Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nissan Navarra VS Toyota Hilux

• 05-08-2017 11:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭

As the title suggests, which one is better? Or even another similar machine. I won't be using it for carrying any heavy weight or going offroad. It won't really be doing any hard work at all only driving. So any reccomendations? I've always liked the look of the Navarra but I'm open to other options.
    Anybody got any good/bad things to say about any machines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You don't mention the year as there were different variations of both over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    As the title suggests, which one is better? Or even another similar machine. I won't be using it for carrying any heavy weight or going offroad. It won't really be doing any hard work at all only driving. So any reccomendations? I've always liked the look of the Navarra but I'm open to other options.
    Anybody got any good/bad things to say about any machines?

They are work vehicles with suspension designed for heavy loads and off road driving. Unless you like driving in a vehicle that isn't designed for driving empty on the road buy something else a Defender would be as uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Hard to say without knowing what year you're thinking of buying but we've had three Hilux's. 1990, 2007 and now a 2009. All three were bulletproof and gave very little trouble.

We had a 1999 Pathfinder (predecessor to the Navarra? Open to correction) and found it less reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

nintchdbpict000299481997.jpg

If it's this shape navara then you have an easy choice.

Chassis' rust like theres no tomorrow and the engines are sh1te too.

An Isuzu dmax would be another crewcab to consider supposed to be tough old yokes and not too hard on diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

I was looking at around 2012/2013. Around 15-18k. I've heard of the rust issue with the navarras alright. Having a look, hilux and fords are a good bit more expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Ford Ranger are pretty nice. Those Hilux give expensive injector issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭mossy50

Saw a truck load of those NAVARAs last Friday heading for Dublin all collapsed

mossy50 wrote: »
    Saw a truck load of those NAVARAs last Friday heading for Dublin all collapsed

As in the pic above from rusting underneath?

VW Amarok

VW Amarok

Underpowered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Underpowered

Tbf going by the op I don't think power and torque is high on the list of priorities.

The 2016 ssangyong musso looks to be decent value couldn't comment on reliability or build quality though.

Tbf going by the op I don't think power and torque is high on the list of priorities.

The 2016 ssangyong musso looks to be decent value couldn't comment on reliability or build quality though.

True enough. They just look like a poser machine though to me.

Underpowered

Even the lower powered Amarok has more bhp than a number of the other crew cabs never mind if you get the 180bhp. Lovely machine.

Towing capacity in that class is king which makes my Ford Ranger suggestion top of the class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

As an unladen drive at least, a Ranger is much more an agricultural impliment than an Amarok.

The new one isn't too bad. The old one was terrible. Amorak is certainly a more comfortable experience but I stick to my claim of style over substance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

The Amaroks are actually very hardy. It's hard to picture a VW 4x4 being anything other that tacky in fairness but they are actually a good crewcab fundamentally. I think it's biggest problem is Japan has the crewcab nailed, Hilux, Navara, L200 etc, that are very tried and tested that people are reluctant to stray from.

Everyone knows that Great Wall are the next big titted hit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

The new one isn't too bad. The old one was terrible. Amorak is certainly a more comfortable experience but I stick to my claim of style over substance.

Appears the OP is not looking for much in the way of substance so the VW might be the better call in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I'd love a Maloo (for the low motor tax) but I guess that's a different discussion.

Marcusm wrote: »
    I'd love a Maloo (for the low motor tax) but I guess that's a different discussion.

It's a Jumbuck you need.

In all seriousness however the OP needs a new Merc Pickup

Ford Ranger are pretty nice. Those Hilux give expensive injector issues.

Very expensive though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It's a Jumbuck you need.

In all seriousness however the OP needs a new Merc Pickup

That's a rebadged Navara isn't it?

Can't find much info on the sangyong Musso. Are they new to the market? The L200 doesn't look too bad in fairness. Any opinions on them?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That's a rebadged Navara isn't it?

Yep. Apparently a lot more refined but I'd ratger judge for myself than believe a journalist. They're known to print what they're told.

As regards the Musso, the pickup is a horrible thing in the flesh.

I could live with a Rexton but thats not a pickup

Ssangyong has the Korrando Sports pickup alright, but why you'd buy one, or indeed any pickup if you don't need one is beyond me. So many sacrifices to comfort, practicality, safety, fuel economy, refinement.

It makes no sense. Some good 4x4s available if you want that.

I can't think of one good reason as to why you'd buy a new Fiat. Nothing wrong with them but competition seems to have them beat now in every single way.

But it's Italian...:pac:

bazz26 wrote: »
    But it's Italian...:pac:

It's no Fiat 124 that's for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭chicorytip

bazz26 wrote:
    Mitsubishi L200?

Ugly!

chicorytip wrote: »
    Ugly!

Show me a pretty pickup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I can't think of one good reason as to why you'd buy a new Fiat. Nothing wrong with them but competition seems to have them beat now in every single way.

The Irish distributor is very poor. They actually have quite a good range of cars it's just the packaging vs the likes of Kia, Renault et al let's them down
    On the continent, their sales are up and up

I like the look of them TBH. I also own a pair of running runners but do fcuk all running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

The hilux is probably the best pick up out there but the previous ford ranger was a decent pickup even if it was a bit old fashioned. It was mazda based and had a mazda engine so it was very reliable and well put together. Can't comment on the newer ranger though.

All navaras are garbage, rust issues on the newer navaras and engine failures on the older navaras was very common.

The l200 is a bit soft.

If looks are the only criteria I like the look of this:

http://greatwallmotors.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/1.jpg

Great Wall Motors - Steed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭shootermcgee

If the hilux is anything like my landcruiser I couldn't kill it and believe me I tried it even pulled out a tractor and trailer out of a wet field

, but why you'd buy one, or indeed any pickup if you don't need one is beyond me. So many sacrifices to comfort, practicality, safety, fuel economy, refinement.

I think there is a lot of exaggeration on the above points. I've had the loan of a Hilux on a few occasions and found it quite a nice place to be, comfortable, plenty of power, decent handling, great high driving position and they look great. Don't know how you could question the practicality as it's a pick up you can fit any amount of stuff inside and the back seats mean is practical if you have kids etc also (it's why a lot buy then over 2 seat commercials). Fuel efficiency will be similar to any 4x4 though the amarok is very economical with its 2.0 engine. As for safety, I think I'd take my chances in one over being in a car getting hit by one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Can't find much info on the sangyong Musso. Are they new to the market? The L200 doesn't look too bad in fairness. Any opinions on them?

My father had a 2005 L200 now has a Hilux think it's 2010.
    Night and day of a difference between them. The L200 was the worst thing I have ever driven, absolute pig of a thing. Turning circle of a battleship, there was something wrong with the way they set up lock to lock on the steering. Never managed a 3 point turn in It, more like 5 or 7 every time. Bouncy on the open road and I never felt fully in control of it. Slow too.

Now the Hilux, while not being a top notch vehicle to drive, it's ok I don't mind using it the odd time. Out of the 2, go for the Hilux.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Amarok is the cheapest to tac privately if you dont want to risk scamming commercial tax

Drive a Hilux, then drive something like a Discovery and tell me they're remotely in the same league in terms of comfort or refinement.
    Hilux is a workhorse, and very good at that, but they can't pull off being a car.
    You have lower seats and a higher floor in a Hilux than you would on regular 4*4s. There's no way you can honestly say it's comfortable, unless you're comparing it to a 97 Corolla!

Look, lads like big jeeps, and that's fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Drive a Hilux, then drive something like a Discovery and tell me they're remotely in the same league in terms of comfort or refinement.
    Hilux is a workhorse, and very good at that, but they can't pull off being a car.
    You have lower seats and a higher floor in a Hilux than you would on regular 4*4s. There's no way you can honestly say it's comfortable, unless you're comparing it to a 97 Corolla!

Look, lads like big jeeps, and that's fair enough.

But that is not like for like. A landcruiser would be more comparable to a discovery.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    But that is not like for like. A landcruiser would be more comparable to a discovery.

That's the point.

As in the pic above from rusting underneath?

yup rusted to bits

hi lux all the way

mossy50 wrote: »
    hi lux all the way

I'd love to except they seem to be around 5k dearer than Nissan. Do all the navarras suffer rust damage or just the older models?

I'd love to except they seem to be around 5k dearer than Nissan. Do all the buds and suffer rust damage or just the older models?

older models you will get what you pay for stay miles away from a navara