Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society - Moyvalley 22nd July @ 12.20

• 04-07-2017 7:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭

The year really is flying by as we are now approaching our 3rd last outing of the year! Our next stop is Moyvalley, Co. Kildare to play the Darren Clarke designed course which hosted the 107th Irish PGA Championship last month. There is a course guide courtesy of the big man himself at: https://www.moyvalleygolf.com/course/course-tour/hole/1/

We are teeing off at 12:20 on Saturday the 22nd of July so let me know your availability as soon as you can and any requirements for early/late tee-times. The green fee for the day will be €35.

Don't forget that the race for the Ryder Jug team is hotting up and if you want to make it onto the team to play against REPS in Mount Juliet every point could be crucial.

Any thoughts or questions give me a shout.

ballyk

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I've a wedding that Saturday, they'd hardly move it for me?!! :)

Enjoy everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I've a wedding that Saturday, they'd hardly move it for me?!! :)

Enjoy everyone.

Instead of moving date, have them switch venue to MV to keep it handy for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

Wont be able to make this as it clashes with my mother in-laws Lady Captains day. Played the course earlier in the year its a cracker for a society .

Enjoy All

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

It clashes with our Captain's Prize in the club as well so will have to give the Captains Prize a miss this year :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I won't be able to make this one either :(

Unless :eek:
    RoadRunner wrote: »
    Instead of moving date, have them switch venue to MV to keep it handy for everyone.

Any chance you can have a chat with Paul, Dave, Larry & Adam to see if they can move their gig out there also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭benny79

I'm also going to miss this as i'll be in Liverpool at The Open...

Did I mention I'm going to The Open! :D

benny79 wrote: »
    I'm also going to miss this as i'll be in Liverpool at The Open...

Did I mention I'm going to The Open! :D

You're a jammy git!

Did I mention you're a jammy git? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Im in captain - early tee time for me please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭3putt

Sorry lads going to miss this one too. Been unfortunate this year with other stuff getting in the way on the weekends the outings have been on.

Played Moyvalley last month the week before Irish PGA event and the place was in excellent condition. Have a great day out there lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Macker1

Looking forward to this outing as I have been unable to attend the last two outings because of Pierce Purcell commitments and work. I have only played Moyvalley on one occasion but from what I can remember its a nice track. Hopefully some good weather and a chance to climb back up the GOTY standings.

See you there.......

Early time please. Can't wait. Their website is lovely (apart from all the typos in darren clarkes quotes). Any other tips or general observations from anyone who's played it before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

Early time please. Can't wait. Their website is lovely (apart from all the typos in darren clarkes quotes). Any other tips or general observations from anyone who's played it before?

Off the society tees 3wood is good off the tee for a lot of holes.

Play 16 as a three to the green hole unless you get a monster drive away down the left, if you miss the green its a very tough up and down.

15 is short Par 4 on the back nine the safest shot is to go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,595 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Their website is lovely (apart from all the typos in darren clarkes quotes).

Darren was well on the sesh at that stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭one man clappin

Played Moyvalley today as part of a scramble off the back tees. It is a really great course and was in excellent condition today. Some monsters of holes from the back sticks including the par 5 13th of 621 yards with wind into your face.

I've just been in touch with Moyvalley and I wanted to let you all know of an offer they have going for next weekend. The standard green fee is €35 but they are also doing golf + a carvery for €40. If people are interested in that offer please let me know. If not you should still be able to order off the bar menu.

We should be off the green tees and as per previous posters I believe the course is in great shape at the moment. The club have suggested Longest Drive on 8 and Nearest the Pin on 14. As I haven't had the privilege of playing the course does anyone have any views on this?

ballyk

P.S. We still have plenty of slots left on our booking and it would be great to get more players, notwithstanding the fact the outing unfortunately clashes with U2 and various events that people have on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭one man clappin

Hi, 8 would be perfect for longest drive, it was playing with the wind last saturday. Also 14 is a nice par 3 downhill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Course is looking great since the new owners and European Golf Design became involved.

Flybys here; http://www.golfgraffix.com/webtours/moyvalley.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

ballyk wrote: »

I've just been in touch with Moyvalley and I wanted to let you all know of an offer they have going for next weekend. The standard green fee is €35 but they are also doing golf + a carvery for €40. If people are interested in that offer please let me know. If not you should still be able to order off the bar menu.

We should be off the green tees and as per previous posters I believe the course is in great shape at the moment. The club have suggested Longest Drive on 8 and Nearest the Pin on 14. As I haven't had the privilege of playing the course does anyone have any views on this?

ballyk

P.S. We still have plenty of slots left on our booking and it would be great to get more players, notwithstanding the fact the outing unfortunately clashes with U2 and various events that people have on.

I can tag along as a society guest?

Played in a gale a few weeks back but still enjoyed it.

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    I can tag along as a society guest?

Played in a gale a few weeks back but still enjoyed it.

Absolutely, you're more than welcome. Just confirm either on this thread or via pm if you're in and if you have any requirements in terms of tee-times.

Hopefully there won't be a gale on Saturday week and the good weather lasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭a post punk

Sorry I'm missing this outing ballyk, clashing with my holidays! Will definitely be at the next 1 to push up that leaderboard:) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,830 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

I'm not going to be able to make this one either unfortunately, tied up with family commitments that day unfortunately.

Haven't played there in a few years & I know that they've put a lot of work in recently, so would have been nice to get to play it again.

Guys, I'm going to Exit this One. Have a Beautiful Day, let's hope there won't be an Electrical Storm. It's Bad luck and my Desire to be there In God's Country With or Without You is Magnificent. But I'll be Staring at the Sun Where the Streets Have no Name, Standing Still on a grass field on the northside of Dublin somewhere near Cedarwood Road. It's a Sort of Homecoming for a few lads and I'll probably wake on Sunday, Bloody Sunday, with a sore head no doubt after a night in the City with Blinding Lights partying like it's the Last Night on Earth.

Captain, you are not the Original of the Species, Sometimes You Can't Make it on Your Own, but this year happened All Because of You so take some Pride, you have organised the year in Mysterious Ways without getting Out of Control. I've been in your shoes and you can Get Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of, it's The Sweetest Thing and you will want to Stay up on the Elevation, but don't get Vertigo up there Please!

To next year's Captain, you'll Walk On New Years Day and say to yourself......... I Will Follow.

I'm off now to go and suck a Lemon, them things are Even Better Than The Real Thing but I hope it doesn't make me Numb cause I know I'll go Crazy if I Don't go Crazy Tonight.

That's brilliant Seve. Even Fix himself would be proud of that sort of eloquence! Sorry you won't be able to join us but have a great time at the concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tigerwood1

It clashes with our Captain's Prize in the club as well so will have to give the Captains Prize a miss this year :(

A shame to miss your Captains especially with the low turnout, I am sure the lads attending would be happy to see you make your captains instead ?. And i'll try to fill your duties for the day ?:).

ps put me down for carvery please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Alanm

Can I get an early tee time for this please? I won't be able to hang around afterwards unfortunately.
    Looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Break80

Early tee time for me as well please.
    Have a do in my clubhouse that night so need to be back as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭doublecross

I just declined on Teamer. There's a chance I'll be able to go but I wont know till late in week.

Here's hoping the fantastic weather will last until Saturday. yr.no seems to have it as 17 degrees with a moderate breeze which should be grand!

The provisional timesheet is here but it is subject to change.
    Time: | Player 1 | Player 2 | Player 3
    12.20: | BigChap1759 | RoadRunner | Alanm
    12.28: | Break80 | ThecHamp26 | jarrieta
    12.36: | paulos53 | Brian Rossiter | Guest
    12.44: | Tigerwood1 | The Big Easy | Macker1
    12:52: | ballyk | dan_ep82 | Spudmonkey

We still have a few free spots on the timesheet so we can accomodate those who won't know until later in the week whether they can make it.

Thanks for the offer of looking after things Tiger. I might try and see if I can get a half day on Friday to play the Captain's Prize. Seeing as I haven't hit a golf ball in a month I'm hardly likely to be contending anyway so it's no biggie if I am to give it a miss for Moyvalley!

Yours in golf,

ballyk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭jarrieta

Hey, just saw the carvery offer, write me down for it, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,595 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Enjoy the day today gents :)

I'll be there a little early to get some range time, looking forward to it

Weather is looking great for today unless there are sudden changes. Should be a good day for golf.

kGJo38J.jpg

In a Little While we'll land in Croker for the concert folks. Hope you had a good game, was sorry to miss it but Sometimes You Can't Make it on Your Own

Just home.

Course and food was great , my golf was ok and the company was class. Very well put together, fair play Bally

I even won the visitor prize with 36pts along with 3 scratches, great watching Spudmonkey playing aswell, great player and Ballyk was no slouch either. If I took the 2i off the tee more I might have had a look in but still enjoyed it

I got talking to someone else (Dan?) who i take it was the Big Easy? Nice to meet you man, see if we can talk a bit more next time :)

Nice to meet Macker again and a few other lads

Til next time

Fudfj2r.jpg

Who won lads ?

What a fantastic day to be out playing golf. The course was in excellent shape and the scoring was very impressive.

My game was very up and down but had an enjoyable day out with Spudmonkey and dan_ep82. Highlight of the round was Spudmonkey's eagle on the par 5 13th! dan_ep82 played some very tidy golf and could have featured only for a few lost balls.

The results were as follows:

Longest drive: Roadrunner (again!)
    Nearest the Pin: paulos53

1st: jarrieta (42 points)
    2nd: Brian Rossiter (41 points)
    3rd: ThecHamp26 (40 points)

2s shared between Tigerwood1 and Brian Rossiter.
    Visitors Prize: dan_ep82

Amazingly we had 2 Eagles today which I doubt has ever happened at a Boards outing before (one on a par 5 and one on a par 4). :eek:

Thanks to everyone for coming and thanks to all at Moyvalley for having the course in such great condition and for looking after us with food etc afterwards. See you all in Kilkenny on the 26th of August. I'll update the Golfer of the Year standings over the weekend and post up the revised standings.

Hope our contingent at U2 are having fun!

Great scoring:)

Great day out at Moyvalley. Thanks to BallyK for the great organisation on the day. Pity that numbers were on the low side but that's Bono's fault. :(

Great company going around with The Big Easy and Tigerwood1. The Big Easy played very well for a person that hasn't played enough golf. His score of 40pts was very good and he certainly left a few points out there but that was mostly down to being a little rusty. Definitely can be a contender to repeat a win in the Captain's Prize in September. Tigerwood1 had a bit of an off day with his driver being a bit errant at times which made his scoring quite difficult. Putted quite well and had a great birdie 2 which got him in the money.
    For myself I was disappointed in the slow start which was a bit frustrating but I kept plugging away and pulled out 17pts on the front. Back 9 was really good with 1 birdie, 6 pars and 2 bogeys which gave me a back 9 of 23 points so 40pts overall. Delighted with the score :) and really surprised that I didn't finish in the top 3. Getting beat into 4th on count-back after 23 pts was a even bigger surprise :eek:
    Congrats to Javier who won with 42pts and runner-up Brian with 41pts The scoring from the lads was fantastic and it goes to show just how much talent is in the society

Two events to go and there are a number of strong contenders for the GOTY and places on the Ryder Jug team when we defend down in Mount Juliet. Lets get it on :D:D:D

I've updated the Golfer of the Year standings which can be found here: http://www.mygolfsociety.ie/boards_golf_society.xhtml?page=society.details.4256.golfer_of_the_year

We have a new leader as tigerwood1 moves to the top of the standings, followed by paulos53 and Break80. Only 26 points separates first from third though so the gap at the top is really tiny. Macker1 and Alanm have both only played 4 events so they are right in contention too as is Brian who only has 3 events under his belt.

It's all to play for in the next two events so an exciting finale to the year should be in store! :D

Lovely day. Nice course. Lovely greens, some of the best I've played. Short off the yellows though and relatively wide. Eagle putts on three of the par5's. With eagle chips/pitches from just off the green on many of the par4's. Made none of them of course :( but was level par after the front 9 which was is a first for me (even despite a cold putter!)
    Lost the flow on the back nine to come in with 39 pts. Really enjoyed the day. If only there was GOTY points for best 9 hole followed by worst 9 I'd be leading the table for sure :D
    Well done to the +40 guys.
    Enjoying the last day of the open now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭paulos53

We have a new leader as tigerwood1 moves to the top of the standings, followed by paulos53 and Break80. Only 26 points separates first from third though so the gap at the top is really tiny.

Unfortunately I will miss the next 2 events so I am out of contention for Goty. With it being so close I fully expect to drop down to 9th or 10th in the table and I might even need some results to go my way in Killarney to secure a Ryder Jug spot.

Well done to Brian on his eagle on Saturday. A great drive to hit the 15th green and an even better downhill 40+ foot putt in the middle of the hole for the 2.

paulos53 wrote: »
    Unfortunately I will miss the next 2 events so I am out of contention for Goty. With it being so close I fully expect to drop down to 9th or 10th in the table and I might even need some results to go my way in Killarney to secure a Ryder Jug spot.

Well done to Brian on his eagle on Saturday. A great drive to hit the 15th green and an even better downhill 40+ foot putt in the middle of the hole for the 2.

how far he hit it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭paulos53

The card says 260 yards but the tee was pushed forward. Maybe 245 yards uphill to the centre of the green?