Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Footing turf cost

• 11-07-2017 12:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭

Hello All,
    I have looked and looked and can't find an answer so I've come here. :)
    How much do you pay someone to foot your turf? We need help this year and a young lad is going to help us but we don't want to short change him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭Shpudnik

€10 an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Hello All,
    I have looked and looked and can't find an answer so I've come here. :)
    How much do you pay someone to foot your turf? We need help this year and a young lad is going to help us but we don't want to short change him!

Depends where you are. Ours is cut with a hopper behind a tractor and is about 4-5€ per hopper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I gave €15/ten sod hopper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Kat1170

There is not enough money in the world to make me ever foot turf again. Hated it with a passion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭roosky

We have a 80 yard row that is 8 sods wide and thats 15 euro to foot that

neighbor has a 6 sod row thats about 60 yards and thats a 10 to foot that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

90 odd yard 8 sod hopper footed for cash. Tenner a hopper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

What do ye mean by footing turf?

Making a little stack for drying is it?

(Never cut or used turf or been on a bog before. So clueless.):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭Shpudnik

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    What do ye mean by footing turf?

Making a little stack for drying is it?

(Never cut or used turf or been on a bog before. So clueless.):)
    Exactly that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Kat1170 wrote: »
    There is not enough money in the world to make me ever foot turf again. Hated it with a passion.

He should be paying them to keep him away from the bog.
    Fcuk turf I say.

Kat1170 wrote: »

Hear hear. Cruel on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

8 sod, 110 yard long. €12 a bin/hopper

100 yard last year was €10

3rd year these lads have done it for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,998 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I said wrote: »
    Fcuk turf I say.

I actually loved the bog when was young, though I had had no jobs to do at home and it usually meant a day off school.
    Covered in mud to keep the midges off and tae , sandwiches and cold minerals in the sun. You'd sleep that night though

cjmc wrote: »
    I actually loved the bog when was young, though I had had no jobs to do at home and it usually meant a day off school.
    Covered in mud to keep the midges off and tae , sandwiches and cold minerals in the sun. You'd sleep that night though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

8 sod, 110 yard long. €12 a bin/hopper

100 yard last year was €10

3rd year these lads have done it for me

Lazy hoor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Reggie. wrote: »
    Lazy hoor sod

FYP :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I said wrote: »
    Fcuk turf I say.
    When I saw the title of this thread I thought of you and anticipated some sort of response. Remind me to ask you in the debts of Winter how toasty your feet are when propped up by the fire :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭smiley girl

Thanks so much for all your replies. Very much appreciated!

We are going to pay the young lad a tenner an hour. After reading the replies that said euros per amount we were going to go that route but now we are just going to pay him per hour.

He's a good lad, hard worker and I wouldn't mind if someone paid me to foot it!! My own turf that is, I'd have a funny turn if I had to do anymore than that :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Well tis minimum wage anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭shootermcgee

They usually charge 80 a plot in South tipperary