Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 best farm jobs

• 08-08-2017 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭

Following on from Whelan 5 worth job . Let's see can we be positive and state your 5 best jobs .

1. Calving a cow and watching a calf been born
    2. Fencing on a sunny day
    3. Cutting sillage ( not a machine head but I still look forward to it
    4. Don't do it anymore and not all the time but milking cows I really liked at times
    5. Topping (dirty word but great at looking at a clean paddock afterwards )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

1. Picking ragwort- nice to look back an see an area cleared
    2. Powerwashing. Great to see nice clean shed
    3. Reseeding
    4. First day letting stock out
    5. Great to see kids showing an interest in the farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

1. Silage.
    2. Calving/Lambing time.
    3. Letting Cows & Calves out to grass.
    4. Driving tractors.
    5. Seeing the finished job after a day Topping/ Hedgecutting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Getting the mart cheque/SFP
    Letting out cattle in spring
    Cleaning water troughs
    Feeding out nuts
    Like just watching stock thriving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Bullocks wrote: »
    Getting the mart cheque/SFP
    Letting out cattle in spring
    Cleaning water troughs
    Feeding out nuts
    Like just watching stock thriving

You must be the only farmer getting SFP in a cheque :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Sam Kade wrote: »
    You must be the only farmer getting SFP in a cheque :)

Or BPS or whatever it's called nowadays . You don't let much skip past Sam !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Whelan is confused I think between the best and worst jobs, anyway here's mine;

1 Ploughing.
    2 Watching a heifer calve by herself out the field and seeing the calf get up and suck unaided.
    3 Unblocking a drain, any drain;)
    4 Taking (good) cattle to the factory and watching them grade.
    5 Tying a dept vet up in knots with the farmer's charter.

I think there is an old thread on this somewhere, if I find it I'll post it and see how much it has changed.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057113964 Not exactly the same, this is most satisfying jobs on the farm.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Fixing anything
    Milking
    dehorning
    Counting the money
    Calving
    Buckraking
    Building anything
    Letting out the cows
    Pulling ragworth
    Reseeding
    Reclaiming land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Getting a gate hung that you've been dragging for the last 30 years.
    Money from eu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Weaning the calves and I can see my years effort together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

1. Having my 5 year old help out. He has a small wheelbarrow he loves to bring in fresh straw in and dirty straw out. He has a small bucket to bring treats to the cows and calves.
    2. Cow calved unaided and calf up sucking.
    3. Silage. The smell of freshly cut grass and making it.
    4. Opening a bale of silage and seeing great silage. Knowing there will be no waste in this one.
    5. Cleaning drains with mini digger. Its lovely to see water flowing away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

Less to do on the parents farm now most cattle are gone at home bar a handful.

1. Watching a cow calf herself, especially live twins. Love twins.
    2. Picking out AI straws.
    3. Doing a job like disbudding with local +/- sedation and the animal never lets a moan out of them.
    4. Tagging calves/checking their stars when they come back/recording ICBF calf quality/cow quality etc data.(I am a nerd I know).
    5. Watching my father and the cattle dealer go trough the same routine of haggling every single time with each of them playing the same tricks each time like pretending to get into the jeep/pretending going to let the cattle back into the field. Like d'Unbelievables some times.

Where as farm jobs when working as a vet:
    1. Untwisting a calf bed.
    2. Fetotomy(Cutting up a dead, stink, calf with wire to get him out the back in small pieces to avoid a section on a stink calf).
    3. Abdominal surgery, Displaced abomasums, caecal dilations, c-sections etc, the more unusual the better :cool:
    4. Scanning
    5. When farmers want you to investigate a herd health problem such as acidosis/pneumonia/lameness/fertility with a good work up/bloods/samples etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

5 best moments of any days farming. (In reverse order :D)
    5. Tea in the morning before going out to face the day's work.
    4. Tea after dinner (about 13.00)
    3. Tea from the flask behind tractor seat. (Because your too busy to stop)
    2. Tea on a bale of hay (because your on top of things and have time to stop)
    1. That cup of tea you get when you're finished for the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

That first pint after a hard days graft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

1. Square bailing
    2. Letting out suck calves for the first time.
    3. Watching them meeting the electric fence☺☺
    4. Standing at gate listening to cattle grazing
    5. Seeing a bargain on DD and the wheeling and dealing that goes with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

1. Square bailing

Some effort in making them but was a great feeling when you had the hay shed filled. Have the bale elevator out in the rain, hasn't been used in 20 years I'd say but I still don't want to cut it up or get rid of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

1. Square bailing

Does that including drawing them in ?

In my youth I decided one year to draw in most of our straw and sell it out of shed instead from the field .

4000 bails and 20 years latter I still get night mears . Fecking mice ate half the twinces after to boot

Does that including drawing them in ?

In my youth I decided one year to draw in most of our straw and sell it out of shed instead from the field .

4000 bails and 20 years latter I still get night mears . Fecking mice ate half the twinces after to boot

Spent years drawing small square bales and towards the end I found the easiest way to do it, tractor and loader with a 10 foot gate on the loader and bringing 30 bales at a time with two people in the shed. No lifting of bales and if there were more bales we used two tractors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

1. assisting a birth either lambing or calving. Ill admit i am missing this in new zealand i only had to assist one cow myself out if near 300 so far
    2. Walking through the stock after giving them a fresh break while being outwintered. Lovely on a fresh and hardy morning at home and all the cows are content
    3. Milking, ill never get a robot if i start my own dairy herd
    4. Grass walks and budgets.
    5. Bovine paediatrics, its an art form in itself

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭cosatron

1. peeping your head in the calving box to see if your favorite cow has calved and then slopping in to left the calve's leg and seeing its a heifer, pure delight.
    2.Then after 2 years of nurturing the said heifer finally hits the parlour and she has a lovely square bag and loads of milk with loads of potential.
    3. letting the cows out after 4 months indoors.
    4. Good milk cheques and reading the returns showing improvements being made.
    5. culled cows going out on there own terms, ie we had a good 13 year old cow that didn't go in calf and she's down in the field getting ready for the factory, it would of broke our heart if something happened to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Spraying weeds and seeing them die....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

I've been racking my brains for the last couple of days to think of one. :D

Anyone else notice that there have been over 80 posts in the '5 worst farm jobs' and just over 20 in the '5 best farm jobs'.

Opening the milk statement when milk price is over 30 cent/litre :)
    Spreading fertiliser/slurry when there's rain due.
    Fixing a clapped out mower and cutting 10 acres with it.
    Milking herd with no mastitis cow:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Opening the milk statement when milk price is over 30 cent/litre :)
    Spreading fertiliser/slurry when there's rain due.
    Fixing a clapped out mower and cutting 10 acres with it.
    Milking herd with no mastitis cow:)

All completed by you in the last 3 weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Picking up a new/ new to you machine and putting it through its paces and realising the benefit it will make going forward

Finding a good deal on donedeal/adverts and the seller sticking to the deal

Taking care of a sick animal and getting them back to full health and when you sell that animal you know it definitely left you money

Getting crop saved in a good weather window. Bit of planning of you and contractor coming together

Best of all. Walking over a field on a summers evening and realising that life isn't to bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Having a decent pen of cattle in the mart and listening to lads talk about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Rearing suck calves.
    Buying suck calves to rear at the right price ;)
    Checking calves in the sheds at night and seeing them content before I head to bed.
    Topping at any time of the year.
    My favourite job is rolling out a bale of golden barley straw (for bedding) on a pissy cold miserable Winter's day - it's like releasing a bit of Summer :D

All completed by you in the last 3 weeks?

Except for the last one and the clapped out mower was last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Biscuitus

Calving a cow and getting the calf up and sucking is always my favourite job. I don't mind a challenge but its always great when they calf during the day and without any assistance and the calf gets up and suckles in the hour.

Stacking the last Silage bale
    Calving the last cow and knowing you can sleep again
    Looking on a field you sprayed seeing leafy grass
    Counting the cows after the bull has been taken away and seeing signs of anyone in heat