Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The dail bar

• 31-07-2017 4:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭

So, should it be closed down? I can't see any reason to have a bar selling drink in our national parliament

Done to death on boards :)

The conclusion as far as I can remember, every country has some sort of hospitably in its parliaments.

Posters were very disappointed to discover it wasn't subsidised.

It not used half as much in today's climate of healthy living etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

funny I was just talking about this today..

the last government cabinet were nicknamed the 'drinks cabinet'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

funny I was just talking about this today..

the last government cabinet were nicknamed the 'drinks cabinet'

I'm surprised there was any left after Cowen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

Open a Dail Off Licence instead. Let's see how they like it when they can't get a drink after 10pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

My lasting memory will be the lap dance on the night of the bank guarantee vote if I recall correctly.
    Exemplifies exactly why it should be shut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I always wondered if you could get a yagabomb in there

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/unpaid-d%C3%A1il-bar-bills-written-off-over-failure-to-settle-tabs-1.3171521

They should have handed the debts to e-flow who could then apply the same sort of escalating charges that the M50 toll bridge does.

Can they at least name and shame ?

I don't have a problem with it per se. From a security viewpoint, it is preferable to have parliamentarians inside the Leinster House Complex as opposed to routinely entering bars in large numbers where security risks could arise, say in the event of a terrorist attack.

Also, there's a lobbying issue. I know members of the Oireachtas already frequent certain establishments, but it's somewhat reassuring that lobbying tends to be restricted to Leinster House, and that access to the complex is regulated and occurs in the presence of the media. If Denis O'Brien, for arguments sake, wants to meet FG backbenchers, the media will know about it. There are very few secrets in Leinster House and it's a good idea to have the media close to the members' activities.

Obviously it isn't a good idea for legislators to be under the influence of alcohol, but that would probably happen anyway, whether there was a bar (actually, two bars) on site or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I've no issue with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

mariaalice wrote: »
    Done to death on boards :)

The conclusion as far as I can remember, every country has some sort of hospitably in its parliaments.

Posters were very disappointed to discover it wasn't subsidised.

It not used half as much in today's climate of healthy living etc.

Not subsidised but the dirty bastards don't pay for nothing going by today's article in the irish times.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

The Garda HQ has a bar too, most barracks' have a bar (Mess). Don't see why the Dail shouldn't have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Did you hear about the dyslexic politician who walked into a bra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I like the way the offenders who owed the taxpayers some money got their slates wiped clean, and were spared being named.

Lucky for them they weren't on the dole and caught doing a nixer otherwise they'd all have been named, shamed, and publicly flogged.

#ratforleo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

If you close the bar they'll only bring a bag of cans in and make a mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/unpaid-d%C3%A1il-bar-bills-written-off-over-failure-to-settle-tabs-1.3171521

They should have handed the debts to e-flow who could then apply the same sort of escalating charges that the M50 toll bridge does.

Can they at least name and shame ?

This.

Why the hell cant they name and shame the scroungers who aren't paying their bar bill despite being extremely handsomely paid? If that was an ordinary Joe, they certainly wouldn't get away with not paying their bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

xzanti wrote: »
    The Garda HQ has a bar too, most barracks' have a bar (Mess). Don't see why the Dail shouldn't have one.

I know nothing about the Gardai setup but I do know about the regulations and the way army mess are run.
    Step out of line with your subs, bills or conduct and you are in a world of sh*t ( and back when I was in the army I wasn't even drinking but was still bound by those regulations.) If you eat, drank or did not even set foot into the mess you paid your dues every month.

EDIT, for clarity I should have said you pay there and then, the dues are are separate monthly "membership"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

This.

Why the hell cant they name and shame the scroungers who aren't paying their bar bill despite being extremely handsomely paid? If that was an ordinary Joe, they certainly wouldn't get away with not paying their bills.

Would they be named and shamed?

cajonlardo wrote: »
    I know nothing about the Gardai setup but I do know about the regulations and the way army mess are run.
    Step out of line with your subs, bills or conduct and you are in a world of sh*t ( and back when I was in the army I wasn't even drinking but was still bound by those regulations.) If you eat, drank or did not even set foot into the mess you paid your dues every month.

EDIT, for clarity I should have said you pay there and then, the dues are are separate monthly "membership"

Same in the Navy. You paid your bill before you left the ship. Only in Dail Eireann could you run up a tab of €5k and walk away from it.
    They treat us with contempt.

Yes :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Of course they would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I'm not opposed to the bar in and of itself but I see no justification for allowing a tab. Definitely name and shame the robbing lowlifes who haven't paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

xzanti wrote: »

They can have one all they want. That isn't an issue.

Provided.

1. They aren't drunk on the job,

2. Over the limit driving home

3. It's actually paid for there and then like any other normal functioning bar.

4. Same prices no difference, no tabs, no discounts, no concessions, nothing other than full price and paid for with cash or card.

I mean how bad dose this look, these guys are running the country FFS, and they can't even keep a simple bar from going into the minus, they can't even be trusted to pay a small bar debt and yet we are trusting the same people with billions. When you read about this, it's easy to see why the place is let's face it a smables, we are burning money like no tomorrow, no accountability. Pretty easy to see why now isn't it, no regards for a bar tab, no accountability to pay said bar tab, no respect for the bars finances, no respect for the jobs that could be lost if the public outrage was enoght to close the thing down.

Which ever TDs or Ministers that did not pay what was owed of them for the products they used are a disgrace.

To preach to constituents and yet haven't the decency to pay a small bill in a bar.

You'd swear these lads are strapped for cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Did you hear about the dyslexic politician who walked into a bra?

Was his name Tom Barry?

Was he from Killavullen?

Rick Shaw wrote: »

For not paying a bar tab?

Give over.

Of course they would.

For not paying a bar tab?

Come on will you. What about people who don't pay their gas or electricity bill?

Sure county councils are owed 50 million in rent arrears for social housing.

Are all those people named and shamed?

Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,701 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

They claim we all have alcphol problems thus the nanny state public health alcohol bill yet refuse to close their own bar so they can have cheeky lunch pints and afternooners......

They are hypocrites and should instead lead by example by cloaing both dail bars.

How many peoples bosses on here would have no issue with you coming back from lunch with 2 pints on you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    Not subsidised but the dirty bastards don't pay for nothing going by today's article in the irish times.

What are you on about? The unpaid debts are small in comparison to overall sales

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Someone who doesn't pay their bills is essentially a thief. I think it's in the public interest to know who these people are. I wonder if you could do a FOI request. This money should be recouped at source from pensions and the offenders should be banned from the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

I bet Mick Wallace is the main offender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

This.

One law for us...

fxotoole wrote: »
    I bet Mick Wallace is the main offender

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm just disgusted that the canteen in work doesn't have a bar. Alcohol plus machinery is what makes life exciting!

One law for us...

Anything to say about the 50 million in rent arrears owed to the council?

How come those people aren't named and shamed?

Thought it's one law for them?

Why?

Cus he doesn't pay his bills?

VinLieger wrote: »

Does that make him unique amongst our elected elite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

What are you on about? The unpaid debts are small in comparison to overall sales

These ***** waste money like there is no tomorrow. I've no problem with the bar sure you can see this in many companies.

They get paid about 100k a year, They get what seems like unlimited expenses without the need to even show a receipt, They fiddle every little detail to get as much as they can (take the travel expense, I'll drive two minutes extra this way to get another 10k)

Then the bastards retire 20 years before us all and get a huge pension for a few years work whether they do a good job or **** it up completely.

Again I have no problem with a bar, no problem with people being paid well for doing hard work.

It's the attitude these ***** have. There should be no unpaid debt be it a euro or 5000 euro.

How can someone earning 100k topping that up with 50k expenses, probably bill all their lifestyle to the state, have drivers driving them around not afford to settle up for a few pints ?

Does that make him unique amongst our elected elite?

Well considering he personally owes the taxman about 1.2 million id say yes it does

Sorry, I didn't realise that someone defaulting on a bill could only be considered not paying a bill depending on the amounts involved, and obviously who they happen to be.

If it was up to me, those who didn't bother settling their bar tabs should be named publicly in somewhere akin to those that get outed in the likes of Stubbs Gazette

Sorry, I didn't realise that someone defaulting on a bill could only be considered not paying a bill depending on the amounts involved, and obviously who they happen to be.

Where did I say any of that? Your straw man skills are pathetically weak.

You specifically asked if it made him unique among our elected officials and im saying yes in his specific situation due to the amount and who he owes it to it definitely does make him unique compared to other TD's who may also owe money.

Do you not understand the difference between failing at running a business and purposely defrauding the tax man?

Where did I say any of that? Your straw man skills are pathetically weak.

You specifically asked if it made him unique among our elected officials and im saying yes in his specific situation due to the amount and who he owes it to it definitely does make him unique compared to other TD's who may also owe money.

I believe you're actually the one building "strawmen" and trying the old deflection methods.

Initially your stance was

You were then told he was far from unique from that among our elected officials.

You then decide to change tact to bringing in Wallace defaulting on his revenue liabilities. Of course, had you of distinguished between a bill and tax responsibilities to to begin with, it may have saved this round around.
    Do you not understand the difference between failing at running a business and purposely defrauding the tax man?

I do.

Regina didn't pay all her company bills and walked away from a failed business. It was her party that defrauded the tax man.

Fine Gael admits tax evasion over period of 9 years

I believe you're actually the one building "strawmen" and trying the old deflection methods.

Initially your stance was

You were then told he was far from unique from that among our elected officials.

You then decide to change tact to bringing in Wallace defaulting on his revenue liabilities. Of course, had you of distinguished between a bill and tax responsibilities to to begin with, it may have saved this round around.

I do.

Regina didn't pay all her company bills and walked away from a failed business. It was her party that defrauded the tax man.

Fine Gael admits tax evasion over period of 9 years

Ohh no i didn't specifically distinguish between bills and tax liabilities in a jokey internet forum thread...... when everyone under the sun knows what the original comment meant about wallace not paying his bills......

LOL 20 years ago really? You're getting a bit desperate here, got a bit of a chip on your shoulder about FG? I notice they paid the penalties though without any issue, wallace went to court and won his case to avoid paying the 1.4 mil he admitted to defrauding the state of, he also is in arrears to the tune of about 230k on his house with AIB and is also taking them to court to stop them repossessing the house..... he was also found bankrupt with a debt estimate of 30 million....... now tell me again who's not paying their bills and taxes?

Why?

Can't put my finger on it. Something about him makes me think he doesn't pay his dues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Isn't this €5500 built up over the last 17 years?

Could be. Even so, the mob needs to vent their rage every so often, and politicians are an easy target.

fxotoole wrote: »
    Could be. Even so, the mob needs to vent their rage every so often, and politicians are an easy target.

If it was a track suit wearing, unemployed, northsider it'd be different. Yes?