

I played in the last group with Alanm, Break80 and ThecHamp26. Alanm is a marvellous player with a short game to die for. Highlight of the day was on the 8th hole when he hit his drive into the right rough. The trees in front of him didn't bother him though as he went right over them, onto the green and proceeded to hole the putt for birdie! A couple of wild tee shots cost him a place amongst the main prizes but he took home nearest the pin.

ThecHamp26 had an even more up and down round than I did, he had 3 birdies on the card (7, 12 and 14) but also had 6 scratches. :eek:

Break80's usual consistency was missing, but he still had a few pars and just missed out on nearest the pin after a glorious shot to the 17th.

Anyway, I've updated the Golfer of the Year and we have a new leader in Alanm who leads on 680 points. It's very tight for 2nd with only 10 points separating Macker1 on 655 from Roadrunner in 3rd on 645. SeveOB is in 4th on 640 points but has only 4 outings played so he is right in contention to win this also. :D
    Standings can be seen here: http://www.mygolfsociety.ie/boards_golf_society.xhtml?page=society.details.4256.golfer_of_the_year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭a post punk

FairPlay to Charlie on the long overdue win and a convincing score aswell :)I was lucky enough to pick up a prize for longest drive on a tight fairway , the 2 lads with me had 60 or 70 yards on me all day off the tee and I was the only one on the fairway for that hole.:) I had an awful round at our captains prize on Friday ,worst all year.....so really enjoyed playing a nice course and playing fairly good on Saturday, hoping to get a good score in Killarney to close out a good year of golfing. Good choice of course again captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Good round. And good craic with Seve and Charlie. Liked the course. Not too tough, but still punishing on mi****s. No water, which was actually nice for a change. Greens were great. Finished with same ball which is unusual for me.

Charlie's early few tee shots were not good. A credit to him that he managed to turn it around the way he did. I'll try learn from that as I often follow bad shots with worse. Impressive putting display.

Seve is on form. If he turns up in Killarney the GOTY is his for sure! He's nailing the driver now. His iron play is a treat to watch. His bunker play was spot on. And he burned the edge of the hole a few times too on front nine.

Open with a good front nine and closed with a poor back nine which is becoming all too common. Didn't get a wink of sleep the night before. Can't actually remember much of my round tbh. Need to be a bit stronger mentally. For captains I'm going to *try* get to the first tee in both sound body and mind.

Really looking fwd to Killarney now.

Forgot to say that I was very impressed with the course. First time playing it. First hole will catch you out a bit being blind and I would play it differently now, and probably the same for the second and a few others.

It seems they have lots of room around the place with a few different practice areas. I would like to see less practice areas though and invest a bit more of the space in the course as there are few to many short holes IMO. I think all par 5's are to short, all reachable in 2 for reasonable hitters and if not there in 2, not much more than a soft wedge in. I think there might be about 4 par 4's also that are also very short.

Having said that, I can't fault the place any more than that, it is well kept, some lovely laid out holes, some tightness around, but in general I found it quite forgiving. Playing it again and again, you would certainly have to think and plan your way around it a bit more than just belting the driver off every tee.

Some fab greens with many undulations, but none of them really unfair, just tricky in parts, all rolling true at a nice pace, not to fast but not at snails pace either.

Thoroughly enjoyable though and a course I would very much enjoy returning to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

Played with post punk and doublecross myself. Loved the course having never played it before and taught it was very interesting which is weird for a golf course but in a good way. Finished with 37 pts 1 of the prizes but my best finish in the boards this year! About time too! really left a load of shots out there! Smashed my first drive down the middle only to find it kicked right of the fairway to what was like the side of a cliff!! ended up scratching the hole not a good start.. None of us could get to grips with the greens, I blame the practise green :D

Doublecrosses eagle on 14 I think, was a thing of beauty about 230yds out in the rough and dropped it in to 6/8 ft with a wood and sank it class.

Loved the longest drive hole and the fact none of the usual big hitters took it :D delighted for post punk.. His drive mighten of been far but its on the fairway, thats all that counts.. Roll on Killarney!

I dont think even a win will get me on the team for the Jug! but maybe a captain's pick ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

Given that there are only 2 competitions left to count towards crowning the Golfer of the Year/Ryder Jug selection hopefully we will get a good showing. Every point is likely to be crucial in deciding the winner of Golfer of the Year and the team for the Jug. The lucky 12 who qualify for the Ryder Jug team will be venturing back to Kilkenny in October to play in Mount Juliet against the dastardly REPS. :P

Yours in golf,

ballyk

What date in October is the Ryder Jug set for ?????

Macker1 wrote: »
    What date in October is the Ryder Jug set for ?????

Isn't it well for those who have enough points to be able to plan that far ahead! ;) It's the 21st of October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

Isn't it well for those who have enough points to be able to plan that far ahead! ;) It's the 21st of October.

The joys of working shift :rolleyes:............ Scheduled in work that weekend so we have to do a bit of negotiating with gaffer. :p