Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

7 seat SUV

• 18-07-2017 11:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

Hi lads,

Need a bit of advice on what 7 seat SUV would be best. I've a budget of up to 50k, but I'd prefer not to hit that if I can. Mileage would be low, about 15k km a year, mostly for town and school runs and the odd trip down the country. The models I'm looking at are:

Hyundai Santa Fe: don't know much about these, but the price seems right. Whats their reliability and running costs like? Would it be worth getting a new one or a 2 or 3 year old model?

Discovery Sport: Ticks a lot of boxes, but I've an innate suspicion of their reliability. Can get a year old model probably for around my budget. Would want to get the HSE version if possible.

Skoda Kodiaq: Really like the look of this one, but there's a big wait on models and I need something by September. Model I want would come in around 40k.

Peugeot 5008 SUV: looks lovely, but no idea when they're out. Apparently in September in the UK.

BMW X5: Can get a 2-3 year old model for my budget. Love the brand but haven't owned one myself before, so unsure of their servicing costs? Pricy?

Volvo XC90: my preferred option, but the new model remains out of reach for now.

At the moment I'm leaning towards the X5, first because it'll have suffered most of it's depreciation already, and secondly because I really like the look of them. My one concern is servicing and upkeep costs. I'm looking at buying outright (no loan required) but if leasing or PCP makes more financial sense I'll look at that. Thanks for the help in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭medic112

Peugeot twitter account sent me this on the 05.july after a query:

Hi Barney, I just wanted to update you on the new 5008 SUV. There will be an initial allocation of units to Dealers in the coming month, ahead of the UK launch, as above, but thereafter production for Ireland will somewhat fluid for a period of 2 - 3 months. We're monitoring production for Ireland very closely. It is really important that you stay in contact with your chosen Peugeot Dealer, who will advise you on arrival dates and availability, if you wish to secure a unit in the coming months. The prices are not yet announced but I will keep you posted. Any questions, give me a shout. My very best regards, Emma.

Looked at them while in France, hopefully will be dragging my arse around in one come the new year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Wh1skeyjack

Thanks Barney, great to know. What's your experience of Peugeot been? The new ones certainly look very nice, but I've never driven one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭SmithySeller

Hi lads,

Need a bit of advice on what 7 seat SUV would be best. I've a budget of up to 50k, but I'd prefer not to hit that if I can. Mileage would be low, about 15k km a year, mostly for town and school runs and the odd trip down the country. The models I'm looking at are:

Hyundai Santa Fe: don't know much about these, but the price seems right. Whats their reliability and running costs like? Would it be worth getting a new one or a 2 or 3 year old model?

Discovery Sport: Ticks a lot of boxes, but I've an innate suspicion of their reliability. Can get a year old model probably for around my budget. Would want to get the HSE version if possible.

Skoda Kodiaq: Really like the look of this one, but there's a big wait on models and I need something by September. Model I want would come in around 40k.

Peugeot 5008 SUV: looks lovely, but no idea when they're out. Apparently in September in the UK.

BMW X5: Can get a 2-3 year old model for my budget. Love the brand but haven't owned one myself before, so unsure of their servicing costs? Pricy?

Volvo XC90: my preferred option, but the new model remains out of reach for now.

At the moment I'm leaning towards the X5, first because it'll have suffered most of it's depreciation already, and secondly because I really like the look of them. My one concern is servicing and upkeep costs. I'm looking at buying outright (no loan required) but if leasing or PCP makes more financial sense I'll look at that. Thanks for the help in advance!

We'd get a better feel if you told us what the 7 seats are used for. 4, 5 or 7 people etc, do you use Car Seats, if so how many?
    Because of low mileage, some of the new petrol engines might be of interest. 50K is a fair whack of money, that allows a lot of flexibility.

The 7 seats are used for school runs mainly. My wife will be the main user and she does a lot of pick-ups and drops, so she'll need the flexibility of having the seats to accommodate three to five kids. Not a big fan of MPVs, hence the SUV option. There will be occasional (once a month or so) journeys of over 200km.

Very dated now. Kia Sorento is a bigger and better bus IMO

Smallest of the lot and has a tiny 3rd row that's very difficult to access and IMO a cheap plastic interior. I'd say it's difficult to get three kids seats into 2nd row if you need to.

I would imagine this is going to be popular but for me the exterior is bland and bordering on ugly, but that's just a personal opinion. Reviews are saying its both tight across the 2nd row, and again just like all above its a 5+2 car. Great build options though.

According to reviews a more practical 2nd and 3rd row. Good looking car, but you could be waiting until 2018. Not as flexible build options as the Kodiaq.

If you bought 2 or 3 year old approved you'd probably get a 2 year warranty. Nice bus, very nice, but will still depreciate a minimum of 5K a year, if not more for the following 3 years I reckon.

Biggest and best of them all from a seating perspective, but youre right, little supply and very expensive.

If I had 50K, the Beemer would be top of my list I think!

BTW, Kia Sorento facelift is due late this year. Santa Fe, new model coming in 2019 I think, also new X5 coming soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,639 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Do any of your kids require car seats?
    They take up a lot of room and if you have two on the go leave little room in the middle.
    Do you want manual or auto?
    Any size constraints for parking?

The kids do require car seats, but one is just a booster seat. Other two are the bigger bulkier ones (infant and toddler). Parking isn't an issue, driveway is fairly roomy. Would definitely prefer the auto, diesel version preferred too. Thanks for all the feedback on this btw, it's very helpful.

One question though: what are the running costs on an X5 like? The mpg seems decent, presume the tyres wouldn't give you much change from 1k though. What does an annual service run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

I have an x25d 2015 from new. Servicing is not expensive if you have the servicing plan. 5 years cost me €550. Serviced already, usual stuff, no cost, the second service is due next month so again no cost for me.

The plan is transferable to the next owner so watch out for that if you go for an X5.

I had a Sorento before and before that a Santa Fe . Santa Fe is the weaker of the two and the newer Sorentos, especially top spec ones are very good places to be. Servicing however is not cheap. I would think my average was about 400 per year.

Tyres for all these things are expensive, especially BMWs with runflats, so bear that in mind also. Paid over a grand for a set for my yolk last year.. You can get cheaper tyres etc. but then it does not make sense to spend 50ish on a car an replace the tyres with ****e ones.

Watch road tax. BMW X25d is 390 and that dropped to even less for the newer models. Sorento was 750 last time I looked at the auto AWD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Going on just appearance, I'd go for the Volvo.

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Going on just appearance, I'd go for the Volvo.

Basic X5 against basic XC90 and I would definitely agree. However, the XC90 starts looking a bit lumpy next to an upspecced SE X5 or an M Sport. If the OP buys 2/3 year old he should have a good choice.

Still, I do like the Volvo and considering an Xc90 R myself for next time around as new they seem to now be far better value since BMW upped their X5 list prices a couple of months ago.

Alright, Wh1skeyjack

No experience with peugeot myself, im in the same boat as yerself tho as regards a 7 seater, have been driving a galaxy the last 6yrs & while i cant fault it the new ones are boring & plain looking. Looked at most the models you've quoted & have been very impressed with the Pug5008 (test drive in france with me + missus & 3 kids all in boosters in the middle row = lovely & well smart.)
    2nd choice would be the seat alhambra but again didnt tickle me as much as the 5008. Took the skoda for a good spin with all in again & it was a definite no, this also goes for the santa fe. (was talkin to a guy in the showroom he was forking out e600 for a wing mirror for his that had been knocked off in the street) Really enjoyed the pug3008 & seat alteca we got for a days trial, but having been used to the room in a galaxy the 5008 will be our choice. Renault grand scenic was also a good 7/10 but didnt suit my style. :p Volvo was super but expensive & the middle row was not taking the 3 boosters.

My head was wrecked for weeks :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

I can't see why tyres on an x5 would be any more expensive than a car? What is that standard wheel size on an x5, 18 or 19“ ? Ok so you get the xl version of the tyre, but I can't see the tyres costing anything significantly more than a 520d?

I can't see why tyres on an x5 would be any more expensive than a car? What is that standard wheel size on an x5, 18 or 19“ ? Ok so you get the xk version of thrones tyre, but I can't see the tyres costing anything significantly more than a 520d?

Ps, also considered the x5 - v - xc90 and went with the xc90 in the end. Nothing really in it but one small consideration was that I hope to keep the car for a long time and I've noticed quite a few older x5s seem to have attracted the scanger element. The xc90 doesn't seem to have that appeal, I guess it's seen as a mother's car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

freddieot wrote: »
    Basic X5 against basic XC90 and I would definitely agree. However, the XC90 starts looking a bit lumpy next to an upspecced SE X5 or an M Sport. If the OP buys 2/3 year old he should have a good choice.

Still, I do like the Volvo and considering an Xc90 R myself for next time around as new they seem to now be far better value since BMW upped their X5 list prices a couple of months ago.

Are all X5's 7 seaters?

medic112 wrote: »
    Alright, Wh1skeyjack

Took the skoda for a good spin with all in again & it was a definite no,

Out of interest, for what reason? Was it that the 2nd row wasn't good enough?

Casati wrote: »
    Are all X5's 7 seaters?

No, but some models have it as an option. It's called third row seating.

I can't see why tyres on an x5 would be any more expensive than a car? What is that standard wheel size on an x5, 18 or 19“ ? Ok so you get the xk version of thrones tyre, but I can't see the tyres costing anything significantly more than a 520d?

It's not just about wheel size when it comes to tyres. 18 is the standard on the X5 SE. However, this is not the same as a 520 18 rim. The height and width of the SUV tyres are much larger so more rubber is required and therefore more expensive.

A better example of this is if you look at the 19 or 20 inch wheels for the X5. The current x5 M Sport for example has 20 inch wheels but has wider tyres on the back so also different prices from those on the front.

@ SmithySeller

the skoda just wasnt a good drive + was sad inside, the middle row is the usual setup of 40/20/40. Skodia have lost a super oppertunity to develop a class 7 seater suv & have failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Have you considered the S Max Vignale. Higher spec than the Titanium model. Full leather seats. There are a few 2017 models on dondeal for €45 - 50,000. They look very nice inside.