Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA themed 40th

• 04-07-2017 10:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Hi folks!
    My very good friend turns 40 this weekend. WE NEED SOME IDEAS!
    Unfortunately some of us can't travel to Ennis this weekend so we are throwing her a surprise party. BBQ followed by the match on telly (and no doubt a few drinks!)
    So I'm wondering if anybody has any good ideas for a themed party?
    Everybody is wearing their mayo kit, we are having a mayo themed cake and will have the house decked out in flags.
    But suggestions for anything more interesting or fun would be greatly appreciated,
    Cheers,
    Neno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Put a **** load of preparation into the event, wheel the guy in...scream happy birthday then smash everything to pieces before his eyes and tell him to f**k off home

That would be a pretty strong Mayo theme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭statto25

I can't see this thread ending well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Get a piñata with the Clare colors on it and smash it to bits at end of match :)

Kids love piñatas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Surely this is a plant of a thread just so we can all wind-up Mayo?

Stage it in Limerick for one, make sure there are no traveller's funerals on the same day or else all 40s will be cursed in the county going forward.

Make sure you check your emails so that Aidan O Shea can verify who you can and cant invite.

Constantly reiterate annoying statement in manner that you think is in jest but is just tiresome at this stage.

When it turns out to be crap- blame everyone else and not the fact that you're not a good enough events organiser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Invite all the Sams you know. One might be the right one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 NenoGAA

You're ruining my buzz!!

Surely this is a plant of a thread just so we can all wind-up Mayo?

Stage it in Limerick for one, make sure there are no traveller's funerals on the same day or else all 40s will be cursed in the county going forward.

Make sure you check your emails so that Aidan O Shea can verify who you can and cant invite.

Constantly reiterate annoying statement in manner that you think is in jest but is just tiresome at this stage.

When it turns out to be crap- blame everyone else and not the fact that you're not a good enough events organiser

Cranky!!
    Bambi wrote: »
    Put a **** load of preparation into the event, wheel the guy in...scream happy birthday then smash everything to pieces before his eyes and tell him to f**k off home

That would be a pretty strong Mayo theme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,336 ✭✭✭✭km79

NenoGAA wrote: »
    You're ruining my buzz!!

If this is your buzz then I suggest you go out and get a life instead of planning a make believe birthday party ;)

This I like.
    Oldtree wrote: »
    Get a piñata with the Clare colors on it and smash it to bits at end of match :)

Kids love piñatas.

Ouch!!
    km79 wrote: »
    If this is your buzz then I suggest you go out and get a life instead of planning a make believe birthday party ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

km79 wrote:
    If this is your buzz then I suggest you go out and get a life instead of planning a make believe birthday party

OR get a life and stop trying to wind people up on the internet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Get a few of these books and hand them out, could be cheap if you buy in bulk:

51Y5RMG8KNL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Make sure someone in attendance knows the Heimlich Manoeuvre.

Have someone at the front door scanning invitations. Then lose/smash/delete/feck up the handheld scanner and don't update their attendance at the party. If they query it be stubborn as hell and insist they weren't at the party

statto25 wrote: »
    Have someone at the front door scanning invitations. Then lose/smash/delete/feck up the handheld scanner and don't update their attendance at the party. If they query it be stubborn as hell and insist they weren't at the party

What does this have to do with Mayo blowing finals and blaming everyone else for it?

Nothing. Just like your post (and mine) have nothing to do with the thread topic. Settle down, it's only a bit of fun.

I was joking!!

In that case Id like to retract my smart ass comment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Stoner wrote: »

I am from Mayo and I laughed at this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Have a treasure hunt.

But don't hide any treasure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Ballstein

In fairness any Mayo supporter I've talked to pretty much accepts they lost all those finals themselves. The only one they give out about is the semi final they got shafted in down in Limerick and in fairness the whole country saw what happened that day.

If it's going to be an authentic Mayo themed birthday then you don't tell Aidan anything about it

You want to be sure that he doesn't show up on the big day

You must be a little out of sorts today km79. I'll post you a pic on Saturday to let you know how it goes
    OR get a life and stop trying to wind people up on the internet

We are holding talks in secret
    If it's going to be an authentic Mayo themed birthday then you don't tell Aidan anything about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Ouch !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

NenoGAA wrote: »
    Hi folks!
    My very good friend turns 40 this weekend. WE NEED SOME IDEAS!
    Unfortunately some of us can't travel to Ennis this weekend so we are throwing her a surprise party. BBQ followed by the match on telly (and no doubt a few drinks!)
    So I'm wondering if anybody has any good ideas for a themed party?
    Everybody is wearing their mayo kit, we are having a mayo themed cake and will have the house decked out in flags.
    But suggestions for anything more interesting or fun would be greatly appreciated,
    Cheers,
    Neno

Get a few lifesize cardboard cut-outs of the players and have them in the garden for when she arrives.

How is this still open ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

km79 wrote: »
    How is this still open ?

Few Derry lads were asking that question after yee went 3 ahead with a minute to go last sunday.

Sure who knows! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

km79 wrote:
    How is this still open ?

I thought it was more than likely authentic, I'd have reported it otherwise.

Ballstein wrote: »
    In fairness any Mayo supporter I've talked to pretty much accepts they lost all those finals themselves. The only one they give out about is the semi final they got shafted in down in Limerick and in fairness the whole country saw what happened that day.

Yeah I know- it was criminally stupid to leave Donaghy 1 on 1 inside for the whole match but surely that's Mayo's own fault.

Oh wait- you're buying into some conspiracy arent you- one that says that the plucky losers were shafted when infact they threw away about a 8/9 point lead, had idiotic tactics and still had umpteen chances to win the game but got their keeper (who cant kick frees) to come up and try to win it for them at the end.

Nonsense- Mayo's stupidity beat Mayo that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Have the dress themed. For men, blonde highlights in the hair, bootcut denim jeans and black shoes. The edgier ones can wear an earring. Basically Google noighties culchie fashion and you'll get the current Mayo uniform.

Have those annoying blowhorns from the 90s everywhere. And flags. The only thing Mayo fans like more than blowhorns is flags.

The organiser will get dogs abuse regardless. In fact have 2 more organisers patrolling each sides of the house. The more people to recieve abuse the better.

Get all the biggest Mayo fans but place them in seats in the corner, or better still don't let them sit down at all. It's irrelevant if they rsvp'd first.

Get a credit union loan for some brand new expensive furniture to sit on but put some big poles in front of it so nobody can see what's going on. Get some local business men to bail you out when you can't pay back the loan.

Hire Damien Comer and have him randomly level people with shoulders. Hire Colm Coyle to punt long bouncing balls in from the garden. At the last minute switch out your "allstar" entertainer and find a dodgy backup

I knew Mayo weren't liked as a county but this thread is on a whole different level. Some of ye have some serious chips on your shoulders

Mayo not liked as a county? Up to about 5 years ago, no county would've got as much goodwill from others as Mayo got. Everyones "second team". Now, despite living in a country where everyone roots for the underdog, and their nemesis being the capital, they're becoming disliked. I'd say that can only be down to themselves

Don't forget to leave plenty of parking space for the lads from Roscommon cos they're gonna show up in their big bus but then they'll f**k off home early

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Mayo not liked as a county? Up to about 5 years ago, no county would've got as much goodwill from others as Mayo got. Everyones "second team". Now, despite living in a country where everyone roots for the underdog, and their nemesis being the capital, they're becoming disliked. I'd say that can only be down to themselves

Why, because we want success after a lifetime for some without an All Ireland title? Besides we follow our team up and down the country and shout about our support and love of the game? Folks wanted to latch onto this underdog story cause their own counties were doing feck all. Now that Mayo have regressed we aren't the glamorous underdog everyone liked so now it's easy to dislike the team. People are fickle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Don't forget to leave plenty of parking space for the lads from Roscommon cos they're gonna show up in their big bus but then they'll f**k off home early

Yeah, but the Rossie bus has a stripper pole, a jacuzzi, a martini bar and a pool table. That bad boy should be getting pride of place at the party, if ye have any sense. If you have any one from Donegal there, put them in charge of parking the bus. They'll just do a much better job than anyone else.

Why, because we want success after a lifetime for some without an All Ireland title? Besides we follow our team up and down the country and shout about our support and love of the game? Folks wanted to latch onto this underdog story cause their own counties were doing feck all. Now that Mayo have regressed we aren't the glamorous underdog everyone liked so now it's easy to dislike the team. People are fickle.

People don't like the underdog because theyve regressed?? Do you get the contradiction there?

The actions of players such as Boyle and CO'C, time wasting as the end of games, blaming referess, #mayo4sam and things like "Mayo day" in April is why the country has done a 180 on liking Mayo

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    People don't like the underdog because theyve regressed?? Do you get the contradiction there?

The actions of players such as Boyle and CO'C, time wasting as the end of games, blaming referess, #mayo4sam and things like "Mayo day" in April is why the country has done a 180 on liking Mayo

I see the contradiction, what I mean is Mayo at 2012 were a team that were on the rise, knocking at the door but not quite there but seem to have regressed a little this year. Now they are no longer fashionable to "fans" who brand them as chokers, has-beens, bottlers.
    What's wrong with celebrating your county? Boyle and Cillian do things on the field that players from all other counties do also. Mayo4Sam was a bit of a laugh that got a bit out of hand but not harm in it either. Mayo day was created to try and put a bit of spirit and festivity into the county at a time when the recession was still gripping the county. It enticed people to get out to events and celebrate being from Mayo. I cannot see why that would make other counties dislike us? Maybe take some pride in your own county instead of coming on here and using a thread like this to bash mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭northknife

Did ye write a silly crappy song for her 40th birthday just like all the other crappy songs that Mayo people release when they get a sniff of Croke Park

tongue.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Wow, another 'let's bash Mayo' thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Clare supporter here... bit of caution for ye .. do not park on double lines especially or outside houses on the footpaths or ye will have an 80e ticket to pay too guards have cleaned up at some matches ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

I see the contradiction, what I mean is Mayo at 2012 were a team that were on the rise, knocking at the door but not quite there but seem to have regressed a little this year. Now they are no longer fashionable to "fans" who brand them as chokers, has-beens, bottlers.
    What's wrong with celebrating your county? Boyle and Cillian do things on the field that players from all other counties do also. Mayo4Sam was a bit of a laugh that got a bit out of hand but not harm in it either. Mayo day was created to try and put a bit of spirit and festivity into the county at a time when the recession was still gripping the county. It enticed people to get out to events and celebrate being from Mayo. I cannot see why that would make other counties dislike us? Maybe take some pride in your own county instead of coming on here and using a thread like this to bash mayo.

Great post my friend.

Wow, another 'let's bash Mayo' thread.

Are the mods on holiday ?
    Still open after nearly 2 days
    Think I'll start a Diarmuid Connolly thread see how long it lasts ..........

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Right, I thought this was an actual serious thread but given that there are roughly zero serious replies, I'll lock it up.
    And most replies were a bit of banter lads!