Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Youuuuuuu............Boobie!

• 18-07-2017 9:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭

Few weeks ago there I was woken up by some muttering.

How am I going to get out of here .. what in the f**k ..

Looked out the door and saw a lad with a Landcruiser and a horsebox who was after driving down the end of the lane and had nowhere to turn and a few young girleens ran around the corner and started asking me if I knew where ___ posh horse stable place was.

Yer man starts giving out stink to one of the girls for sending him up this awkward place and in doing so calls her a "boobie". It was most unusual, never heard this word being used to describe a silly person and it seems almost certain he intended to call her a b1tch but changed his mind at the last possible second.

The whole thing reminded me of another incident where a lad was giving out to someone about their son robbing a Christmas tree from their's trailer and repeatedly threatening with "If I catch that fuc...pup"

So I was thinking it must be common enough that people utter these poorly disguised expletives, so does anyone have any similar tales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

No, none. Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Thread disappoints catastrophically.
    I'm considering legal action for false advertisement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Yippe-kay-ay Melonfarmer.

Also, this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

My ma used to call me "a little B"

Whether B stood for bollix or bastard, I will never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

hairyslug wrote: »
    My ma used to call me "a little B"

Whether B stood for bollix or bastard, I will never know

That's cos you were "stung"... wha!

(oh dear)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Looked out the door and saw a lad with a Landcruiser and a horsebox who was after driving down the end of the lane and had nowhere to turn and a few young girleens ran around the corner and started asking me if I knew where ___ posh horse stable place was.

Yer man starts giving out stink to one of the girls for sending him up this awkward place and in doing so calls her a "boobie". It was most unusual, never heard this word being used to describe a silly person and it seems almost certain he intended to call her a b1tch but changed his mind at the last possible second.

The whole thing reminded me of another incident where a lad was giving out to someone about their son robbing a Christmas tree from their's trailer and repeatedly threatening with "If I catch that fuc...pup"

So I was thinking it must be common enough that people utter these poorly disguised expletives, so does anyone have any similar tales?

Did he have large sideburns and a terrible dress Sense?
    He has never been very nice about her and famously calls her ‘Booby’, because like the South American bird, he claims she’s ‘stupid, squawks a lot and was easy to catch’.

John McCririck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

What should have happened. He asks you how to get out. You look at him, look at the road, look at the car, take a suck of your pipe, reply:

"I wouldn't start from here if I was you"

Another suck of pipe. Walk into the house shaking your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Where the hell are the boobies?? Serious anti-climax here.

Well I have heard people on American TV shows say "you boob", meaning that someone is an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Where the hell are the boobies?? Serious anti-climax here.

Well I have heard people on American TV shows say "you boob", meaning that someone is an idiot.

I have been called a stupid tit a few times right enough. But never a boob. Not sure if I am happy about that or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

My Grandma, when she was extremely vexed called really terrible, awful people 'baskets'.

You had to be a truly appalling person to get called a basket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Some people use ''Boobie'' as a term of endearment. Very irritating. I think it's a Jewish thing, but not that widespread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

I think the jewish word is 'bubby' from bubbeleh which is a general term of affection.

A Booby is a kind of bird, a very thick kind of bird:
    Their name was possibly based on the Spanish slang term bobo, meaning "stupid",[1][2] as these tame birds had a habit of landing on board sailing ships, where they were easily captured and eaten.

They're apparently really easy to catch because they're not too quick to cop on to danger, and were the kind of seabird most frequently captured and eaten by the shipwrecked.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Booby

So calling someone a Booby is calling them slow and stupid.

(I think the Yiddish word referred to above is Bubbe - it's an affectionate term for grandmother, I've a US friend who talks all the time about his Bubbe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Skeletor calls someone a boob a few times in He-Man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Booby (you spelled it wrong) is a very old expression for a stupid person. The Booby Bird (a kind of gannet) got it's name because it acts and looks stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I first heard of the blue-footed booby courtesy of Kurt Vonnegut, in his novel Galapagos. The mating dance sounded very interesting but I never checked it out until now.