Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feckin flys

• 17-07-2017 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,174 ✭✭✭✭

Why are they so thick? There so annoying. They fly into the house and then eventually navigate their way towards an open window but when you try to usher them out they keep flying into the glass and not out through the open. Bloody annoying creatures. Whats their purpose in life anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Can of fly spray or a flapper!

billyhead wrote: »
    Bloody annoying creatures. Whats their purpose in life anyway?

To annoy.

They're really good at it.

The best are the ones that only announce they're in the room when you're in bed, the lights off...and THEN you hear them, and you have to do the whole "can I fall asleep with it or will it force me to get up" analysis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

What do you call a fly with no wings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

To annoy.

They're really good at it.

Ah, I kind of enjoy watching the dog trying to catch them. 7/8 years old and only seen her do it once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

A sadist's pet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

A walk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Clean your house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

A walk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

One pissed off fly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Jeff Goldblum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Flies are pricks.

Remember to point this out next time someone starts bitching about spiders around the gaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Jeff Goldblum

Jesus I hate that guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

What's the definition of pain ?
    A fly sliding down a razor blade using his mickey as a brake !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

These yokes work very well.

The random, back and forth flight is an evolutionary survival trait to make it more difficult for predators to catch them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Bastards have largely gone to bed now. Until ye turn the light out to hunker down with a film .... :mad:

I know it's considered low tech and old fashioned. But, it sure as hell takes its toll!

tn_P7170162.jpg

Every little helps! Filthy bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    These yokes work very well.

The random, back and forth flight is an evolutionary survival trait to make it more difficult for predators to catch them.

They do work well , but doesn't the bastard fly explode on contact sending bits of himself flying in all directions .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

..... doesn't the bastard fly explode on contact sending bits of himself flying in all directions .

No. They tend to more stick to the grill, sizzling and smoking, till their burned out husk drops into the tray below.

That said? Ye'd be insane to set one above ye food prep surface! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

They do work well , but doesn't the bastard fly explode on contact sending bits of himself flying in all directions .

Regular flys don't explode. You might have an islamic species on your hands there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

The minute I see one buzzing around I get out the fly spray immediately. If its on the wall I'll spray just above it and if it's flying around I'll spray the lamp shades and the windows. No need to spray the whole room. A squirt into the bin is not a bad idea either. Since I recently employed this kill em straight away strategy I have found that I have had far far less of a problem with them since ever so it's clearly working.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Fookin midges driving me nuts, will ye ever fook off lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

The worst is when you open the bin and a swarm of them engulf you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,077 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I don't like button flys.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Fookin midges driving me nuts, will ye ever fook off lads!

Midgets drive me nuts