Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social Welfare Inspector Review

• 20-07-2017 1:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭

Hi lads,

Today I received a letter asking me to attend a meeting with a social welfare inspector tomorrow morning. It says I must attend so my review can be processed and I must bring passport, bank statements, rent receipts, etc.

I am currently completing a 4 year degree going into my 4th year. I have been on Back to Education Allowance during the academic year and Job Seekers Allowance during the summer. I'm back to college in a month so I'm very worried that this is something that effect my payment, if I lost my BTEA I'll have to drop out.

I've tried to get work during the summer but only through word of mouth and have documents stating I tried. I really don't want to be on JSA and can't wait to finish college and start working in my chosen area.

I rent a room in a house that my brother owns in the local area and commute to college in Dublin.

Is there anything in particular this inspector will ask? What should I prepare for? Are these regular meetings?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

Just bring what the inspector asked for and you should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

It is a box ticking exercise. Just answer all questions honestly and it will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

My husband is in exactly the same situation as you, he had to go to one of those meetings yesterday. Huge waste of time on everyone's part but they don't try to push you into anything, it's just one of the formalities. So turn up, smile and nod and go on your merry way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

As others have said, turn up to the meeting, bring what's required and I'm sure you'll be fine. Best of luck with the studies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Dunne_bkill

Thanks for the replies. Just home from it, think it may have been a box ticking exercise as mentioned above. Asked about my living situation, course, work & bank accounts.

The officer was very ignorant to be honest. Can't understand why they feel the need to be like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

The officer was very ignorant to be honest. Can't understand why they feel the need to be like that.

I'd say they deal with a lot of shouty screamy people a lot of the time, would eventually wear you, but a bit of respect goes a long way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Waccamacca3

Hi lads,

Today I received a letter asking me to attend a meeting with a social welfare inspector tomorrow morning. It says I must attend so my review can be processed and I must bring passport, bank statements, rent receipts, etc.

I am currently completing a 4 year degree going into my 4th year. I have been on Back to Education Allowance during the academic year and Job Seekers Allowance during the summer. I'm back to college in a month so I'm very worried that this is something that effect my payment, if I lost my BTEA I'll have to drop out.

I've tried to get work during the summer but only through word of mouth and have documents stating I tried. I really don't want to be on JSA and can't wait to finish college and start working in my chosen area.

I rent a room in a house that my brother owns in the local area and commute to college in Dublin.

Is there anything in particular this inspector will ask? What should I prepare for? Are these regular meetings?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Got the same letter last Thursday to go in this Thursday for a review so is it just a tick boxes exercise?????

While I was on JA I let a girl who stayed a few nights with me use my address to obtain her Public Services card because she had no permanent address. I got a visit but the inspector accepted my explanation and it didn't affect my payments.

Nomis21 wrote: »
    While I was on JA I let a girl who stayed a few nights with me use my address to obtain her Public Services card because she had no permanent address. I got a visit but the inspector accepted my explanation and it didn't affect my payments.

Didn't do that. I have no change of circumstances but getting a review

Just answer all questions honestly and you have nothing to worry about. Boxes will be ticked and the inspector will move on to the other 20 appointments he has to get through that day.

Was in for 30 seconds justifying there job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Was in for 30 seconds justifying there job

I hope you didn't bring the attitude into the meeting with you....

What attitude I am looking for work on jobpath I want to work not sitting on my bum or in the pub or bookies thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

What attitude I am looking for work on jobpath I want to work not sitting on my bum or in the pub or bookies thanks

Your attendance wasn't justifying their job, they have a serious job to do. They aren't employed for the craic. If you felt there was nothing to it, well and good. Those reviews are carried out to make sure taxpayer's money is being correctly spent, not for the good of the inspector's health.

Well there is people walking around my area cutting grass, painting and building and collecting social welfare for at least ten years not called once to see inpector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭BowWow

Well there is people walking around my area cutting grass, painting and building and collecting social welfare for at least ten years not called once to see inpector

https://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/secure/ReportFraud.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

ever report one of these fraudsters?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Perhaps they are on a tus scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

You know all of these people's different situations and 100% certain they have never gotten a review/inspection?
    Must be a very tight knit area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 AACJR

I applied for FIS 3 weeks ago. Currently on x and o scheme. Rang today to say that my application has been sent to inspector. I'm worried as I need this payment so send my son to creche. I've had fis in the past with no issues, was expecting payment this week. Is this standard or why would I be sent.
    I have recently seperated and added my child to my job seekers no issues at all, just wonderin why now I am running into an issue when I'm coming off JSB