Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tGC AMA with Knex.

• 03-07-2017 8:21am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,519 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Next up is Knex!

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Favourite album?

Are you a butter and jam on toast/scone man, or one or the other?

What's your life ambition at this moment in time?

Favourite item of clothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Mr Bloat

I would like to ask the same question of each of the AMA contributors. Can you:

*Read a map
    *Wire a plug
    * Cook at least one decent meal from scratch (pouring boiled water into a Pot Noodle doesn't count)
    *Sew a button
    *Hang a shelf
    *Change a tyre
    *Change a nappy
    *Whistle with your fingers
    *Jump start a car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

D'Agger wrote: »
    Favourite album? Hmm. I'm going to narrow it down to the ones I've listened to most in the past 12 months. Loved Kanye - Life of Pablo, Chance - Colouring Book, Kiasmos - Kiasmos, Maribou State - Portraits, and Bonobo - Migration. But the winner is probably Bon Iver, 22 a million.

Are you a butter and jam on toast/scone man, or one or the other? I'm a jam on scone kind of man. College taught me to be frugal, taste spuds inspired me to keep the change.

What's your life ambition at this moment in time? I've three main ones. In no particular order: 1. Record an acoustic EP. 2. Become a UI/UX contractor. 3. Teach myself music production, just for the craic. The notion of creating an electronic version of A Thiarna Dean Trocaire seems hilarious to me.

Favourite item of clothing? Jeans! I don't actually own a single pair of tracksuit pants. I'm pretty much in jeans all the time, unless shorts are being broken out. I've a grey pair of Levi 511s that I'm particularly attached to. I also have a fondness for jackets.
    Mr Bloat wrote: »
    I would like to ask the same question of each of the AMA contributors. Can you:

*Read a map Doubt google maps count. I have vague memories of using a map years ago, but I'm going to go with a no on this one. My pride wants me to say yes, however.

*Wire a plug
    I can indeed. Was mad into engineering/construction etc back in my secondary school days.

* Cook at least one decent meal from scratch (pouring boiled water into a Pot Noodle doesn't count) Yeah, loads. Don't often have the patience, but as long as we're not talking about risotto or something long and complex like that, then we're golden. Recently made chicken, bacon and mushroom vol au vents from scratch, for example.

*Sew a button Yup.

*Hang a shelf Also yes.

*Change a tyre Aye. Have done so a few times.

*Change a nappy No. Thankfully not something I've had to add to my repertoire yet.

*Whistle with your fingers
    Nope. I can't whistle properly at all :mad: Kills me that I can't, but I've accepted that it will always escape me. Funnily, my aul fella can whistle very well, but he can't click his fingers. The two of us taking the piss out of each other for our non talents in these areas is a bit like watching Timmy and Jimmy.

*Jump start a car
    Yup! Have done this once or twice before too.

Wasn't too sure what was the best format to answer the questions, so hopefully this is legible.

Edit: I can't believe I forgot Frank Ocean - Blonde for albums of the past year. Up there with Bon Iver's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Do you want to get married some day?

Do you think you would like children?

Favourite sporting moment as a competitor?

Favourite sporting moment as a fan?

When did you last cry?

What do you think of McGregor Vs Mayweather?

Have you ever had to deal with a bully?

What's your worst habit?

Favourite drink, alcoholic and non alcoholic?

Last time you had a fry for breakfast?

Last time you were balubas drunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

How do you prefer to spend your free time?

Rod Munch wrote: »
    Do you want to get married some day? I'm genuinely not sure about this. I would have said no a few years ago, but that's definitely shifted a bit. I can see it happening, but I wouldn't say its in an absolute life plan or anything.

Do you think you would like children? Same as above, actually!

Favourite sporting moment as a competitor? Won a few county medals with GAA, but I think the games I enjoyed the absolute most were actually some 5 a side football tournaments I entered with mates in college. Got to the final in one year and lost to some lads who had all played for Cork City, so we did well in that context. I love watching Sport, and was a lot more passionate about playing it when I was younger, but it was always just something enjoyable to me rather than an absolute burning competitive spirit thing.

Favourite sporting moment as a fan? Istanbul 2005. Liverpool winning the Champions League. Just an absolute rollercoaster.

When did you last cry? Almost a year ago. First time in years. Seeing the pain my Dad was in and how helpless my Mother was at time was pretty rough.

What do you think of McGregor Vs Mayweather? Its just a pure show. I'm looking forward to it, but I can't see in anyway how McGregor could win it. He's an amateur boxer against one of the best of all time. Its a bit mad, really.

Have you ever had to deal with a bully? Not really. Had a few people try to start **** with me back in secondary school, but I was always well able to be verbally confrontational, take the piss out of them, and make them feck off onto an easier target :D

What's your worst habit? Sometimes I'm too passive, or let things slide. So either that, or at times I can be a little too negative about things for no real reason and have to snap myself out of it. There the ones I'm aware of anyway!

Favourite drink, alcoholic and non alcoholic? Alcohol: Whiskey - Jameson. Non alcholic, perhaps Coke, but its very rare that I would drink it. Probably just water with Summer Fruit cordial, tbh. Happy days drinking that.

Last time you had a fry for breakfast? Last Friday :D

Last time you were balubas drunk? Work christmas party last year. Next day was the worst hangover I think I ever endured. Open bar all night. Wreckless altogether.

Cheers for the questions!

How do you prefer to spend your free time?

I adore my own time, despite being fairly extroverted. Love just chilling in my room, guitar in hand, and flicking between boards & reddit. If I'm not playing music myself, then its on in the background. Finding new artists on Spotify or YouTube is something I love doing.

NFL on Sundays is another thing that I love to watch alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Knex. wrote: »
    I adore my own time, despite being fairly extroverted. Love just chilling in my room, guitar in hand, and flicking between boards & reddit. If I'm not playing music myself, then its on in the background. Finding new artists on Spotify or YouTube is something I love doing.
    Who's your favourite new artist of the last five years?

Damn, that's a tough one. Lots of people I've only found in that time frame, but who were producing music a few years prior.

I think the one who has absolutely exploded in 5 years is Chance The Rapper. Heard his song, "Good ass intro" about three or four years ago, and now in 2017 he's become an absolute super star. He's like the McGregor of hip hop!

Catching Flies is definitely one of the lesser known artists that I am delighted to have found. Love his stuff. Youngr is perhaps one to watch from the UK who has only started releasing stuff recently.