Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you travelled solo?

• 04-07-2017 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

I'm a student currently on summer holidays and I'm considering travelling solo. It's supposedly an extremely fulfilling and exhilarating thing to do, and I'm wondering if anyone here has actually done it and I'd love to hear how your experience was.

I suppose it would be fairly strange to tell your family that you're going travelling on your own for a while (because you would appear a bit of a loner), but I've heard solo travel is much more liberating and a better experience.

The main issue is that it may become lonely, especially if you don't meet other people and form friendships, but I think it's a necessary risk to take.

What's your take on it? Would you recommend it? Would you ever consider travelling solo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The main issue is that it may become lonely, especially if you don't meet other people and form friendships, but I think it's a necessary risk to take.

Bring a book. There will be times when you're alone. accept this and enjoy your alone time.

I've travelled SE Asia, Europe and South America. I've done a lot of it alone. I've also made loads of friends. Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't understand why people see travelling solo as such a big deal. It's just a matter of going to the place without other people.

I travel most places solo, it can be a bit of a pain travelling with other people because you have to find something everybody wants to do, spend an hour waiting around for everybody to get ready, the list of reasons not to travel with other people is long.

If you're young just book into hostels, use a site like hostelworld and you won't be alone for long. Everybody loves having Irish around, you won't have any problems.

You don't even need to put all that much effort into booking things these days and if you go somewhere and don't like it just get on a train and go somewhere else.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

I'm a student currently on summer holidays and I'm considering travelling solo. It's supposedly an extremely fulfilling and exhilarating thing to do, and I'm wondering if anyone here has actually done it and I'd love to hear how your experience was.

I suppose it would be fairly strange to tell your family that you're going travelling on your own for a while (because you would appear a bit of a loner), but I've heard solo travel is much more liberating and a better experience.

What's your take on it? Would you recommend it? Would you ever consider travelling solo?
    Yep, loads of times and a great time was had. Loads and loads of people travel alone so you won't be some kind of outlier. In fact, in some places, all the other westerners I came across were solo travellers.

I travel for work all the time alone and often stay on an extra few days to do a bit of sightseeing if I'm somewhere interesting. Its fine for a few days but I wouldn't fancy a long holiday alone as you can't even do something like leave your stuff on a beach to go to the toilet or get a drink, no one to watch your bag etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't understand why people see travelling solo as such a big deal. It's just a matter of going to the place without other people.

I travel most places solo, it can be a bit of a pain travelling with other people because you have to find something everybody wants to do, spend an hour waiting around for everybody to get ready, the list of reasons not to travel with other people is long.

If you're young just book into hostels, use a site like hostelworld and you won't be alone for long. Everybody loves having Irish around, you won't have any problems.

You don't even need to put all that much effort into booking things these days and if you go somewhere and don't like it just get on a train and go somewhere else.

Is it more advisable to book hostels days/weeks in advance or just kind of on the day or turn up?

Thanks for the insight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭BetsyEllen

I went away solo for the first time last year and I LOVED it!
    I went to Rome for a week. It's the most incredible place I've ever been.

My advice would be to stay in a hostel; I think I would have felt a bit lonely had I stayed in a hotel.

Choose your destination carefully though.
    I went away again this year alone - to Belgium, as it sounded cool.
    I hated it and felt extremely lonely and miserable.

Depending on your budget, you could also look at going as part of a group?

G Adventures and Intrepid Travel do great trips.
    http://www.intrepidtravel.com/ie/about/solo-travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭ozbackineire

I travelled alone around Australia and loved every single second of it. You don't have to answer to anybody or wait for anyone to do anything, you get up and go yourself. I made lots of friends along the way, some I never saw again some I am still in touch with.

Book into a hostel wherever you go and you will meet heaps of people who are travelling solo. I am not a very outgoing or chatty person but I get chatting to someone sitting beside me while chilling on the couch during the day or by the pool and we would end up going out that night, that is how i met people.

I found it very liberating. I have since travelled to America and some of Europe solo. I like going with people but i much prefer being by myself. nothing weird about that at all. you just have to like your own company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

When you are travelling in a group everything goes at the pace of the slowest person.
    I do prefer travelling alone. Pick my own seat on the plane, eat what I like, stay in whatever accommodation I want, alter my plans as I need...
    I have enough a sense of adventure to wander off the beaten track and really get to know a new city. My only issue was making friends as I have to go out of my comfort zone to chat to randomers.

It is not for everyone though. If you are not good with your own company, not good at chatting to strangers, lack the nous to figure out where to go and what to enjoy in a new location then travelling alone may not be for you.

Is it more advisable to book hostels days/weeks in advance or just kind of on the day or turn up?

Thanks for the insight

Without a doubt, book in advance.

I use Hostelworld to see the reviews but then go to the hostels own website where possible, sometimes you can get a better deal or have more room choices.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Thanks for the insight

Depends on the season and where you are going. If it is a peak time then advance would be recommended, however if you are going out of season you would be grand with arriving on the day.

BetsyEllen wrote: »

My advice would be to stay in a hostel; I think I would have felt a bit lonely had I stayed in a hotel.

http://www.intrepidtravel.com/ie/about/solo-travel

Great, thanks for the info.

I speak German so would be very open to spending some time in a German/Austrian city. There are lots of French and Italian cities which look fantastic as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Thanks for the insight

Depends on the time of season. If it's peak and it's a popular destination, they will fill up fast and you'll wind up paying over the odds for a dorm bed.

Some of them are released on quota and if hostelworld tell you the a place is fully booked, it just means their quota is fully booked - try other websites like booking.com (they do hostels as well) and the hostel website.

In general? If you're comfortbale starting conversatrions with random backpacers and locals and reasonably streetwise, then yeah - go for it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Great, thanks for the info.

I speak German so would be very open to spending some time in a German/Austrian city. There are lots of French and Italian cities which look fantastic as well!

Austria is high on my list, particularly Salzburg.
    I'd like to possibly fly into Munich and then cross the border.

The Lonely Planet guide books are good; I always get one before I go away to a new place :)
    I found that planning as much as I could in advance made me feel less anxious when I went to Rome.

By the way, you should check out the travel forum - lots of solo travel going on over there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭mel123

Ive done it, and its the best experience you will ever have. Ive done a lot of it now at this stage - i actually find it hard to go away with friends now, its just different, its hard to explain. I suppose it depends where you are going as well, for your first time. Ive been some places and its not as easy as other places to meet people if that makes sense.
    Dont book in advance, dont be tied to time. Do what you want, when you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Yes I do. Mostly to cities and that kind of destination. Great not to have to wonder what anyone else wants to do. I like my own company.

I think I would find it a tad difficult outside the cities TBH. But I haven't tried it so I am on the fence there!

It's nice to have a break with company and even nicer sometimes to go away on your own. But I think you have to feel comfortable with your choice on your own. Start small, and then build up maybe.

Thanks for the insight
    Prudence would say book in advance, and you should book in advance for your first night at least. It can also depend on the time of year and popularity of the hostel but I travelled across Europe 10 years ago or so and would just decide to leave a city one day, go online, find numbers for a few hostels in the next city and ring them on the train. I was only caught short once in all my years of travelling like this, I got to Amsterdam and there was a few conventions on and everything in the city was gone, but I found a campsite. Being Amsterdam I could get the tram to the campsite and it cost a fiver (I had a tent with me but you can rent them at most campsites) The next day I was in the flying pig. Camp sites in in mainland Europe are generally pretty good, don't overlook them.

Even now I travel like that, I drove to southern Spain last year and would just look up hotels on the way and got great deals using booking.com, stayed in places I didn't even know existed, it was just at the end of the Spanish holiday season so everything was empty on the way back.

A European travelling in Europe doesn't need to worry about anything, there are more than enough hotels and hostels to stay in. The crappy ones are almost better, you'll remember those ones more so than the good ones and they tend to attract cooler people.

I've done a number of city breaks alone. It's great, do your own thing. Couldn't really do it with a beach holiday though i reckon, leaving your stuff alone or whatever.

ScumLord wrote: »

I personally don't see it as a big deal, but I'm sure there are people who consider it strange or weird. These people are probably best ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭dizzyn

I am beyond interested in travelling solo... but I'm a 19 year old girl. If any women have traveled solo could you please share some tips? I seriously want to do it!!!

dizzyn wrote: »
    I am beyond interested in travelling solo... but I'm a 19 year old girl. If any women have traveled solo could you please share some tips? I seriously want to do it!!!

I was about to suggest that we could go together as I am also 19, but then it wouldn't be solo travel :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Sex tourism is probably best done solo, well up until a certain point or it's not really sex tourism, more **** tourism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

I went to Asia with Contiki last year and it was possibly the best experience of my life. I only went solo because me and my ex had always planned to go there together, and after we broke up I said "F*ck it, I'll go anyway", and was delighted I did. Met some great Irish people on the tour I've stayed friends with, and a lot of great Aussies, Brits and Yanks who I still keep in contact with too, and most importantly, had an absolute blast completely out of my comfort zone that's reshaped my whole perception on "doing things solo".

So basically, go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I travel alone and I love it, I don't have to compromise for others or worry about their budget and my own budget when it comes to doing something.
    I am going to the US next month on my own but will spend 8 days with a group of people I never met, and then another few days with a different group camping whom I never met.
    I never get lonely and I do enjoy my own company so travelling solo is never an issue.
    I was in Italy for a week on my own earlier in the year and you meet people whether it is planned or not.
    I think once you do it the first time, you should never have an issue doing it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Stay in a hostel, the good ones organise activities for guests for just this reason. Ranging from walking tours to cheap pub crawls, open mic nights in the common room to board game nights.

If you want to ease into it and see how you like it, try a mid week trip to somewhere like Edinburgh where you can get cheap flights and a cheap bed.

I personally don't see it as a big deal, but I'm sure there are people who consider it strange or weird.
    There certainly are people who won't go outside their county without someone holding their hand.

I actually found out a few years after I went travelling that I literally followed the plot of Hostel (the horror film) to a tee. I met some people in Prague, they said they were going to this cool town, went there, saw the castle with a bear mote. Had a great time.

Then a few years later watched Hostel and noticed the town I went to was the town in the film and everything was more or less the same for me except the murdering part.

So never mind all the horror stories you hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

I do it all the time, thanks to work and a particular leisure interest. It has its benefits and its disadvantages. The main benefit is being able to change your plans at very short notice, and contrary to what's been said above, I've found the most amazing places are rarely in big towns or cities. I came across one in the East of France a few months ago, as a result of taking a wrong turn - a geological bowl at the end of a valley with four great waterfalls pouring into it, and a rickety staircase that led up to a huge cave at the head of the biggest cascade. I go solo to events around the country in the expectation that I'll meet interesting people when I get there, and I do, and when things work out well, I meet them again in another place at another time.

The disadvantage of doing everything on your own, though, is never getting to see places through the eyes of someone else. After so many years of traipsing around urban and rural landscapes unaccompanied, I'm starting to miss the annoyance of a companion saying "ah come on, let's try this place, it might be fun"

I generally only travel abroad with other people if I'm going on a city break, or travelling for a specific activity (beach holiday, stag do, concert, Cheltenham, etc). If I'm going somewhere long-haul or for a week+, I invariably travel alone.

It has never occurred to me that there's anything unusual about this. In fact, I'm pretty sure there isn't. I would have thought this were the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭fg1406

Yes plenty of times. Across Europe and the US. My husbands job is quite inflexible regarding time off so when I can I go off for a weekend or 4/5 days in Europe. Before we met though I would go further afield and for longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I went to Canada for a year by myself. Best thing I ever did, made lots of friends over there that I'm still in contact with. I made a decision early on to accept every invitation that came my way, and it really pushed me out of my comfort zone.

Defo recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Humour Me

dizzyn wrote: »

Interailling around Europe is a great way to start solo travels as you will meet loads of other people doing the same thing and share experiences. I love travelling solo as you actually meet more people, people who travel in groups tend to stick together.

My tips would be
    Book the first nights accomodation in advance every time you move so your not stressed trying to find a bed for the night. If you don't like the hostel too much you can move to another the next day.
    Read the reviews on hostelworld to get an idea of the security in the hostel, some places may provide lockers in the dorm room. Others may not have any restrictions on who can enter the dorm room while you are out all day.
    Always try and arrive at a new destination during daylight hours. I've gotten a lot of catcalls arriving in train stations late at night and wandering around streets trying to find my hostel.
    Don't bring a massive bag, you will only fill it up and won't use half the stuff you bring. I spent a year travelling solo in NZ and Oz with a 60l bag and honestly there were a number of things I could have easily left behind.
    Always make sure you have your phone fully charged and keep a separate stash of cash/ credit card in case you get separated from your bag.
    Don't plan ahead too far, I loved Berlin when I got there but had prebooked a train to Prague for 3 days later. I would have loved to spend longer in the city.
    Things will happen, you will miss a bus, you will overstay because you can't face getting on a train with a hangover, it's all part of the fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I was in Asia alone for nearly 5 months this year. Would recommend it to anyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Travelling on your own is great. Just book into a dorm and you won't be stuck for people to hang around. Plenty there will be travelling solo too.

I'd advise to always have your next place booked. Nothing worse than getting off a bus or a train and wandering around aimlessly with your backpack on you.

Companies like G Adventure are great if you've nobody to travel with but wanna travel with a group. Loads of other companies like them too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

I enjoy and recommend it so much that I'll never go to a place I badly want to go to unless I go there alone. Too many opinions and voices holding you back and affecting YOUR holiday. Besides stags and shagging holidays I always go on holidays alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Grayson wrote: »
    Bring a book. There will be times when you're alone. accept this and enjoy your alone time.

I've travelled SE Asia, Europe and South America. I've done a lot of it alone. I've also made loads of friends. Go for it.

Bring a book???! Sure may as well stay at home.

Op don't bring a book. You can get lost in fantasy from your bed. You're there to experience. Did people mention boredom and loneliness in this thread? Jesus.

Op touch the soil. Lick the gravel. Inhale the moss yah man. It's the experience. It's in the moment. Be there be you. Experience the haptic quality of anotherness. You should be internally orgasmic in the intensity of the fleeting experience of the now. The now is nothing but your mind in the moment man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Oh next we will have those who have gone to Outer Mongolia or trans Siberian or wherever on their own. Great, no one is giving out about that.

Some people just cannot do that. But a short city break for starters may end up with mad travels alone.

Start out slow and short journeys, and then go for it, if you like yourself on your own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

I've had to travel a lot for work and always try to tack on a few days to do some solo travel. I'm female. I lived abroad for a summer with friends one year and made sure to just get up and go places myself that I was interested in. You know how people are - someone will flake at the last minute, or delay the whole thing. I found that my little solo adventures helped with keeping the home life harmonious too. I got to do my thing, people were free to come along with me, but if not no prob.

After a crappy interrail experience with a fussy friend, I became an advocate of travelling alone! You can go eat when and where you like, get up early/stay up late if you feel like it. Take a more scenic route. Going around by bus or train is probably way less stressful than dealing with lots of flights/jetlag etc alone.

Plan as much as you can in advance, even if that does take some of the spontaneity out of it. It will help with any anxiety you have about the trip. Look up routes to and from airports/stations to your accommodation, have a nose on Google maps to see what the area looks like, or if there's anywhere decent to get a bite to eat. Definitely take advantage of any tours arranged from hostels, you might meet a few people on that. If you choose to hang out more with them or travel on with them, then great. If theyre a bunch of weirdos then you never have to see them again! Even having smartphones nowadays helps a lot more with basic getting around, from using the maps to looking up public transport options and dining out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

you can camp around most of NZ and from Adelaide up to Fraiser Island in Australia
    the campsites over there are great!

hire a car, buy a tent and sleeping bags and away you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Avadavadoo

BetsyEllen wrote: »

I agree choose your destination wisely. I was in Berlin, Rome and Florence earlier this year Berlin and Rome were spectacular but Florence left me lonesome and feeling sorry for myself (possibly because it was quieter).

If you like spending time alone though go for it! I booked everything quite far in advance and I stayed in beautiful places that were fairly reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Yes, albeit not for years. It's brilliant.

It's something you have less scope for as you get older because of relationships, family and responsibilities

It's not necessarily better than traveling with others, just great in a different way.

I'd recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭wijam

As I've got older and friends have all married off I've had to travel solo, and as most have said it's enjoyable and hassle free. Only started a few years back in my 40's.

The last 2 trips were both Med cruises, so although you're alone, you're not, and the cruises do organise solo traveller meet-ups, have made some good friends from that, and it's a good way to see different cities.

This year, as in this Friday :), I'm doing a 10 night city break, Budapest - Bratislava - Vienna - Salzburg - Munich. Mostly hostels and ending up in a hotel in Munich, really looking forward to it, have an idea of what I want to do in each city, but no concrete plans, as I'll go with the flow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have travelled alone a bit and always enjoyed it.
    When you are by yourself you are more likely to get approached by others, and also more inclined to make new friends.
    Go for it OP, I'm sure you'll have a great time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Travelling solo is the only way to travel.

Nobody annoying you.

Burial. wrote: »
    I enjoy and recommend it so much that I'll never go to a place I badly want to go to unless I go there alone. Too many opinions and voices holding you back and affecting YOUR holiday. Besides stags and shagging holidays I always go on holidays alone.
    Sorry kids but daddies been waiting to go to disneyland for a lot longer than you have and I'm not going to have my visit ruined listening to ye little feckers whinging.

wijam wrote: »
    As I've got older and friends have all married off I've had to travel solo, and as most have said it's enjoyable and hassle free. Only started a few years back in my 40's.

The last 2 trips were both Med cruises, so although you're alone, you're not, and the cruises do organise solo traveller meet-ups, have made some good friends from that, and it's a good way to see different cities.

This year, as in this Friday :), I'm doing a 10 night city break, Budapest - Bratislava - Vienna - Salzburg - Munich. Mostly hostels and ending up in a hotel in Munich, really looking forward to it, have an idea of what I want to do in each city, but no concrete plans, as I'll go with the flow.

I was looking at a very similar break recently!
    I'd be really interested so hear how you get on.
    Hope you have an amazing time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

As you probably can guess there is many threads on this topic in Travel forum
    Here is a search http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?subforums=1&forum=37&query=solo