Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Civic type r value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I'm thinking €5k. Might be off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭paddydone1

Was thinking around that myself no point in asking a ridiculous amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

There's a few tidy 07's on donedeal asking €10k from dealers.

I'd probably aim a little higher that €5k, maybe ask €6750 and see how it fairs out, I'd say if it's tidy it'll go for that.

A friend in work went to view a dog rough one for €3500 the other week, didn't buy it but if knackered ones are asking that money, a clean one is worth more than €5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,473 ✭✭✭vandriver

Lovely car.Is it saucy to insure?

A feckin non type R is saucy to insure.

Ref the value, the uk is full of £3000-3500(€3500-4000) Type R GTs. Add €1600 for VRT. That's what you'll be up against.
    Full respray would go against it, but to be honest, they dent easily and there's not that many that haven't had work.

vandriver wrote: »
    Lovely car.Is it saucy to insure?

480 fully comp for me.

paddydone1 wrote: »
    480 fully comp for me.

How the.... with who?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    How the.... with who?

Allianz nearly always been with them 24 years Ncd

I'm with Allianz too and paying €580 on a 1.8.... now I'm 35 but is that a risky age now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Put it up on one of the many Honda Ireland groups on Facebook for 6k. It will go fairly quick there I'd imagine.

edit; nice car btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

I'm with Allianz too and paying €580 on a 1.8.... now I'm 35 but is that a risky age now?

Very risky. You are at the peak of early midlife crisis... Before 30 you are a senseless moron, and later regular mid-life crisis kicks in. As time passes your reflex deteriorates and become even more risky.

The only point in time when you are not an absolute risk is when you're 31-32.

My wife has 8th gen 1.8 Civic with them fully comp paid 380 last year we are in or forties. We get second car discounts and yearly tax saver public transport holders discounts etc.

Mad, I've been insurance shopping all week and Allianz were the cheapest on my Civic, €750 with 10 years NCB.

You're only a chap though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

Allianz nearly always been with them 24 years Ncd

I'm 25 years without a claim

Do i have a 25 year ncd ?

I only ever see 6 years on a renewal

Oh yeah, completely :pac:

I meant it in the sense that I thought it was reasonable though, Liberty wanted €1150 for renewal after me paying €800 last year.

They seem to be buying market share this year, the same way bank of Ireland were last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

480 fully comp for me.
    Mad, I've been insurance shopping all week and Allianz were the cheapest on my Civic, €750 with 10 years NCB.

And here I am paying a grand on the lethargic 1.4. Yis feckers

500e fully comp on a GTI ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I was seriously considering an 07/08 CTR 6 months ago and looked at some of the dealer cars that had €8K+ asking prices and considered many UK cars too. In the end up I decided a 3dr car simply wasn't going to be sensible with 2 children and concentrated my efforts elsewhere but if I were still looking for one, the full respray would mean I wouldn't even consider your car, it may be a very good respray but the reason for it would be the problem. I know the Milano red paint is a nightmare and fades badly as I have had to MR cars in the past but I'd prefer to see a faded original car that needs a lot of attention and detailing than a repainted one. I'd say many others might think similarly.

Thats life with modified motors and people who buy them, build modify them think a little differently than your ordinary joe soap looking for a car. The car is being taken in by a Honda dealer in a trade in who will sell it on his forecourt, with no issue about the quality of the work. But just trying to squeeze a little more out of it in a cash sale.

I have being modifying my cars for the last 24 years I lost count of how many.
    The last car I had I modified it, full respray spent 15 grand on modifications.
    It sold with in a day of being advertised. The quality of the work usually speaks for itself nothing done by halves. Icetronix are a well established company who spray hundred of cars without any issue. Your talking about a full windows out doors off, lights out, strip down respray, is a lot different than your run of the mill back street paint job.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And here I am paying a grand on the lethargic 1.4. Yis feckers
    I'd cry tears of effin joy to only pay a grand. :mad::D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭mikeecho

And ultimately, the pristine unmodified, original specimen will command the best price.