Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Days getting shorter now

• 20-06-2017 8:24am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2

All downhill from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Tomorrow is the longest day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

FAIL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

All downhill from here.

This phrase always confuses me. Does it mean things will get better or worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭XrayGolf

The summer solstice for the Northern Hemisphere will be at 05:24 (Irish Time) on Wednesday, 21 June 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Yep.

The fun is nearly over now despite the warm snap having just started. Winter is upon us. Kids back to school, halloween & Christmas around the corner. Soon it will be dark at 5 O'clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

All downhill from here.

Jaysus I must bring in the hay so....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

gramar wrote: »
    This phrase always confuses me. Does it mean things will get better or worse?

You make a good point.

If I was in a race, and was told "it's all downhill from here" I'd be feckin delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,443 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

If I was in a race, and was told "it's all downhill from here" I'd be feckin delighted.

On a mountain bike, downhill is lots of fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

winter-is-coming-jpeg-492x0_q85_crop-smart.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Always found it amazing that sun position wise the sun is as strong as it is on April 21st as it is August 21st ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Daledge

What a grim outlook. We're only halfway through summer, lighten up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,380 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Always found it amazing that sun position wise the sun is as strong as it is on April 21st as it is August 21st ...

The sun is about the same all the time. It's output varies by about 0.1% at most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Days are still 24 hours long. Go away with your hippy sunlight bullsh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Feck you OP :pac: still loads upon loads of long days left!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Daledge wrote: »

Not even close. We're 3 weeks in; a quarter of the way through and the two hottest months are still ahead of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

As of today, we're only ~5bn years away from our sun becoming a supernova and engulfing the entire solar system.

Depressing times ahead lads.

Daledge wrote: »

Some people would argue that summer only begins tomorrow.

Either way , it began on June 1st so we're not half way through yet. Don't mind the pagan midsummer stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Summer is May, June and July? So more than half way through

Climatically it's not.

Also the 24th is the latest sunset so we have a few more days really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Ya big eejit OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

namloc1980 wrote: »
    The sun is about the same all the time. It's output varies by about 0.1% at most.

Sorry I meant Earths position and so daylight time and strength of the sun due to the angle light is falling ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Cina wrote: »
    As of today, we're only ~5bn years away from our sun becoming a supernova and engulfing the entire solar system.

Sh?t! I'm taking that day off work, no point going in when its all going to end in a ball of flames.

So kids on Summer Holidays in August are actually on Autumn holidays?

Why is August peak summer holiday season?

May is Spring and Summer is June, July and August and can overlap either side.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 260 ✭✭Irishweather

Not particularly. First 10pm sunset is Mid July for me, so I have at least a month of very long days left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

All downhill from here.

So - just to confirm:

These are the very days where we are as far as we can possibly get from the misery of dark winter evenings in Ireland? Right?

What is your complaint again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

All downhill from here.

You really made that second post count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Cina wrote: »

It won't be a supernova. The sun's not big enough for that. It'll be a red giant. We'll be swallowed by the sun, not blown to atoms.

And that's 7bn years away. Much more time.

Still, it's cool to think that everything, EVERYTHING on Earth with be inside the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

It won't be a supernova. The sun's not big enough for that. It'll be a red giant. We'll be swallowed by the sun, not blown to atoms.

Still, it's cool to think that everything, EVERYTHING on Earth with be inside the sun.

Only Elon Musk can save our species from certain DOOOM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Good, i dont like when its bright at 11pm tbh. April/early may and then early september has the nicest evening lighting, fully bright til about 6/7, then nice dimmer stretch with pink/orange skies until about 9pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Yeah...well...whatever! Yer ma' is already a red giant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's the getting bright at 4am part that I have a problem with. Fecking pain in the arse if you're a light sleeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

murpho999 wrote: »
    Tomorrow is the longest day.

Varies from year to year - 20th / 21st / 22nd.

This year it is tomorrow - by ONE SECOND!

Daylight today = 17 hours 7 seconds
    Daylight tomorrow = 17 hours 8 seconds
    22nd = 17 hours 3 seconds

Make the most of that second.

In 2020, June 20th will be longest day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭wingbacknr5

The ould evenings are bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Air conditioning companies are going to make a mint when that happens...and ice cream sellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Varies from year to year - 20th / 21st / 22nd.

This year it is tomorrow - by ONE SECOND!

Daylight today = 17 hours 7 seconds
    Daylight tomorrow = 17 hours 8 seconds
    22nd = 17 hours 3 seconds

Make the most of that second.

In 2020, June 20th will be longest day :)

You seem like fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Air conditioning companies are going to make a mint when that happens...and ice cream sellers.

Will the ice cream sellers be making mint too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I comfort myself with the fact that the days will be getting shorter after the 21st of June. I prefer the darkness, and winter, and being wrapped up in a coat, hidden away from the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Build a wicker man in time for Lughnasa, it might appease the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Well if you live down in Cork/Kerry you can cheat. Sunshine is about 40 mins longer in Donegal, midsummer. Sunrise is at 4.50, compared to 5.14 in Cork/Kerry. Sunset is 9.57 compared to 10.13
    The Cork/Kerryman can keep daylight at the same length by moving northwards. I think it is 30 miles per day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

People are a lot easier to handle when they're depressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

True once the longest day passes, the days start to get gradually shorter until the shortest day of the year December 21st and then they start getting longer again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Mutant z wrote: »
    True once the longest day passes, the days start to get gradually shorter until the shortest day of the year December 21st and then they start getting longer again.

The circle of life, as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Chocolate fiend

Of course those of us who travelled further afield are in the middle of the shortest day and it's all getting better and brighter from here on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

I'm heading off to Oz this winter so feck you all I get two summers muahahaha