Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bale Carrier/Tractor question

• 23-06-2017 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what size tractor lads are using with a double bale carrier on the back and loader on the front for silage bales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Most are probably 80-100 minimum. Seen a jd6410 with double handler that tore the splines on the lift arms.
    They're pretty severe on any tractor imo.
    The backends of different tractors vary quite a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,330 ✭✭✭emaherx

gerryirl wrote: »
    Just wondering what size tractor lads are using with a double bale carrier on the back and loader on the front for silage bales

What tractor/loader do you have?

Carrying a bale on loader and 2 on the back is very severe, especially on tractors where the engine/transmission make up the chassis.

If you wanted to use an MF 390 for instance you would put a lot of pressure on bolts holding transmission together. However this could be improved if your loader brackets go from the front of the engine to back axle.

But I wouldn't recommend it, especially if there is a big distance to travel. A 4wd would be a must too for the stronger axle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

i have a cmax 95 mccormick. the loader does go back to the back axle.. think a trailer might be a better idea. Im getting older and the fun of drawing bales 2 at a time is starting to wear out ..lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I think they are very severe on a tractor too. A trailer much better but for shorter runs, they would be handier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I think they are very severe on a tractor too. A trailer much better but for shorter runs, they would be handier.

I took the grass off the land next door. 75 bales and they took 6 hours to draw and stack 2 at a time.

Was thinking of double bale lifter but a trailer is only twice the price and more versatile

I took the grass off the land next door. 75 bales and they took 6 hours to draw and stack 2 at a time.

Was thinking of double bale lifter but a trailer is only twice the price and more versatile

We try to always draw bales home unwrapped and wrap beside where we are going to stack them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,221 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bring them in with tractor and trailer here. 16 bales on trailer and one on the digger. Got the soft hands handler for the digger a few weeks ago. Great job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

I don't have a bale trailer or a decent tractor trailer that would take any more than a few bales at a time. I was considering buying a good twin axle general purpose 14' trailer with a bale extension. Has anyone much experience with these or am I only settling for a half arsed effort at a multi purpose one that isn't really good at anything.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

We have two and back and one on loader and think its a grand job.tractor nice and steady and balanced .wouldnt go bombing with it compared to the single but then you are still making great headway.been doing it that way with a hundred or less hp with no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Just looking at the rear lift capacities on www.Tractordata.com. The MF 390 is rated for 1927Kg and the JD 6400 is rated for 2683Kg. It's more the shock load when hitting a pothole and the likes that I'd be worried about.

Lift capacity can be increased with external assister rams, but its the middle of the tractor that I would be worried about if carrying another bale out front, I've seen a 390 start to come apart in the middle with this type of operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

emaherx wrote: »
    Lift capacity can be increased with external assister rams, but its the middle of the tractor that I would be worried about if carrying another bale out front, I've seen a 390 start to come apart in the middle with this type of operation.

I had the steel (150x150x8) bought 2 years ago to make one until I saw something similar to the 390 you describe above. I sold on the steel after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

whelan2 wrote: »
    Bring them in with tractor and trailer here. 16 bales on trailer and one on the digger. Got the soft hands handler for the digger a few weeks ago. Great job

Ye the soft hands are a mighty job.

I'm going to sort a trailer this year as I take land away and contractor loans me his 30ft tri axle low loader but it's an animal of a yoke behind 105hp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Is that the lift capacity at the end of the lift arm. The bale hangs up to 4ft beyond that and add the weight of the bale handler would the 390 be under pressure.
    The 2 bales could be 1500kg maybe more possibly getting towards the 2000kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Is that the lift capacity at the end of the lift arm. The bale hangs up to 4ft beyond that and add the weight of the bale handler would the 390 be under pressure.
    The 2 bales could be 1500kg maybe more possibly getting towards the 2000kg.

I've a 398 and it won't lift two bales unless extremely well wilted, it has the assist or ram too so should be well fit but just can't. I'm bringing it to a lad that knows a bit about to see whether there's something wrong with the pump or just something simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I borrow a neighbours JD 6600 and it's not to hard to lift the nose of it