Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why don't Irish lads wear shorts

• 26-07-2017 7:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

I like to wear shorts myself any fine day,, was in the local the other eve nice crowd in there, a beautiful summers eve and I was the only one wearing shorts, and of course you get the comments ,ah you will break the weather , ah have seen better legs hanging out of a nest,

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I wear shorts most days. On a night out I wouldn't though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

God no, on a night out shorts are for drinking!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I'll usually wear shorts if the weather permits.

The problem is, a lot of the time it doesn't.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Outside of work, going for a night out and other formal occasions, I will be in shorts for the duration of the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

A) it's really not warm enough to be wearing shorts. It's warm enough so you could be wearing shorts yes but not like you'd have to.
    B) doesn't look great anyway. Goes right there with those sandals some people seem to love. Just looks awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I never go out at night I usually go out in the evening and come home in the morning so I gess I am alright wearing shorts than.

A) it's really not warm enough to be wearing shorts. It's warm enough so you could be wearing shorts yes but not like you'd have to.
    B) doesn't look great anyway. Goes right there with those sandals some people seem to love. Just looks awful.
    I am well past looking good, its all about comfort for me .

kerryjack wrote: »
    I like to wear shorts myself any fine day,, was in the local the other eve nice crowd in there, a beautiful summers eve and I was the only one wearing shorts, and of course you get the comments ,ah you will break the weather , ah have seen better legs hanging out of a nest,

Get a new local.

I wear shorts if its warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,442 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

A) it's really not warm enough to be wearing shorts. It's warm enough so you could be wearing shorts yes but not like you'd have to. B) doesn't look great anyway. Goes right there with those sandals some people seem to love. Just looks awful.

Socks and sandals = heaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

They do. Just that most wouldn't wear shorts when heading out in the evening.

Why not

Why not

First, even on warm summer days, it can turn cooler later on. The idea of shorts is comfort so if it's not going to be as comfortable, there's no point.

Secondly, shorts usually give a very casual look. If people intend to look a little more dressed up for going out later on, shorts may not fit the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭thejaguar

I wear shorts all year round - admittedly the exposure to the outdoors will decline in duration & frequency as the winter rolls on.
    I'd like to be able to wear shorts going out of an evening if it's warm enough but you run the risk of severely limiting your options as the evening wears on. That's certainly the case in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Depends what you mean by wearing and when?

As soon as I get home from work I am in them and will stay in them until bed. I wouldn't wear them to work or going out. There are lads in work at moment wearing them but for what I do a long pair of trousers is safer.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I've worn trousers about 5 times since April. Twice I was at a wedding. Tis roasting out.

beertons wrote: »
    I've worn trousers about 5 times since April. Twice I was at a wedding. Tis roasting out.

Well the same as myself when you get used to shorts its very hard to start wearing trousers again. I am a bit surprised that some people think you cant go out wearing a nice pair of shorts and a shirt, like we are touristy country after all.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

A shirt?

Don't get carried away there Jack!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Why not

It looks pretty dumb.

Sure some cultures can handle shorts. Cultures with athletic people and tanned legs. Not us.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It looks pretty dumb.

Sure some cultures can handle shorts. Cultures with athletic people and tanned legs. Not us.
    TBH I'd kinda be on the same page as YI here. Shorts on a tousled blonde haired beach bum of 22, or a footballist on the job, grand, on a more portly short of leg pasty chap of forty not so much. But that would be me. Plus again with me you've likely seen better legs on an oil rig. Though as folks are often low on vitamin D then it can only be a good thing on that score.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I wear shorts pretty much all year round. My niece and nephew got great mileage out of me wearing them mid December a couple of years ago when we went to see Its a wonderful Life in the IFI.

I find them the most comfortable in terms of leg wear and I generally don't feel the cold on them so happy days.

Now when I say shorts I mean knee length cargo pants / camo pants / combats and not some budgie smuggling short shorts.

The extra pockets for wallet, phone, car keys, e-cig and what not are a god send.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

You have seen the American tourists? That is why

Ya didn't see Cowboys in Texas where shorts either

Lt Dan wrote: »
    You have seen the American tourists? That is why

Ya didn't see Cowboys in Texas where shorts either

Don't get that one whats the American tourist got to do with this

Can't wear them, the tip of the lad always shows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I wear shorts every day from March /April to October /November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Can't wear them, the tip of the lad always shows

Not the same thing, but when my boyfriend goes running, you can see his tackle in all its glory well outlined through his Lycra shorts :D amuses me no end!

seenitall wrote: »
    Not the same thing, but when my boyfriend goes running, you can see his tackle in all its glory well outlined through his Lycra shorts :D amuses me no end!

Fitting username

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

On warmer weekend days lately I've spent the whole day in tennis-shorts and T-shirt, including down t'Woolpack for a few saucepans with the lads. I don't know if I qualify as a "lad" at 45, but I have good legs. There's a lot to be said for this air-cooling malarkey - I'm freeballing all the way to Baghdad! :cool:

When I say shorts I mean something like these

You would be a quare yoke if you lad peeped out the leg of these

You would indeed. It's supposed to be pointing in the other direction. :D

423482.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

Well our trolls have to come out from under the bridge or computer screen sometime and when they do, those matchsticks will be blisteringly glary!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

It looks pretty dumb.

Ireland doesn't have athletic people??
    Sport participation is massive here and growing

Ireland doesn't have athletic people??
    Sport participation is massive here and growing

Walk through the usual thorough fares of Dublin on a sunny day, try the beaches and even the parks........tell us that most of them are athletic ....rather ironic considering the amount of running from the police that they do

And that is before we comment about the moronic tattoos of the calves and other parts of the leg that said creatures have on display

Ghastly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Don't get that one whats the American tourist got to do with this

They wear them, even when it rains. Have no etiquette then when they come into pubs sit down in their shorts.

They also look like dorks in them, look like camp leaders for scouts

Ghastly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭noble00

I think Irish men have lovely legs , I know loads of lads that wear shorts and they look good in them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Only wear them when playing GAA, going for a run or at the beach. Never worn them on a night out except when on shagging holidays abroad when it's too warm wear full length pants in a bar/club. I'm tanned all over and I have good legs but I just prefer wearing pants. I know lots of lads who wear them religiously including a few nutters who wear them during the Winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Because I don't want to look like a knob.

Burial. wrote: »
    Only wear them when playing GAA, going for a run or at the beach. Never worn them on a night out except when on shagging holidays abroad when it's too warm wear full length pants in a bar/club. I'm tanned all over and I have good legs but I just prefer wearing pants. I know lots of lads who wear them religiously including a few nutters who wear them during the Winter.

You play GAA and you are tanned all over, eh?

I just don't believe it! :D :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

You play GAA and you are tanned all over, eh?

I just don't believe it! :D :pac:

Ha! Back in the day I had a proper cyclist's tan going on but I've become partial to the odd sunbed session.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Middle Man

I don't really wear shorts myself, but what's the big deal once they come down as far as the knee? It's better than all those bloody tight trousers that are in most cases deeply unflattering on Irish men.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

The new look in Limerick is tough looking lads wearing very camp gay shorts

bigpink wrote: »
    The new look in Limerick is tough looking lads wearing very camp gay shorts

2rw6dfn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Wear shorts all the time to and from work (in Toronto atm), but I find that my legs are still fairly white, whereas my arms have gotten a bit of tan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Irish lads do wear shorts. Every youngfella around where I live anyway wears those ridiculous grey cloth tracksuit shorts right up until November or so these days. When I was a teenager in the 90s you'd have got torn apart for wearing shorts.
    I wear them at the weekend if I'm cycling to town or going for a walk and it's nice out, those kind of Chino shorts that you can wear with certain shoes and trainers. Cargo shorts are no longer acceptable unless it's 2000 and you're in one of the American Pie movies.