Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MMRC & PPP Crews

• 28-06-2017 10:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭

I travel a lot on the road basically in a triangle from Dundalk to Mullingar to Dublin and everything in between. One thing i notice on my travels when i am using the Motorways that is annoying the hell out of me are small incidents that block the network for hours. The latest incident that drove me mad was a jeep that caught fire on the M3 which resulted in it blocked are a period of time.

No body was hurt and fire crews attended , but what really got me was 5 garda cars attended which was complete over kill considering only two gardai where directing traffic around the fire while the rest of the lads where having a chat. I know some of the Engineers and Managers that work on these Roads and they are more then capable of running the traffic management crews they have to get the road flowing without wasting garda resources on issues like this.

if it is a non fatal incident on our networks surly one garda car will do and let the motorway crews get the road moving. I know there is legal issues as i was told that a foreman of one of these crews moved a car that was half in the shoulder and half in the driving lane to get traffic going. He got a slap on the wrist as legally he needs to have a guard present but the problem there was he had waited 90 mins and no guards had arrived, so he believed it would be safer to move the car and get traffic going.

Does anyone think local bye laws could be passed on motorways so these crews can do what it takes to keep the traffic flowing without the need for the gardai in non fatal issues such as abandoned or broke down cars where the owner has left the scene

Rant over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NedNew2

I totally agree. It appears to be standard procedure for a brigade of Garda cars, fire brigades and so on to be called to slight incidents which then take his to be removed while most Gardai just watch. Compare this with Germany, or most other references countries, where the incident is recorded and moved out of the way in minutes rather than hours.

It's all very unprofessional and inefficient here.