Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you've experienced that no one believes are true?

• 24-06-2017 2:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭

A bit different from the creepy thread, these are things that you experienced first-hand whether paranormal or non-paranormal (can be boring) but all the lads believe it's too far fetched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

Silly things like the rule of threes ex. births, deaths and marriages - few times these have come along in a short period of time and I got to thinking it was more a coincidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I once seen a sheep eating a dead rabbit

Like proper eating it,chewing on the fur and bones etc

Felt it was time for bed then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

not sure if this counts...

well, never took the UFO thing seriously but myself and herself were with friends in malahide one day and drinks were flowing.
    Almost missed our train and by the time we got home southside it was around 10.30pm, on a summers day.
    Still half-cut.

So we ring a take-away but bad reception, so I go out into the garden to get a better signal.
    And job done. They take the order.
    Then I see this circle overhead. It moves left and then right. But never 360.
    So i start filming it on my phone.
    It's mostly white/silver in appearance but at times it vanishes. Then re-appears.
    So I keep filming and start shouting to my girlfriend to come out "now, now, you have to see this" and she wanders out.
    And she says, yeah thats the spotlight from the new nightclub, opening tonight. Do ya wanna go?

Devastated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

Always think this story of mine seems pretty farfetched when I think back on it/tell it. 
    Had just started college and was out one weekend in this club with some friends. My friend from back home was having his 18th which I couldn't make so I was taking a panorama of the club to send him on snapchat with the caption of "having one for you" or something. Anyway, as I'm typing the caption one of a pair of girls comes over to me saying I was taking pictures of her which I obviously deny and I show her the snap. She starts reaching over trying to delete it which I stop. I look to her friend in disbelief who remained stony faced. Anyway she calls over a bouncer who asks me to delete the snap but being stubborn I said I had no reason to as she was not the subject, it was merely a dark snap of the club generally. 

He proceeds to eject me as if I'd just assaulted someone and when he brings me to the outside I try to take a photo of his badge as I thought I was going to complain the following day. I at least wanted to show some resistance. He proceeds to backhand my phone out of my hand and it flies and hits off a taxi. I pick it up and was glad to see it was still fine and then out of nowhere this tiny taxi driver starts pushing me in an absolute rage saying I had damaged his car. I was about a foot taller than him so I was keeping him at a distance saying "mate why would I throw my phone at your car". He keeps pushing me further down the street but then some kind stranger intervened and diffused the situation and then calmed me down. Randomly met my friend a few minutes later who I hadn't seen for some months and got a (different) taxi home. 

Was a pretty bizarre sequence of events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Your Ma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭YiddoOConnell

I was driving back from Cork to Dublin recently when I picked up a hitch-hiker who was obviously Muslim. He was very grateful I had stopped as it was pissing out and he was in a rush to get to the airport to fly to Syria. When we got to Dublin he said he would be eternally grateful and said as a thank you he would give me some advice "Do not go back to Cork" he said with a grave look on his face. "Why? Is there going to be an attack?" I asked. He looked at me again with the same look on his face and said...

"No, it's a ****ing $h1thole"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭FireFoxBoy

I sometimes dream about the news a day or two before it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I was driving back from Cork to Dublin recently when I picked up a hitch-hiker who was obviously Muslim. He was very grateful I had stopped as it was pissing out and he was in a rush to get to the airport to fly to Syria. When we got to Dublin he said he would be eternally grateful and said as a thank you he would give me some advice "Do not go back to Cork" he said with a grave look on his face. "Why? Is there going to be an attack?" I asked. He looked at me again with the same look on his face and said...

Baloney, nobody picks up hitchhikers :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I once seen a sheep eating a dead rabbit

Like proper eating it,chewing on the fur and bones etc

Felt it was time for bed then

Did you count sheep to get asleep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Now that's weird. I posted this joke on here about 18 months ago.

Obviously I heard it somewhere else and shared but that's word for word how O typed it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Walking through a field a few years ago and i saw a duck and a huge black toad with white spots in a puddle minding their own business. Nobody beleived me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

I was walking my dogs in the forest nearby years ago.
    It was a nice sunny day, blue skies, the lot.

I looked up at one stage to see a jet contrail, but it didn't look like a normal contrail.
    It was a straight line with what looked like donut shaped bulges at uniform intervals, almost like a string of beads.

Thought it was strange so I took a photo, still have it somewhere in my dropbox.

Fast forward a couple of years and I was sat watching discovery. The programme was about ufo's etc.
    They started talking about this top secret US spy plane called project aurora.

They showed photos of the contrail it leaves behind, exactly what I photographed a couple of years before in the skies above the midlands!

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Baloney, nobody picks up hitchhikers :)

We picked up BP Fallon on a country road in South Kerry once.

Believe it or not. The Beep himself. In the back of our car, beside me and my sister. If only I got him to sign my arm I could have tattooed over it as a permanent record of that event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Dpg21

I'm convinced I can sense when a medium/ big sized earthquake is going to happen in the area im in, It's hard to explain the feeling that comes over me,

i had lived in Ireland all my life until I was 21, so obviously never felt an earthquake growing up, when I was 21 I moved to New Zealand, everything was going fine until a few months in, I remember I was on a day off from work and I was in making dinner, I got the weirdest feeling over come me, at the time thought it was a mild panic attack because when it happens,it feels like it's hard to catch my breath for a little while, anyways within a couple of hours a 6.5 earthquake hit nearby, over the next 2 months there was a lot of after shocks but the same feeling came over me about 5 or 6 times, and usually only before a big after shock would hit, I said it to my housemates and no one believed me, said its just a coincidence, which I thought at first too if I'm honest.

Fast forward a year and a half and I decided to go to Australia for a year,and in that year I didn't get the 'panic attack' after Australia I travelled around Asia for a while on the way home, at this stage it had been about 18 months since I felt an earthquake, I was in Nepal in a hostel, lying in bed one morning I got the 'panic attack' again, next day a massive earthquake hit Nepal absolutely destroying the city I was in and injuring an killing a lot of people,

I'm convinced I can somehow sense when big earthquake is going to happen but most people I tell my story too are usually very skeptical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Dpg21 wrote: »
    I'm convinced I can sense when a medium/ big sized earthquake is going to happen in the area im in, It's hard to explain the feeling that comes over me,

i had lived in Ireland all my life until I was 21, so obviously never felt an earthquake growing up, when I was 21 I moved to New Zealand, everything was going fine until a few months in, I remember I was on a day off from work and I was in making dinner, I got the weirdest feeling over come me, at the time thought it was a mild panic attack because when it happens,it feels like it's hard to catch my breath for a little while, anyways within a couple of hours a 6.5 earthquake hit nearby, over the next 2 months there was a lot of after shocks but the same feeling came over me about 5 or 6 times, and usually only before a big after shock would hit, I said it to my housemates and no one believed me, said its just a coincidence, which I thought at first too if I'm honest.

Fast forward a year and a half and I decided to go to Australia for a year,and in that year I didn't get the 'panic attack'

Do you also bark and move to higher ground when a tsunami is coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Frogscotch

In 1988 I let a helium balloon go in glasgow with my name and address and got a postcard back from Barbados saying the sender had caught my balloon floating past a beach. No one believed it was genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I was in Mexico on holiday many years ago with family. We took a day trip one day out to Chichen Itza to see the Mayan ruins. It was a regular trip, nothing out of the ordinary, kinda boring for a kid. On the bus back being as bored as I was I was looking out the window at the sky when all of a sudden I saw this small round metallic object appear from a cloud. I remember it clear as day - it was a highly polished aluminium look round/oval shaped object with the sun and clouds reflecting off it. In hindsight I'd say it was about 2-3000ft up. It moved slowly to the left out from behind this cloud, and as I was watching it suddenly it darted up and to the right, at incredible speed in a diagonal shape. It must have gained a thousand feet in about half a second. It then stopped instantly, then immediately darted again to the left and came to a complete stop again. I would best describe it as making a backwards Z shape as it moved. The lightening speed it made those moves and the complete stops it came to were absolutely impossible - yet I saw it with my own eyes. It disappeared behind a cloud and I never saw it again.

It really shook me up. I had known about the UFO phenomenon through TV and popular culture but never before had I seen anything like it in person. Was it aliens? I dunno. Was it a bleeding edge military project? Probably more plausible. All I know is that what I saw was as real as the computer in front of me. It made me re-think a lot of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I see dead people.

Collie D wrote: »
    Now that's weird. I posted this joke on here about 18 months ago.

Obviously I heard it somewhere else and shared but that's word for word how O typed it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?

I came across it too but the hitcher was going to Cork from Dublin and Dublin was a sh1thole according to him.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I see dead people.
    So do I at removals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Thursday night I will be a little more like you ye your queen of Ireland but the only reason she has ever had the same thing is the fact she was a lesser known hero for a man of war and a man. The walking is a great way of getting the kids and kids for a different kind than with their own family. The fact I don't know if it's the right time of a week off of school and my phone won't work and it's just not working out. The fact is he has gone to the school he goes out for the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I have seen something which exists inside us all but which most people are unaware of.

If someone told me about it before I had witnessed it myself, I would've said they were full of it or had been hoodwinked in some fashion.

Not a chance I'd post about though as nobody would believe it and I'd look mad.

Even madder than you already think I am :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I have seen something which exists inside us all but which most people are unaware of.

If someone told me about it before I had witnessed it myself, I would've said they were full of it or had been hoodwinked in some fashion.

Not a chance I'd post about though as nobody would believe it and I'd look mad.

Even madder than you already think I am :p

Ah Pete, everyone has an appendix inside them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

May or may not have had a sasquatch encounter whilst in my tent, camping in Yosemite. Could've been a bear, but bears don't have huge hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I see dead people.
    Sam Kade wrote: »
    So do I at removals.

Will ye see them in the future?
    Remains to be seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

I've had my holidays disrupted three times in completely different places by Bruce Bloody Willis.

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Jobs OXO wrote: »
    Thursday night I will be a little more like you ye your queen of Ireland but the only reason she has ever had the same thing is the fact she was a lesser known hero for a man of war and a man. The walking is a great way of getting the kids and kids for a different kind than with their own family. The fact I don't know if it's the right time of a week off of school and my phone won't work and it's just not working out. The fact is he has gone to the school he goes out for the first.

Delighted for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

About a month ago I was in work and went out the back to put the bins out.About 10 feet away there was a cat playing tug of war with a rat over some sort of food waste while 2 or 3 other cats looked on.I then noticed there was 3 rats looking on from under an industrial bin.

It was mad, the cats didn't go for the rats and it was like a mutual respect for whatever game they were up to .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

About a month ago I was in work and went out the back to put the bins out.About 10 feet away there was a cat playing tug of war with a rat over some sort of food waste while 2 or 3 other cats looked on.I then noticed there was 3 rats looking on from under an industrial bin.

It was mad, the cats didn't go for the rats and it was like a mutual respect for whatever game they were up to .

You just walked up on a rodent/feline fight club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

when I was in my early twenties I had a vision/saw Jesus. Before anyone gets their knickers in a twist, I wasn't a particularly religious person, quite the opposite in fact, at the time I had been angry with the whole god religion thing after someone had died and upon finding a crucifx from a rosary beads left in my home I opened up the front door and fecked it as far away from my home as I could. Follow dream vision that night which had a profound effect to say the least and as well as being entirely healed the next morning, left me with a lasting sense of comfort and all that stuff that you don't particularly want to hear about. I remember sharing it with family and a few close friends at the time and while most people were receptive or nonplussed there was one individual who took offence by it and became especially enraged and started hurling abuse at the very idea. Shortly after that some things happened to him and I felt like it was my fault. I never spoke of it again after that and became terrified in case something bad would happen someone else if I did. Kept shtum and as far away from religion and everything to do with anything related to it ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I could be thinking about the weirdest, most obscure song and I guarantee within a day or two I will hear it on the radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

FireFoxBoy wrote: »
    Any horse racing results?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,826 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

ManBearPig

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭jooksavage

2001 - walking across the street at pedestrian crossing in Cashel. Mercedes comes to an abrupt stop feet from me. The driver gives a little apologetic wave and I reciprocate with a nod. Then I recognise him: Sean Connery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Sometimes when I'm reading, even posts on this site, someone nearby will say the exact few words that I'm reading at the same time I'm reading them.

It's happened too often to put it down to coincidence so I just ignore it or I would drive myself insane thinking about it... but still acknowledge that there's something weird and inexplicable going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Sometimes when I'm reading, even posts on this site, someone nearby will say the exact few words that I'm reading at the same time I'm reading them.

Sorry to ask this.

Do you read out loud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Sorry to ask this.

Do you read out loud?

Nope. The context of the words would be completely different, they are talking about something else but they are the same words.

Eg: I'm reading a sentence where someone says "I picked it up for a tenner in Argos" while someone is saying "It fell out of her bag so I picked it up and gave it back to her"

"I picked it up" is said and read simultaneously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

MFF threesome

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Remember the singer Anastasia? I met her one night and she gave me a kiss. Nobody believes this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭jooksavage

biko wrote: »
    MFF threesome

Go on out of that. It was really a MMF, right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I was getting ready for work one morning when I heard on the radio that Pope John Paul had died. I shouted up to the kids that he had died, they said the usual "ah bless".

I went into work, had a tea break and I'm there going "ah poor aul John Paul died" and NO-ONE else had heard it. I started to wonder then if I'd had a dream and stopped telling people.

Anyway, short time after that he did die and I'm convinced that I had a premonition of some sort. Thought that for a long time. Turns out it was a prank on the radio the day I heard it. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

FireFoxBoy wrote: »

I dream about Sharon Ni Bheolian too. :cool:

Were pills you took blue or yellow?
    I see dead people.

Are you a mortician or pathologist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

What. Is. This?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭spud82

For me exs 30th I arranged a threesome for him with a college friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

and people complain that Joyce is indecipherable. I'd love to see Norris try to make sense of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I posted this in another thread a while back, still hasn't left my mind,

I have two that stand out: I was inprimary school while we were watching tv in the class, I looked down at the legs of the standing holding the tv and i seen a woodlouse walking underneath it and i thought to myself imagine if a spider came down on it's web on top of it and a few seconds later it happened and i'll never forget that.

I was in 3rd or 4th class at the time and i'm 29 going on 30 now and that will stay with me.

Another one. I had a sister that died in december 2008 from a brain aneurysm and about three weeks later i got a weird dream as it felt really different from a dream but in my dream i knew she was already dead and kept telling her that she died and she kept asking how she died and what killed her.

Very strange because normally if you know something is not real in a dream you wake up but i was still asleep talking to her knowing she had died. Very strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,358 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

It's happened too often to put it down to coincidence so I just ignore it or I would drive myself insane thinking about it... but still acknowledge that there's something weird and inexplicable going on.

If it helps at all I think it both entirely believable AND probably more common than you think. And it happens to me very often too because I read quite often too.

There are, of course, many 100s of words in the English Language. But some are used a LOT more often than others. And the verbs and nouns most often used probably no not number very high at all. Especially direct verbs like "get" and "pick" like in your sentence "I picked it up".

There is also the "coincidence effect" of two large data streams. When a lot of words are coming from one source..... say a book you are reading........... and a lot of words are randomly coming from another source..... like people around you talking, television, radio and so forth......... the fact there is a core small group of words that are very often used means there will be many overlaps.

Then all you need is a brain, exactly like the ones humans have, that has a tendency to notice small coincidences in large data sets and you will notice it happen all the time.

It probably even happens to me MORE than to you because my second data stream is my children who appear to NEVER stop talking. So I have a constant barrage of words around me as I read and the overlaps are relatively frequent.

A funny one was where my brain somehow flipped the data streams and when my child said "You are just a funny baby-boo" just as I read the sentence in the book like "You are such an ass" or something..... a moment of weird vertigo in my brain convinced me my daughter had said the latter and I had read the former.

Overall I would say it is very similar to the "Friend phoning" effect where people notice that just as they think of a friend, that friend happens to ring in that very moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

spud82 wrote: »

I'm 30 soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭buckwheat

spud82 wrote: »

How did that go? Is that why he's your ex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

One time I was hitchhiking and a car was going past and pulled in and stopped ahead of me, so I ran up the door opened and it was a skeleton driving.

(.... ah well, guess some things just have a time)