Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I love the sh1te weather

• 28-07-2017 12:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭

Sunshine is overrated.

While nice for a few days in the long run I'm not a fan of this sunny clear skies and melting tarmac business at all. Nothing bates a fresh breeze and an overcast sky as you're heading for the Ploughing in September. Or braving a cold and persistent drizzle while you load freshly cut logs into a wheelbarrow. To me, a dark sky with a looming gale feels a lot more cosy and homely than this bland calm summer weather that's coming in from the EU. It feels like we've gone so European now we're not even allowed to have our own uniquely Irish weather anymore.

The sunny skies are nice to look at an' all but ya get feck all done. Knock one post into the ground and it feels like I've been trekking through the Sahara for days with no water. Even going for a simple 10 mile walk can feel like a torture and having to wear sunscreen and wash the sh1te off is horrible.

There's nothing like strolling up a mountain in the wet and the rain and getting completely drenched, having to repeatedly empty the freezing cold water from your wellies, sinking knee-deep into muck on several occasions before making your way in through the door of a small pub with bare stone walls and a turf fire and taking the first sip from a freshly poured pint of stout. A lot of the young crowd nowadays don't go outside from one day to the next and they'll never grow an appreciation for the aforementioned transition from freezing cold to lovely and warm. God bless their souls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Calm down bear grylls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Sunshine is overrated.

While nice for a few days in the long run I'm not a fan of this sunny clear skies and melting tarmac business at all. Nothing bates a fresh breeze and an overcast sky as you're heading for the Ploughing in September. Or braving a cold and persistent drizzle while you load freshly cut logs into a wheelbarrow. To me, a dark sky with a looming gale feels a lot more cosy and homely than this bland calm summer weather that's coming in from the EU. It feels like we've gone so European now we're not even allowed to have our own uniquely Irish weather anymore.

The sunny skies are nice to look at an' all but ya get feck all done. Knock one post into the ground and it feels like I've been trekking through the Sahara for days with no water. Even going for a simple 10 mile walk can feel like a torture and having to wear sunscreen and wash the sh1te off is horrible.

There's nothing like strolling up a mountain in the wet and the rain and getting completely drenched, having to repeatedly empty the freezing cold water from your wellies, sinking knee-deep into muck on several occasions before making your way in through the door of a small pub with bare stone walls and a turf fire and taking the first sip from a freshly poured pint of stout. A lot of the young crowd nowadays don't go outside from one day to the next and they'll never grow an appreciation for the aforementioned transition from freezing cold to lovely and warm. God bless their souls.

That'll be the sh*te weather I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

There's nothing like strolling up a mountain in the wet and the rain and getting completely drenched, having to repeatedly empty the freezing cold water from your wellies, sinking knee-deep into muck on several occasions

Im not a fan of pneumonia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

I am entirely unsure if you are being serious, but I happen to agree wholeheartedly with everything you've written.
    Apart from heading to the ploughing championships, that's only for muck-savages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I absolutely love getting out in cold, windy, wet weather. It's invigorating. I hate the heat and find dry, sunny days drab and soulless. Unfortunately Dublin gets few proper wet days. Forecasts of "bad" weather or rainy weekends rarely to amount to more than a passing shower of drizzle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I'd love a long, hot summer but they just ain't coming our way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Imallrightjack

Hot and wet the way the Irish love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Ye can feck off with yer shíte weather. I like to walk the dog without getting drownded, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Wet and windy.

Oh, sorry, completely misread the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

DavyD_83 wrote: »
    I am entirely unsure if you are being serious, but I happen to agree wholeheartedly with everything you've written.
    Apart from heading to the ploughing championships, that's only for muck-savages
    Well it's a damn site more interesting than the ideal homes show.

I think the ploughing is actually a great event, there's literally something for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭brevity

If you love ****e weather, is the weather really ****e?

I mean, ****e weather to you should be a nice sunny say.

So, by my pedantic reasoning, you love nice sunny days.

Me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

On the ball OP.

I was in the south of france last week and it would have melted you. Couldn't walk 200 metres without a puddle of sweat at the bottom of your back and your shirt stuck to you. I longed to get up one morning to see a grey sky but no...fūcking blue sky and sun every day.

Wife and kids loved it but I'm happy with the idea of an irish summer day where it gets up to 15 and you bring a coat "just in case".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

brevity wrote: »

Me too.

I realise I'm in the minority here so I call it sh1te weather so people know what I'm talking about. "Sh1te weather" is just an emotionless term that describes a certain type of weather that I actually enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Notoldorwise

Dry, warm, cloudy, calm day. Perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

brevity wrote: »

Me too.
    He probably should have said "I hate 'good' weather.".

I can take most weather but don't like it too hot, and I don't like it wet and windy when I have to cycle to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I dont mind the rain, cold, heat.

It's the wind that pisses me off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

fecken Greeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I dont mind the rain, cold, heat.

It's the wind that pisses me off

The ONLY weather I actually hate.