Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Dog Won't Play With Toys

• 18-06-2017 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

Just rescued a 2 year old Retreiver/Spaniel/Collie (No clue really) and he is the best behaved dog ever, still hasn't barked-doesn't beg-stays in his bed all night since the day we got him. I only have to hold a finger up and he stops whatever he's doing and sits down (including when he found the bag of bones from the butcher)
    I am blessed with this lad he's just brilliant. I'm just worried that he doesn't play, I have three different types of toys here and he won't touch any of them! He likes a bit of rough housing in the grass but nothing he likes chewing on, (except bones) I thought all dogs need to do this to calm them and for their teeth?
    New to this, so apologies for my naivety!

He's probably just getting used to his new gaff. You don't know his full history so there's a chance the poor lad never had toys to play with.
    If it keeps up I'd suggest you play with the toys in front of him. Just throw them in the air and catch it. He'll take an interest and hopefully instinct will kick in and he'll start playing away himself.
    Fair play for taking a rescue dog as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

My JRT has never played with toys and has absolutely no interest in them. She too is a rescue. If you threw a ball for her to fetch she would look at you as if you were mad!!!!

Lack of interest in playing hasn't hindered her enjoyment of life (she is spolit rotten ) it's just her little idiosyncrasy.

Or You could try getting him this. Might cheer him up :)
    https://www.amazon.com/Hunter-Boston-Bruins-Jersey-Large/dp/B004QS5VII

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Get a yellow toy such as dog tennis ball (kong). Dogs primarily see yellow and blue colours and yellow is more stimulating.

Its also the reason dogs may bark at workmen and postmen wearing yellow bibs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 GoCanucks

Or You could try getting him this. Might cheer him up :)

Oh that is low, just over 6 years to the day of the riots now! Ha ha!

He's probably just getting used to his new gaff. You don't know his full history so there's a chance the poor lad never had toys to play with.
    If it keeps up I'd suggest you play with the toys in front of him. Just throw them in the air and catch it. He'll take an interest and hopefully instinct will kick in and he'll start playing away himself.
    Fair play for taking a rescue dog as well

I did read that-about playing with it myself, I may try it. I'm home all the time now but in a few weeks I'll be back to work 4/5 hours part time so I'd like him to have something to do.

I've a feeling he had a rough past he's such a softie cries if I leave him for more than 30 seconds and I only got him on Wednesday.

It's the best thing I ever did-he is amazing!

Layinghen wrote: »
    My JRT has never played with toys and has absolutely no interest in them. She too is a rescue. If you threw a ball for her to fetch she would look at you as if you were mad!!!!

Lack of interest in playing hasn't hindered her enjoyment of life (she is spolit rotten ) it's just her little idiosyncrasy.

Yeah I think it's abandonment issues, I let him sniff a Jumbone (a one off when he first came home from the pound) and he was very interested in it but when I threw it he stood beside me looking up. Wouldn't chase it!

They really are amazing.
    Just to point out, you'll get some great advice from this forum but at the end of the day every dog has its own personality so don't take everything as gospel, maybe your dog will react better to different methods, and as was pointed out earlier, maybe he just doesn't like to "play" as we know it.
    If you happen to be in the Cork area I'd be happy to take our fellas out for a walk if you want to get him socialised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

I lot of people don't realise that most dogs are taught to play when they are puppies, if they aren't played with from a young age some just don't get the point.

A good example is my first dog and being my first I hadn't really a clue what I was doing when he was a puppy. I never really "played" with him, so for the first 4 years of his life he would look at a ball fly by him and then look back at me like "well... what?"

It has taken a LOT of enthusiasm from myself to get him to learn to retrieve a ball for me, even then he is only starting to enjoy it now, but he's more doing it to get a tasty reward along with human-engagement. When I say "enthusiasm from myself", I mean me... running around holding a toy squeaking like a lunatic to get him all hyped up and the brief moment he decides to chase after the ball (even just a teeny-tiny bit) begets more high pitched squealing on my behalf and lots and lots of "good boy!!!" and me doing more running around to keep the energy high.

Dogs know when you're faking it. You can't fake your excitement. You really have to look and act completely genuine that you are having the best time of your life. :o

At the end of the day dogs are individuals, dogs don't HAVE to play with things or chew on things and that's totally fine. But there's no harm trying if it's something you feel would be enriching to your dog's life as long as there is medically no reason why he can't.

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

VonVix wrote: »
    I lot of people don't realise that most dogs are taught to play when they are puppies, if they aren't played with from a young age some just don't get the point.

A good example is my first dog and being my first I hadn't really a clue what I was doing when he was a puppy. I never really "played" with him, so for the first 4 years of his life he would look at a ball fly by him and then look back at me like "well... what?"

It has taken a LOT of enthusiasm from myself to get him to learn to retrieve a ball for me, even then he is only starting to enjoy it now, but he's more doing it to get a tasty reward along with human-engagement. When I say "enthusiasm from myself", I mean me... running around holding a toy squeaking like a lunatic to get him all hyped up and the brief moment he decides to chase after the ball (even just a teeny-tiny bit) begets more high pitched squealing on my behalf and lots and lots of "good boy!!!" and me doing more running around to keep the energy high.

Dogs know when you're faking it. You can't fake your excitement. You really have to look and act completely genuine that you are having the best time of your life. :o

At the end of the day dogs are individuals, dogs don't HAVE to play with things or chew on things and that's totally fine. But there's no harm trying if it's something you feel would be enriching to your dog's life as long as there is medically no reason why he can't.

Ah good, thanks I'm being a newbie owner and worried my dog looks sad sometimes. I know, ridiculous carry on! I should be gratefull he's not tearing the leg off the couch in fairness. He's such a good boy! He's happy out just "dancing" standing on his hind legs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

GoCanucks wrote: »
    Ah good, thanks I'm being a newbie owner and worried my dog looks sad sometimes. I know, ridiculous carry on! I should be gratefull he's not tearing the leg off the couch in fairness. He's such a good boy! He's happy out just "dancing" standing on his hind legs!

Totally nothing wrong with that, we all start somewhere!

All dogs have different things they enjoy, my little guys get the most excited for walks or food related endeavors. While my big guy seems almost... bored, with walks, he has more enthusiasm for playing with his toys and engaging with me in play/training/etc. I get the leash out, hardly any reaction out of him. If I get a ball on a rope out, bouncing off the walls!

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

VonVix wrote: »
    Totally nothing wrong with that, we all start somewhere!

All dogs have different things they enjoy, my little guys get the most excited for walks or food related endeavors. While my big guy seems almost... bored, with walks, he has more enthusiasm for playing with his toys and engaging with me in play/training/etc. I get the leash out, hardly any reaction out of him. If I get a ball on a rope out, bouncing off the walls!

Aw thank you, that's so good to know. I thought he was broken down in his previous home-I would say he was just never played with. Thanks so much!

They really are amazing.
    Just to point out, you'll get some great advice from this forum but at the end of the day every dog has its own personality so don't take everything as gospel, maybe your dog will react better to different methods, and as was pointed out earlier, maybe he just doesn't like to "play" as we know it.
    If you happen to be in the Cork area I'd be happy to take our fellas out for a walk if you want to get him socialised

Aw unfortunately not-I'm slowly letting him meet other dogs and it seems to suit him. I'll keep him occupied as much as I can and hopefully he'll continue to be a happy content dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

My terriers never played; no rough-housing, no playing tug, and if I threw a ball they'd run the opposite direction. I figured they were just never played with, but they were happy with affection rather than play. Finn plays tug, but won't chase a ball (apparently because it's not alive).

Encourage him to play, but don't worry if he won't; different dogs find different things fun/rewarding. He's unlikely to play when you're not there anyway so filled Kongs might be the best plan for when you're out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

It's great that you asked this question. I rescued a little Yorkshire Terrier (not sure if she's miniature or not) a couple of months ago and I was wondering the same thing but didn't want to ask. :o

She was terrified the first time I threw a ball so I left it for a while until she settled. She's a very nervous little thing anyway.

Then when she started getting confidence I thought I'd try again, no, still hates the ball. So I've tried chew toys, kongs, ropes, nothing. It's a little weird but sure I suppose they're like little humans, all have their vagaries.

Now mind you, leave a phone charger or ear phones around and they're robbed and chewed fairly lively. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Our rescue is with us a year now and doesn't really play either.
    Very rarely she'll chase after something (mostly her kong which isn't surprising) but it just doesn't seem to appeal to her.

She loves a bit of messing when we come home from work for 10 minutes or so and after that her favourite thing is watching us make dinner or just lazing around the front room.

Different folks, sorry, dogs, different strokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Dogs are like people - have their own personalities - some are calm, quiet reserved, some are nutters and excitable, some are easy going, some suffer from stress/anxiety. Find what your dog enjoys, and all is well.

Most dogs just love to hang out with their human families. OP you have done a wonderful thing rescuing a dog. The bond that you make with your dog while he gets used to his new home and his new human over the coming weeks is really important. Being calm and quite and gentle and relaxed and kind is more important during this traumatic time for him, than anything else. He is in a scary world where anything can happen because everything is new and could change in an instant. He is feeling his way. Routine is SO important with dogs. The rules and routines and habits you establish from day 1 are all very important. If you want your dog to not do something - for example not sit on a specific chair - establish that 'rule' now, and dont fluctuate. When he does something you tell him, lots of praise and stroking and even a treat. Its all about trust and gentleness and trust and trust.

Try playing games with him - get down on the ground with him, put a piece of kibble in a sheet of newspaper, make lots of rustling noises, and silly voices :D dart it around like its 'alive' :D see if he wants to tear it open to get at the kibble. If not, no sweat! Get an empty toilet roll, stick it on his paw, he has to pull it off with his teeth - my dog does this for all four legs at least four times each leg :cool: Put a ball or a teddy under a mat/rug, and make silly voices flip the rug up/down, see if he tries to grab it. He may just think you're a nutter :D and thats ok too! Its all about bonding, and stimulation and interesting him. Toys can be an empty box with a biscuit in it, or an old sock with a knot in it to play tugging.

Oh and you NEED to post a photograph of your new dog on here asap! I wish you the very best the two of you. Have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Latatian

My labrador 'retriever' was with me since she was a young pup, got lots of play, and never quite grokked the idea of toys. She loved playing but playing involved running around and crashing into things, or playing bitey face with other dogs, or smacking you with her paws and getting 'beaten' in return. I would sit on the floor and wrestle with her.

Eventually she learned to retrieve, but only ever as 'work' for food. Never picked up an object playfully in her life. I would have had substantially fewer black eyes in my life if she'd just learned to play fetch.

So it may not be a rescue thing. Try teaching a retrieve step-by-step with a clicker and food. It didn't make her treat it as a game but it at least meant I could get her to fetch as mental and physical exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭axcel

Our rescue didn't play with toys for the first couple of months. She was so serious, even though she'd seemed to settle in in other ways. But now she's like a puppy (She's nearly 4). She just came around eventually on her own, we'd try play with her but wouldn't force it. Think she realised then playing means more attention for her and fun so now she runs around the garden with her teddy on her own even. She'd likely been a working dog before so probably never played in her like. Your one might come around but like the others said maybe not, but will be happy either way hopefully.