Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What makes you "known to Gardai"?

• 17-07-2017 12:13AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

Do you have to be a multiple convicted criminal?

Actively involved in gangs?

Been a part of an assault?

Caught drink driving?

What makes it so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

An introduction from a trusted third party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,042 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

If you gave PJ a lift, you know him. But if PJ gave you a lift, then he knows you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

At some point you'd grabbed a cappuccino with the garda sergeant. And shared your dreams and hopes. Gossiped a bit. Bonded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

'Known to the Gardai' is a euphemism for 'well known figure involved in crime'.

'Helping Gardai with their enquires' is a euphemism for 'main suspect currently confessing or being interrogated'

• Site Banned Posts: 29 friedhof

obviously gardai are same as normal human,

they may let you go free for drink driving or hammer you into insurance oblivion for fake speed trap,

keep the faith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I've had a couple of speeding tickets over the years. Does that make me "known to the Gardai"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭worded

Dropping off boxes of choc ices to the station in hot weather

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

When I skipped ahead of them in the local takeaway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

When you work in the local chipper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Based on context it means gangster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

Stopped asked questions such as name address date of birth. Stopped multiple times asked the same questions by different Guards. Being brought in for "questioning" asked to provide name address DOB. Being seen with so and so who was also asked the same questions by different Gardai. Is it not obvious??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

'Known to the Gardai' is a euphemism for 'well known figure involved in crime'.

'Helping Gardai with their enquires' is a euphemism for 'main suspect currently confessing or being interrogated'

Another journalistic trope is adding the family status of crime victims (even if they were scumbags themselves, as in the current gangland war)

You never hear "perpetrator is a married father of two".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

When donkey dick is mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,439 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Kind of related but why when getting your passport renewed do you have to go to your local Garda station? In urban areas the Guards in the local station have as much chance of knowing most people as a Guard a hundred miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Going to the passing put ceremony in Templemore. Nice lunch after in a hotel in Thurles, like a wedding it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,823 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Collie D wrote: »
    Kind of related but why when getting your passport renewed do you have to go to your local Garda station? In urban areas the Guards in the local station have as much chance of knowing most people as a Guard a hundred miles away.

thankfully there is no need for that anymore. you can do it online in 10 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,439 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

thankfully there is no need for that anymore. you can do it online in 10 minutes.

Is that not just for the card? Got one last year and as you say it was a quick process on a phone app. But thought you still needed to get photos signed for the regular book.

Good to hear though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,823 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Collie D wrote: »
    Is that not just for the card? Got one last year and as you say it was a quick process on a phone app. But thought you still needed to get photos signed for the regular book.

Good to hear though

nope you can do the full passport renewal online now. you can even upload your own photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Stigura

A low light of my life: Stood, waiting to get at the cash point. Hear a hearty " Hullo! How are ye?! "

Turn round and there's this complete stranger standing there. I look him up and down ~ literally. Grubby shirt. Cement stained denims and old shoes. I look at him, completely blankly. He says something to the effect of, " Ah, f**k ye then! " and walks away.

It took me months to finally work out, even asking around the town; It had been John B! The absolutely fantastic ~ and recently retired ~ Sgt. of the local Gards!

Retired. Out of uniform. Doing a spot of DIY and he'd run into me :o I, to this day, feel So bad about that! I was known to the Gard. But failed to recognise I knew Him! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

word of mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Well, to be fair, that would be a help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Go around looking suspicious.

Cant remember exactly but the Garda were around investigating something and my friends brother was telling me when he was walking by them, he put his collar up, sunglasses on and started acting fidgety and sketchy! I think they stopped him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

'Known to the Gardai' Means they have no clue what's going on and when the journalist asked if they knew someone they just said "yes, but it's secret guard stuff" so they wouldn't have to say who the person actually is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

ScumLord wrote: »
    'Known to the Gardai' Means they have no clue what's going on and when the journalist asked if they knew someone they just said "yes, but it's secret guard stuff" so they wouldn't have to say who the person actually is.

might be its none of the journalists business or yours for that matter

Another journalistic trope...

Did you ever notice how marque cars get named in reports whereas regular cars don't?

Mr Mulligan was shot as he got out of his Mercedes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Did you ever notice how marque cars get named in reports whereas regular cars don't?

Product Placement. It's everywhere now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Whenever I see "well known to the Gardai" in relation to a violent crime, my brain automatically translates it as "should have been in prison already but our bullsh!t courts don't have the balls to do what is necessary".

I think it's more of a case of using a bit of legalese. I suppose the media has to protect itself from litigation and some outlets probably care about their reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Probably means you have come to their attention in a negative way more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

is it just me that sang the thread title to the tune of one directions ''what makes you beautiful'' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I knew a Garda (and I still do) before she become one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Ah here that ****s total bollox!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,699 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Los Lobos wrote: »
    Ah here that ****s total bollox!!

Are you saying he was shot while inside his Mercedes?

Not your ornery onager