Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eggs dated 6th June... AKA the Conor74 Lives thread

• 10-06-2017 9:15am

...would you chance them?

Think I'll boil them anyway, and judge by taste/odour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Alas I knew him well. Wasn't a bad fecker.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,344 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Put them in water if they sink they are good if they float they are bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

Could you not fork out for fresh eggs?

fergal.b wrote: »

I never knew that!

Seriously though how much is a carton of fresh eggs? like 1.50

https://www.tesco.ie/groceries/Product/Details/?id=250809180

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

If in doubt, throw it out. Food poisoning from eggs is particularly revolting. I'm not strict about Use-By Dates but with some foods, it's not worth taking a risk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

June 6th? Pah! They've barely hatched been laid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

If in doubt, throw it out. Food poisoning from eggs is particularly revolting. I'm not strict about Use-By Dates but with some foods, it's not worth taking a risk!
    There is no use by date on eggs, it's a best before date. Four days past a best before date is no problem at all, eat away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Don't use deep water to test them in.

You just end up standing beside the canal with 2 bad eggs floating in front of you.

I've my own chickens and I'd use the eggs for up to about a week and a half. At least I know exactly when I got them and they weren't languishing in a store room or on a shop shelf for days beforehand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

In my long lost youth :( we used throw out of date eggs at cars at nighttime

Alun wrote: »
    There is no use by date on eggs, it's a best before date. Four days past a best before date is no problem at all, eat away.

I'm just saying I don't normally adhere too strictly to use by (or best before) dates. I would be strict about eggs though. He probably will be fine but I wouldn't chance it.

Seriously though how much is a carton of fresh eggs? like 1.50

https://www.tesco.ie/groceries/Product/Details/?id=250809180

Tesco is like half an hour away.

They are currently boiling away. And resting at the bottom of the saucepan. So the signs are good.

I'm just saying I don't normally adhere too strictly to use by (or best before) dates. I would be strict about eggs though. He probably will be fine but I wouldn't chance it.

I'm usually fussy about best before dates, and use by dates, but eggs are different ... sure you'd know immediately by the smell if they were off!

I'd often use them 1-2 weeks after the best before date, so long as they looked and smelled okay. If I was in any doubt though I wouldn't chance it.

I'm a bit loose, but strict on the really processed stuff, pre packed meats like slices of ham etc. If it says "eat within x days of opening" I'm all for that. But an egg, reckon the smell and taste test will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭Sarn

Plenty of good advice above. Eggs have a best before date, not a use by date on them. If they float in water then bin them. That usually happens over a month after the BB date. I generally hard boil them if they are a few weeks past the BB date to be on the safe side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Eggs last something like two months from being laid but shops only give them three weeks. I think.

I'm usually fussy about best before dates, and use by dates, but eggs are different ... sure you'd know immediately by the smell if they were off!

I'd often use them 1-2 weeks after the best before date, so long as they looked and smelled okay. If I was in any doubt though I wouldn't chance it.

I think it is something like a month after laying, but I am still extra careful and limit it to 2 weeks maximum.

They don't have to be rotten to make you sick. If it was always so obvious Id say there'd be fewer cases of poisoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

This reminds me of the best joke of the 19C.

A curate is visiting his bishop for breakfast. Gets a rotten egg. The bishop asks him what he thinks of the egg. He says it's good in parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

I'm a bit loose, but strict on the really processed stuff, pre packed meats like slices of ham etc. If it says "eat within x days of opening" I'm all for that. But an egg, reckon the smell and taste test will do.

Jaysus Conor, you might be a bit loose after eating them.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭looksee

In the olden days, like before about 1979, food was not dated. Having dates on stuff is a good idea, and on the whole should be observed, but the look, taste and smell method worked for most people since forever. The only things I am really picky about are chicken, fish and mince. Otherwise use common sense, eggs 4 days over are not likely to be an issue.

Apparently though if you store them in the fridge they have a shorter shelf life than if you store them in a press or on the counter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Loon E. Tick

If you pick one up and give it a bit of a rattle and shake, and if you can hear it sloshing around inside and sounds a bit liquidy, then it's more than likely gone off. So give it a bit of a rattle, Conor, and report back.

Eggs consumed and...

http://youtu.be/ZHwVBirqD2s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Thread title changed, headstone cancelled.

Put them in water if they sink they are good if they float they are bad...

It works for eggs as well as witches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

No no it's throw them on the ground. If they bounce they're still good.

Eggs consumed and...

http://youtu.be/ZHwVBirqD2s
    Yay!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

...would you chance them?

Think I'll boil them anyway, and judge by taste/odour.

Yep. I've eaten eggs upto about 6 weeks after the date.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

looksee wrote: »
    In the olden days, like before about 1979, food was not dated. Having dates on stuff is a good idea, and on the whole should be observed, but the look, taste and smell method worked for most people since forever. The only things I am really picky about are chicken, fish and mince. Otherwise use common sense, eggs 4 days over are not likely to be an issue.

Apparently though if you store them in the fridge they have a shorter shelf life than if you store them in a press or on the counter.

In Europe supermarkets only sell them non refrigerated because they do not get washed and its illegal to wash them
    In America supermarkets only sell them refrigerated because they get washed and its illegal to not wash them

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Squeeze the egg lengthways between your forefinger and thumb, if the egg dosnt break, you are gay.

Food poisoning doesn't show up immediately. I got it from a takeaway omlette years ago and it took three hours.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Has I eaten the eggs? Was the 'Conor74 lives' bit written before or after eating the eggs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Eggs last something like two months from being laid but shops only give them three weeks. I think.

Conor
    This one speaks the truth.
    All the rest speak with forked tongues or don't know bollix.

Any way the hen/ostrich/crocodile that laid the egss could be years old.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Eggs are usually good for about a month past their best before date. Rotten eggs smell revolting so you'll probably quickly know if your eggs are edible or not.

The water test is a good one. The reason why bad eggs float is that the gasses given off by rotting fills the egg and makes it buoyant.

God, anyone else really craving eggs after reading this thread?

I'm trying to muster the energy to go to the shop. For lovely fresh eggs! And I'm gonna have them scrambled, with cream cheese and chorizo and jalepenos. On toasted sourdough bread. And it's going to be amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Last time I ate eggs out of date this happened

https://youtu.be/5OVdoTDuKT0

Dammit, back from the shops and course forgot to get eggs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I'm usually fastidious about best before dates but with eggs I'm not. The other day I ate ones 2 weeks past their date. Did the water test first, they were grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Reminds me of a very long and heated discussion about whether or not fat people take longer to sink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭looksee

In Europe supermarkets only sell them non refrigerated because they do not get washed and its illegal to wash them
    In America supermarkets only sell them refrigerated because they get washed and its illegal to not wash them

Right, but I think if you store european eggs in the fridge then leave them out they go off quicker. Something to do with absorbency of the shell or something, I can't remember the details.