Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hyundai Kona Electric

• 08-08-2017 8:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭

So new details on this compact SUV / Crossover. Codenamed OS.
    • Launch of the electric version expected to be at the Geneva Motor Show in March 2018, with retail availability in Q3 2018.
    • ~50kWh battery pack.
    • 250-320km range on EPA cycle.
    • Ioniq powertrain, possibly with some increase in power.
    • Possible AWD.
    • Shared platform with the KIA Stonic which will also be launched in Electric and the new Soul EV in 2019 will also be based on the Kona platform with the same battery.
    • Optional Head-up display (similar to the Mini type, not projecting on the windscreen itself)
    • LKAS, forward collision alert with braking, blind-spot warning, automatic high beams, driver attention warning and rear cross traffic alert.
    • LTE-based telematics & WiFi in most european markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭KCross

The HUD is shown briefly on it here...
    https://youtu.be/evRoc_b86V0

Nice car.... as always, price will be the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭cros13

KCross wrote: »
    The HUD is shown briefly on it here...
    https://youtu.be/evRoc_b86V0

Nice car.... as always, price will be the thing.

I was told low to mid 30s in Ireland

Nice car but I read it's as just a little bit larger than the tiny box Nissan Juke, no thanks !!!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Nice car but I read it's as just a little bit larger than the tiny box Nissan Juke, no thanks !!!

According to this:
    http://www.automobiledimension.com/car-comparison.php

The dimensions are very similar to your Nissan Leaf. About 30 cm shorter, but a little wider and same height. Pretty similar boot space as the Leaf.

I'd see it as more of a more attractive competitor to the Leaf, then a competitor to the Ioniq or larger SUV's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭ei9go

Virtually exactly the same as a Renault Captur.

I'll have one please.

Oh it's definitely a lot nicer than the current Leaf.

Still not very practical for us so most likely have to get a Diesel 7 seater or possibly the Prius 7 seater though I do feel it might be too underpowered we really don't want another diesel and Prius 7 seater is hard to find here and my Partner has decided the Outlander PHEV is out because she wants a 7 seater but I'd rather the Outlander and take the Leaf whenever we need more space which really wouldn't be frequent. If I could have an EV that could fit an Adult comfortably in the rear between two child seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

ei9go wrote: »
    Virtually exactly the same as a Renault Captur.

Word of warning. Had a Captur as a rental car this summer. Brand new. Grand yoke, nothing wrong with it, but it is tiny

We left the house and all our luggage fitted perfectly fine in the Ioniq's boot. Which isn't big. When we picked up the rental car, only about a bit over half our luggage fitted in the Captur's boot (stacked up to the ceiling), the rest had to be in the cabin

Also the space in the back for my 3 kids was tiny, they were like in a sardine tin.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

unkel, it depends on what you are use to and the size of your family.

An Ioniq is actually quiet a large car compared to what many people have, it is just "small" compared to your old jag :D

A lot of people don't want or need a larger car. If you have only one or two kids or non at all, then you probably don't need a large car and a smaller car is easier to handle around city streets, parking, etc.

There is a reason why compact SUV's like these are selling like hotcakes at the moment. They suit many people. Probably would suit me very well.

But you are right, wouldn't suit everyone.

Oh indeed. It's just that these small cross overs (Captur / Juke etc.) look very butch and substantial but in reality they are only the size of a supermini (Clio) even though from the outside they look more like a c-segment (small family hatch) size car like a Golf etc.

I looked up the Irish price of the Captur diesel that I rented and it came to about €25k, the same as I paid for the Ioniq :eek:

These wee crossovers must have a massive profit margin. They are a real cash cow. Or do you spell that qash qai? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭ei9go

unkel wrote: »
    Word of warning. Had a Captur as a rental car this summer. Brand new. Grand yoke, nothing wrong with it, but it is tiny

We left the house and all our luggage fitted perfectly fine in the Ioniq's boot. Which isn't big. When we picked up the rental car, only about a bit over half our luggage fitted in the Captur's boot (stacked up to the ceiling), the rest had to be in the cabin

Also the space in the back for my 3 kids was tiny, they were like in a sardine tin.
    Captur in Calais

9Q7ZCjM.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

You didn't waste enough of your youth at tetris.....

Oh I did :)

Back then there was nothing else around much. Don't tell me you're as old as me :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Oh I did :)

Back then there was nothing else around much. Don't tell me you're as old as me :eek:

:P My youth wasted on one of these

latest?cb=20121110153849&path-prefix=en

and to really throw the kids...one of these

spectrum_plus_2A.jpg

We have a 1 yr 8 month old and 3 yr 3 month old and would consider the leaf too small, depends on what your needs are.

the Leaf is fine when we don't have much to transport but buggy and shopping and the leaf is packed solid, with the 2008 cee'd estate, though smaller cabin space has a good bit better boot that we can at least fit the buggy at one side and shopping the other so we don't have to take the shopping back out to get the buggy again if we head somewhere else before going home.

A wider car would also be nice to fit one adult in the back with the 2 Child seats.

While not everyone needs a larger than hatch car manufacturers are only making small ev's and those with larger needs have no choice that's affordable at least.

Looks like you need a Model S to be honest. I don't think any other EV would fit an adult comfortably in between two full size toddler seats in the back. I doubt even an Ioniq or Model 3 would. You drive a Model S yet?

No not driven a model S. I have sat in one at the charger at Newlands Cross, It is quiet big very impressive.

Most likely we'll end up with a 7 seater diesel.

It's too hard to find a Prius 7 seater to get a test drive.

Most likely we'll end up with a 7 seater diesel.

Banned

LOL yeah I know but there's not a lot of options out there for larger cars.

Prius is an option if I can get a test drive in one but I feel it would be very under powered, they never increased power for the much larger car.

Shefwedfan, look at the fancy pants with 128k and built in tape deck :p

I had one of these:

spectrum48k_jpg.jpg

I had just 16k and an external tape deck (note the above picture isn't mine, it is a 48k, but otherwise looked exactly the same).

Now we have to wait for the mainframe/cobalt guys to come along :D
    the Leaf is fine when we don't have much to transport but buggy and shopping and the leaf is packed solid, with the 2008 cee'd estate, though smaller cabin space has a good bit better boot that we can at least fit the buggy at one side and shopping the other so we don't have to take the shopping back out to get the buggy again if we head somewhere else before going home.

Think about using Tesco's delivery service. No more dragging kids around a crappy supermarket. Shop in about 5 minutes * while sitting in front of the TV and have a guy carry your shopping right into your kitchen the next morning, total bliss and while worth the €10 per month IMO.

Also good for your waste line and wallet as much less impulse buying and no kids screaming at you wanting cola in the supermarket, what they can't see doesn't bother them.

* Takes about an hour the first time or two, to put together a full shopping list, but after that you just reuse the previous lists and make adjustments to it. Anyway much easier to do from the comfort of your sofa :D

As for the buggies, just get smaller ones. Mine easily folds up and fits below the child seat if more space is needed in the bot.

BTW when your child hits 4 years old in 9 months time, they can then use a booster seat * in the middle and an adult fit in the outside seat the odd time it is needed.

* Note it isn't really based on age, but on weight and height, so double check, they maybe able to use one earlier or later depending on size.

Also check out these snazzy gadgets:

https://saferide4kids.com/product/ridesafer-travel-vest/

Sometimes you just need to think different.

Latest on the Kona:
    http://www.side3.no/motor/hyundais-nye-elektriske-suv-overrasker-stort/3423378443.html

Base 39.2kWh class battery, larger 64.2kWh pack optional.

The larger pack will have NEDC range of just over 500km. EPA cycle likely 330km.

First deliveries in Norway before summer.

150 kw, nice. I take that was the motor power ?

60 kwh not cheap, perhaps sell for 38-40 k ? i could think about this instead of the Leaf, I'd have to extend the lease another while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

I had a Commodore VIC-20.

Yup, I'm that old!

vic20.2.png

Spent most of my time playing Duckshoot!

s-l225.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭thierry14

150 kw, nice. I take that was the motor power ?

60 kwh not cheap, perhaps sell for 38-40 k ? i could think about this instead of the Leaf, I'd have to extend the lease another while.

I'd say 35k for 60, 28-29k for 40

It's a b segment small car

40k is Model 3 territory.

A Kona with 200bhp and 60kwh would be perfect for me

Thats ideal range and power, it will be light too, under 1500kg surely

If they put awd in the 60kwh it will be very attractive

Small suvs are in style now, Hyundai could be player in the EV world if pricing is good, which I am sure it will being Hyundai, clever crowd

Whats the cod anyone know?

Ioniq with 60kwh would be a 500km car easy

Same battery and 204bhp drivetrain as the Chevy Bolt

Nice

Bolt has Gti pace and goes all day

https://gas2.org/2017/10/06/hyundai-kona-electric-suv-two-batteries-210-mile-range/

thierry14 wrote: »
    Same battery and 204bhp drivetrain as the Chevy Bolt

Nice

Bolt has Gti pace and goes all day

https://gas2.org/2017/10/06/hyundai-kona-electric-suv-two-batteries-210-mile-range/

I'm afraid the gas2 article is wrong. According to my sources the Kona drivetrain is just a modified Ioniq drivetrain and while the cells are from LG Chem (like the Ioniq) and the updated cell chemistry is similar to the Bolt, the Bolt and Kona have no common parts and are unrelated. Gas2 misunderstood/mistranslated the source article.

Soarer wrote: »
    I had a Commodore VIC-20.

Yup, I'm that old!

vic20.2.png

Spent most of my time playing Duckshoot!

s-l225.jpg

Came across our old C64 and Floppy Drive in my Mothers attic a few weeks ago. Should have seen if it still worked. I bet the tapes won't work any more. The attic is a disastrous place to store any form of tape, old videos too are probably long destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Love the thread.

What has happened to boards though? Why is everyone a Moderator these days, so strange..?

Banned

UPDATE

So herself got the 7 seater Outlander Diesel. The rear seats are very tight, handy for the Grannies with some help getting in and out but means we don't need to take 2 cars.

Nice car if it were fully electric, the diesel lets it down, especially being manual.

The sad thing is that the plug in would not have cost her more and would have had lower miles and higher spec, but she does not care in the slightest about tech, power, comfort, if it had wind up windows she wouldn't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

For as much as I hate the idea of a PHEV Outlander having chademo, someone buying a new outlander not buying the PHEV model really is a confounding decision.

I have no issue with any capable plug-in using the DC network as long as they have the decency to leave when a BEV only owner pulls up.

It really annoys me when PHEV owners leave the car and come back 30-40+ mins later, the same applies to a BEV owner too by the way but the PHEV owner can drive on without charging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I have no issue with any capable plug-in using the DC network as long as they have the decency to leave when a BEV only owner pulls up.

It really annoys me when PHEV owners leave the car and come back 30-40+ mins later, the same applies to a BEV owner too by the way but the PHEV owner can drive on without charging.
    All a moot point in a few months anyway, there will be no issue with chargers being available - no one will be using them if the CRU paper and the last ESB charging scheme is anything to go by

But I digress.
    Does anyone have a link to the article above that is not in Norwegian?

ELM327 wrote: »
    All a moot point in a few months anyway, there will be no issue with chargers being available - no one will be using them if the CRU paper and the last ESB charging scheme is anything to go by

But I digress.
    Does anyone have a link to the article above that is not in Norwegian?

https://cleantechnica.com/2017/10/06/kona-electric-suv-hyundai-may-210-mile-range-hot/

cros13 wrote: »
    I'm afraid the gas2 article is wrong. According to my sources the Kona drivetrain is just a modified Ioniq drivetrain and while the cells are from LG Chem (like the Ioniq) and the updated cell chemistry is similar to the Bolt, the Bolt and Kona have no common parts and are unrelated. Gas2 misunderstood/mistranslated the source article.

Ahh

Thats a shame.

Sounded great

Will be very underwhelming now if it's an underpowered Ioniq drivetrain with 120bhp

Tesla Model 3 will have more than double that and not a huge price difference between 60kwh model

That article copied the gas2 article...

The original source does not say that hyundai is using the same motor as the Bolt/Ampera-e. Roughly translated it actually says "we assume that the manufacturer will use the same LG motor that an Ampera-e uses."

The only two confirmed pieces of information in the source article are the two battery capacities and the expected NEDC range of the larger battery (which a second source confirms).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Great to have a Mod who is multi lingual, even Norwegian,as an aside to all his other talents.

Progress in Models and range is great to see. On with the revolution.

Will be very underwhelming now if it's an underpowered Ioniq drivetrain with 120bhp

Have you driven the Ioniq? Have you ever even driven any EV?

Ioniq or Leaf feels a lot more powerful than their specs suggest but above 100 Kph they both feel less powerful than your average 110-120 hp diesel. The I3 is fantastic , where the Leaf starts to run out of puff the I3 keeps going and make for very pleasurable driving.

However for normal driving the Leaf/Ioniq feels far superior in that their power is instant, driving a laggy ICE after EV isn't a pleasant experience, it's actually very frustrating.

The Leaf 150 HP should make it a lot more fun, can't wait to drive it.

Have you driven the Ioniq? Have you ever even driven any EV?

No

Drove a Leaf

Great for the first 50kmh, has nothing past 100kmh

I'm sure that and the Ioniq are fine for 99% of people

If those people drove a Tesla or BMW i3 even they would find it lacking afterwards

Thats the point I am trying to make on your Ioniq

Sure its grand for you, but drive a Chevy Bolt with 204bhp and sit back in your Ioniq

Will feel underpowered then

Ioniq or Leaf feels a lot more powerful than their specs suggest but above 100 Kph they both feel less powerful than your average 110-120 hp diesel. The I3 is fantastic , where the Leaf starts to run out of puff the I3 keeps going and make for very pleasurable driving.

However for normal driving the Leaf/Ioniq feels far superior in that their power is instant, driving a laggy ICE after EV isn't a pleasant experience, it's actually very frustrating.

The Leaf 150 HP should make it a lot more fun, can't wait to drive it.

Yeah the 150bhp Leaf will have plenty of power

Should have plenty of shove on the motorway where Ioniq and current Leaf lack

No

Drove a Leaf

Great for the first 50kmh, has nothing past 100kmh

I'm sure that and the Ioniq are fine for 99% of people

If those people drove a Tesla or BMW i3 even they would find it lacking afterwards

Thats the point I am trying to make on your Ioniq

Sure its grand for you, but drive a Chevy Bolt with 204bhp and sit back in your Ioniq

Will feel underpowered then

Meh. Cars can always be faster. If I won the lotto I'd grab myself a P100D ludicrous.

But 0-100km/h in just over 8s (Ioniq) is just not under powered. True enough that most of the gains are in the lower end, but that's more useful. How often in a week do you do 0-50km/h and how often do you do 0-150km/h? My other car is a Porsche - far quicker than Ioniq obviously and I've had several V8 powered cars before too, some with over 300BHP (Porsche and BMW) :)

Don't get me wrong the Leaf is more than capable of reaching the 164 Kph ( clock speed) limit so it's got enough power except when you are at 100 Kph and want to pull out into the fast lane and put the boot down which in fairness won't be that powerful in any 104 hp car.

The leaf is quiet good to 80/90 Kph, I wouldn't say it's good just up to 50 Kph.

It's not just about the 0-100 whether that number comes from Ioniq fanboys or not. It's about over taking and or pulling out in the fast lane on the motorway.

I'm not saying the report about a 150kW power output is wrong just because the powertrain is shared with the Ioniq. No reason the Ioniq motor can't output double the power if the battery can feed it to it.

Especially water cooled motors. Motors can usually take huge amounts of peak power.

No matter how hard I drive the Leaf on the Motorway the motor is only warm to the touch when I get back, of course internally it's going to be warmer but it's insignificant as it is now so there's lots of leeway there to up the power, electronics and cabling is another matter entirely, throw more than the rated current through those FET's and bang.

Interestingly, I wonder what would happen if there were a short in the motor windings, or failure of the motor controller ?. I know in my ebike projects a short of the FET's when over driven apart from making them explode would cause the motor to rapidly slow down as it's now acting like a generator as the windings get shorted via the failure of the controller. Interesting to know what would happen in the Leaf or any EV, it would stop far faster than via regen.