Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quad Security

• 26-06-2017 3:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi guys, new member. My farm quad was stolen last week, balls I know. Not holding out much hope and the authorities have been informed. I have two entrances to the farm, one where the house is located and a side passage. I am going to put an electric gate where the house is located and mesh on the other gate with a hard steel handle and weld a box over the handle and lock. I'll make sure the gate won't come off the hinge as well.

Looking for advice on storing a quad when I have the funds to get another one. Was thinking of installing an electric roller shutter in one shed where I will then store all my equipment. I was also thinking of alarming the shed and putting in CCTV cameras around the farm, always wanted calving cameras so might so one big job. I know I might be going over board a little but I have elderly parents living on the farm and I live a good 10 minute journey away and work fulltime off the farm.

I saw online you can buy a vice clamp lock just invented. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭enricoh

They'll be back in 6 months for the new one, ive mine n diesel tank in a shipping container with a wicket door n chubb lock. U could get a decent one for under 2000
    Dunno if yer oul lad uses it but the container doors might be hassle if he does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

GPS tracking device might be a good idea too. All tough of you tell the guards where it is there still probably do nothing !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Davidbrown1

Feedback much appreciated. If you have the time would you pm a few images. Got a quote for the roller shutter for roughly a grand so trying to decide if the container and tank would be a better option. Thanks.
    enricoh wrote: »
    They'll be back in 6 months for the new one, ive mine n diesel tank in a shipping container with a wicket door n chubb lock. U could get a decent one for under 2000
    Dunno if yer oul lad uses it but the container doors might be hassle if he does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Davidbrown1

GPS tracking device might be a good idea too. All tough of you tell the guards where it is there still probably do nothing !

I'll get a GPS tacker as well, wouldn't know much about them but will do a bit of research. Thanks man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I'll get a GPS tacker as well, wouldn't know much about them but will do a bit of research. Thanks man.
    There was a crew doing road works for the CC. They parked up their mini digger in a yard down the road from me. Their mini digger (a big one) was stolen in the early hours of a Sunday morning. The gps tracker was cut out of it and thrown into a ditch within 5 miles of where it was stolen from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Base price wrote: »
    There was a crew doing road works for the CC. They parked up their mini digger in a yard down the road from me. Their mini digger (a big one) was stolen in the early hours of a Sunday morning. The gps tracker was cut out of it and thrown into a ditch within 5 miles of where it was stolen from.

Yea, plus you can buy a jammer online rendering them useless.

I think cctv and physical security are better deterrents, they slow the crew down while hopefully cctv records them.

Chances are they'll go elsewhere where security is less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,844 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Parking a big trailer across the side passage gate always helps.. Decent security lights are always a good idea.. Tracker helps.. Even a decent gate with a decent lock across the shed entrance way will help.Mod snip

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Markcheese wrote: »
    Parking a big trailer across the side passage gate always helps.. Decent security lights are always a good idea.. Tracker helps.. Even a decent gate with a decent lock across the shed entrance way will help..

Ah jaysus will ya take that comment down, giving lads ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Byrnie55483

Since virtually every machine made these days has an electric starter, removing the fuse (and spare, of course) to the key switch, fuel pump or starter may slow crooks down enough for them to give up the fight and move on. If you are handy enough, you could confuse them further by unplugging the fuel pump.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Mod note. Please remember this is a public forum, anyone can read what's on here. Don't be giving ppl ideas. A few posts have been edited.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.