Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kiltyclogher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I'd go

Much prefer to live on an island though. Like Inishturk or Whiddy also suffering acute population decline

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Never heard of the place until I saw the article earlier. Population is 223 and it's in the complete arse end of nowhere. Sounds horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I'd go

Much prefer to live on an island though. Like Inishturk or Whiddy also suffering acute population decline

How about living on Ireland?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭EmoCourt

Lovely part of Ireland. Rolling hills and tranquil lakes. Nevin Maguires restaurant not too far away for the best food in Ireland. Enniskillen for shopping, Marble Arch, Florencecourt, Culcaigh Mountain, the Shannon Pot.

Really nice place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Sweet FA jobs there, I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

EmoCourt wrote: »
    Lovely part of Ireland. Rolling hills and tranquil lakes. Nevin Maguires restaurant not too far away for the best food in Ireland. Enniskillen for shopping, Marble Arch, Florencecourt, Culcaigh Mountain, the Shannon Pot.

Really nice place.

Right on, man. Leitrim people are the nicest in Ireland, very laid back and friendly. The best of 1950's Ireland. Sligo and Bundoran not too far away. I haven't been in Kiltyclogher for a very long time but I remember walking across the border from there to the village of Garrison. You can shop either side of the border. Over all else, a stress-free life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Not a hope in hell. I know leitrim well, gorgeous part of the world but the locals can be a bit too traditional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's up there with with Drumshambo for most culchie town name of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Enniskillen for shopping,

Why didn't they say that before.

Bags packed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I worked there for two weeks about 15 years ago. It was very bleak back then. Al the locals were very suspicious of us. I wouldn't go back there unless I had to.

It's up there with with Drumshambo for most culchie town name of all time.
    The people of Mucklagh, Skeheenarinky, and Hackballscross are looking at you askance.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Not a hope in hell. I know leitrim well, gorgeous part of the world but the locals can be a bit too traditional.

Yes, that's what I said, the best of 1950's Ireland. Good honest people who wouldn't do you for a euro. Good traditional music too. Unfortunately the hurling is at the lower end of the scale. But I'm told they all get ringside seats in the great hurling stadium in the sky. :) And unlike those posh Cuala hurlers in Dublin, when they do eventually win the All-Ireland they won't be celebrating with prawn sandwiches and Chateau Margaux. They hate pretentiousness up there. It'll be bottles of Guinness and crubeens all the way. You'd like that, wouldn't you?
    BTW what do you think is too traditional about them?
    It's up there with with Drumshambo Drumshanbo for most culchie town name of all time.

FYP. What would you be doing up there when you couldn't even get your post delivered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

I take it they're laying on a job, a house and a mot for the prospective immigrant?

Noveight wrote: »
    Sweet FA jobs there, I'd imagine.

FA jobs? You're confusing Kiltyclogher with Manchester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

feargale wrote: »
    Yes, that's what I said, the best of 1950's Ireland. Good honest people who wouldn't do you for a euro. Good traditional music too. Unfortunately the hurling is at the lower end of the scale. But I'm told they all get ringside seats in the great hurling stadium in the sky. :) And unlike those posh Cuala hurlers in Dublin, when they do eventually win the All-Ireland they won't be celebrating with prawn sandwiches and Chateau Margaux. They hate pretentiousness up there. It'll be bottles of Guinness and crubeens all the way. You'd like that, wouldn't you?
    BTW what do you think is too traditional about them?

FYP. What would you be doing up there when you couldn't even get your post delivered?

I spend a bit of time there and its very 1950's as you say with similar attitudes in some cases. Not all of course, most are fine and don't care, but its enough that it would impact on your life I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

It sounds like an appeal to the unemployed because I doubt there is much work for new arrivals.
    Using Google maps I found out it is 400 metres from the border.

To quote John Cooper-Clarke "Its like a fairytale .... Grimm"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Only if I can become lord mayor on arrival and sit in a throne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,875 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Would I ****.
    I used to live in Ballaghaderreen so that's my **** hole place crossed off my list.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

I'd go

You might meet a girlie who doesn't spook at the suggestion of a camping trip or a spin up the mountains with a stranger though. Imagine the possibilities!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,875 ✭✭✭✭bear1

testicles wrote: »
    I was getting excited there for a second...

It's what you were thinking, they merely dry ya afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Didn't they have the county fleadh there a few times.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

I wonder what the broadband is like. Is it arse-end of nowhere 2Mbits? If so, I'll pass.

Where Im from in Rural-but-near-a-main-road Galway, the broadband is pretty pathetic, topping off at about 4Mb. In Rural-not-even-a-main-road-goes-there Sligo, I think I'll pass. Even if you can buy a five bedroom house for 36 cent and a bag of wagonwheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

But why would you move somewhere with no jobs or amentities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

But why would you move somewhere with no jobs or amentities?

I suppose if they made the scenery edible, it might be worthwhile.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,101 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I wonder what the broadband is like. Is it arse-end of nowhere 2Mbits? If so, I'll pass.

Where Im from in Rural-but-near-a-main-road Galway, the broadband is pretty pathetic, topping off at about 4Mb. In Rural-not-even-a-main-road-goes-there Sligo, I think I'll pass. Even if you can buy a five bedroom house for 36 cent and a bag of wagonwheels.
    \

I wonder what the broadband is like. Is it arse-end of nowhere 2Mbits?

On the news it said the broadband there was quite good and there was a women moving from Dublin to there who had a graphics design business.

AMKC wrote: »
    \

I wonder what the broadband is like. Is it arse-end of nowhere 2Mbits?

On the news it said the broadband there was quite good and there was a women moving from Dublin to there who had a graphics design business.

"Quite good". Quite good for where?

Maybe the village has a gigabit pipe. Except a gigabit shared between 225 users is... about 4Mbits each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,428 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I think I'd prefer exile in Burnley... "The UK town where average house prices are just £70,311."
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/property/uk/uk-town-average-house-prices-just-70311-nine-affordable-property/

I could afford a season ticket to Burnley in the Premier League...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Currently ONE house for sale there, according to Daft...

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    Currently ONE house for sale there, according to Daft...

So they do joined up thinking in Kiltyclogher as well as, well, everywhere else in Ireland.

Do a national campaign to introduce new people to the area, hoping a few chose to move and integrate into the village, and then the 4 families who decide to end up squabbling over the only available house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Really nice place.

.....so it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,946 ✭✭✭buried

Remote places aren't for everybody. Most of Ye wouldn't like it out here in the middle of nowhere. Nothing out here for ye except fear, panic and death. Places like Kiltyclogher are no joke. The Irish countryside could eat you alive without warning. Look what happened to those army lads up the Mourne Mountains last week just gone. They nearly got killed up there by wet Irish mist. The rural Irish countryside can kill you just as easily as the Sahara desert can. Kill you worse because some of ye probably think you can handle it. Big mistake. Stay away from here if ye know whats good for ye. Ye've no idea what's out here. Ye don't want to find out either, F**king barn owl out here will slash open your face quicker than some Islamic state groupie, and those f**kn owls can see in the dark, they don't need streetlights, restaurants, knives or militant religious fundamentalism neither

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭krazyklown

My mother is from kilty and we used to spend a bit of time there when we were kids. When I was really young, when the troubles up north were bad, I remember the army (irish) in the town. No idea what they were up to, but I remember asking one of the soldiers did they have any grenades. Also the sound of helicopters - bizarre as that may seem - was just like China beach if any one remembers that - there was a British army Base not far as well. The bridge at the border got blown up a few times by the brits as they reckoned the ira were using it apparently. Fine big statue of Sean mcdermott there as he was born up the road, with bullet holes too. People are lovely there, place was a ghost town, with massive emigration - mostly to sligo!!