Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Possession of cocaine

• 20-07-2017 9:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭

http://www.radiokerry.ie/tralee-circuit-criminal-court-asked-consider-probation-accused-dealing-cocaine/

"A car being driven by the accused was intercepted by gardaí, who found 111kg of cocaine concealing in his clothing at Tralee Garda Station.

The drugs had an estimated street value of just over €7,700 (€7,777)."

That's nearly 17 and a half stone of cocaine secreted about his person? He must be a giant of a man. The other thing that struck me about this report is how cheap cocaine is in Tralee at €69/kg.

Also, what's the €7,777 figure about? Would that be a € to KY€?

Wondering also why it's only drugs that have a "street value". Oranges, kiwis, bananas and apples are all sold on the street. When your man was done for passing off garlic as onions a few years ago nobody reported on "garlic with a street value of €2million" or whatever it was.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Would it be a typo and it's actually supposed to be 11kg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭pawdee

Toots wrote: »
    Would it be a typo and it's actually supposed to be 11kg?

Possibly. Or 111g? I really don't know how much cocaine costs!

Reminds me of this though:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hgF2hLTxiE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

I think it's supposed to be 111g. Coke is about €70k a kilo.

(This post contains the personal opinion of the poster only. This post is not to be taken as legal advice. )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

pawdee wrote: »
    Wondering also why it's only drugs that have a "street value".
    Because that is the measure that is used for such cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,113 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The practicalities of concealing 111kg on your person would be worthy of a published case study and/or medical journalling too. Has to be g.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Not known for being great with their numbers our Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

It was 11KG it's now 111g...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Having worked with addiction services I can tell you cocaine is roughly €70 a gram, so sounds like he had 111 grams

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

It's €70 for one gram, but how much is a kilo? Not €7,000.

That's how AGS come to these ridiculous "street value" figures. They break the seize down into the smallest saleable amount and multiply that by the weight.

Have they not heard of economies of scale like it's madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,988 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

It's €70 for one gram, but how much is a kilo? Not €7,000.

That's how AGS come to these ridiculous "street value" figures. They break the seize down into the smallest saleable amount and multiply that by the weight.

Have they not heard of economies of scale like it's madness.
    That's what "street value" means. Cocaine sold on the streets is in fact sold in amounts of small numbers of grammes at €70 the gramme, so if a kilo of cocaine were sold on the streets in the usual way the aggregate receipts would be €70k.

The wholesale per kilo of cocaine is presumably dramatically less, since there's a lot of people, and a lot of trouble, involved in preparing, distributing and selling a consignment of cocaine on the streets, and a lot of expenses to be covered, and a lot of people who want a cut. The larger the amount of cocaine in question, the greater the difference between the "steet value" and the amount the wholesale seller of that amount might expect to receive.

But, in this instance, not so much. 111g distributed about his person? This cocaine is ready, or close to ready, for street sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

It's "market value" which is used to determine street value.

See the Criminal Justice (Drug Trafficking) Act 1996:-
    ‘market value’, in relation to a controlled drug, means the price that drug could be expected to fetch on the market for the unlawful sale or supply of controlled drugs

And an interesting excerpt from Paul O'Mahony and Tim Murphy Criminal Justice in Ireland (IPA 2002) 213:-
    In short, the official system of "market valuation" notoriously over prices the street value of drugs. *42 unless the official valuation system is reformed in accordance with the basic requirements of justice, conviction and imprisonment under this legislation for possession of drugs such as cannabis and cocaine with a street value of less than £10,000 is a likely prospect. Such a reform, of course, would do nothing to diminish the serious deficiencies and questionable morality of laws of this kind.

*42 - Questions concerning other issues - including purity of drugs seized, regional variations in prices of drugs and the general fairness of this valuation procedure - have also been raised. See speech by Frank Buttimer to Criminal Law Committee Seminar, Law Society of Ireland, 2 October 1999.

What would the main dealer/importer be out of pocket over this? only a tiny fraction of the 7K I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

What would the main dealer/importer be out of pocket over this? only a tiny fraction of the 7K I suppose.

Fecking main dealers, always ripping you off for servicing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭batistuta9

nothing, that guy will still need to pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Pills have been €10 each according to them for years.

YFlyer wrote: »
    Pills have been €10 each according to them for years.

Really? I thought a fiver would get you a pill... shows what I know anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,207 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Really? I thought a fiver would get you a pill... shows what I know anyway

You could get them for 50c if you bought enough to of them.

beertons wrote: »
    You could get them for 50c if you bought enough to of them.

I meant individually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭batistuta9

I meant individually

you would get them for 5. the other poster was on about guards inflating the prices