Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Croke Park fit for games and concerts?

• 30-07-2017 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭

It was clearly evident in both games today that the sod in Croke Park had being adversely effected by having the U2 concert on it last week.I didn't see yesterday's two games but the commentary team on RTE remarked today that a player lost his footing yesterday when through on goal.
    I know if I was a player out there today slipping and sliding on an unsettled sod after spending the Winter and Spring training to try and reach this stage of the Championship I would be p****d off that U2 were lining their pockets on the pitch a week earlier!....( and I like U2)

Surely the GAA games should take precedence over cash cows during the Championship season?....or am I just naive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

**** all wrong with the Sod.

Donal Vaughan slipped on a ****ing water bottle!

Pitch was fine yesterday when it was dry.

Pitch gets slippy when it rains! Shocking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭michaelp97

Having actually played minor on it is pretty much perfect when dry a bit hard but it does become almost like ice when its wet and you're wearing mouldies. A lot of people wear the mouldies even when's it is wet because the ground is that hard but suffer from slippages then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Given that RTE commentary team have seen games in all conditions in Croke Park over the years I doubt if they would have mentioned the damaged loose sod if it wasn't there,probably looked fine from the stand but playing on it would be a different matter.....only my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

DDC1990 wrote: »

Pitch was fine yesterday when it was dry.

Pitch gets slippy when it rains! Shocking!

I was in croker on Saturday and Sunday. There were lots of players slipping on Saturday as well, when the pitch was dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I was in croker on Saturday and Sunday. There were lots of players slipping on Saturday as well, when the pitch was dry.
    There's a very bad bounce too. I saw players nearly lose the ball on the hop which looked poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

There's a very bad bounce too. I saw players nearly lose the ball on the hop which looked poor.

Yeah - for one of the games Saturday a player bounced the ball and it seemed to just shoot out at a 45 degree angle to where it should have gone. That was the worst one but for the Sunday games I thought that the bounce on the pitch wasn't 100%. Definitely think think it wasn't just a case of a slippery pitch - there was something off with the sod.

michaelp97 wrote: »
    Having actually played minor on it is pretty much perfect when dry a bit hard but it does become almost like ice when its wet and you're wearing mouldies. A lot of people wear the mouldies even when's it is wet because the ground is that hard but suffer from slippages then.

Most lads wear mouldies, not because of any logical reasoning but for purely cosmetic/fit purposes.

I play junior soccer and the same craic goes on. Only me and one other lad have the cop on to bring both sets of studs and see what's needed.

The other 16 just wear FG regardless.

Why managers allow their players out with the wrong footwear and that much on the line I'll never know.