Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No car tax cert - only printout

• 09-06-2017 5:28pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi all, I thought this would have been done to death but I can't find a thread??

I'm waiting for my car cert (was late renewing), what happens if I'm stopped and only have the printout?

Impounded on the spot? Fined but let go? Let off because I have paid? Depends on the guard?

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Oink wrote: »
    Hi all, I thought this would have been done to death but I can't find a thread??

I'm waiting for my car cert (was late renewing), what happens if I'm stopped and only have the printout?

Impounded on the spot? Fined but let go? Let off because I have paid? Depends on the guard?

Thanks!

How long out of date is the tax? or the disc currently displayed?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

KC161 wrote: »
    How long out of date is the tax? or the disc currently displayed?

Expired end of may. Thanks.

Edit : renewed wed night, should be in by next Wednesday hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭Kramer

a. car seized immediately
    b. sur you have 2 months "grace"
    c. don't drive it - it's illegal, like
    d. all of the above

You'll be fine then, you have 'before or during' the month of June to renew in your case, i was expecting 6-12 month's out of date.

I bought a new car recently, tax was expired 6 months, was waved through a few checkpoints and stopped once, told them the car was taxed online, they checked this and sent me on my way with a 'have a good evening' message.

I got the new tax disc for my car only yesterday.

Relax and enjoy your weekend, don't worry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You'll be grand. Unless a traffic warden catches you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

So you have tax just not the disc yet....

If so you won't be pulled by anpr and may get questions at a checkpoint.

Don't park on street parking in city or some council areas as they will slap fine for non display of tax.

Drive on....

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You'll be grand. Unless a traffic warden catches you

Not many of them left at all.

Know one retired end last year.

You'll be fine then, you have 'before or during' the month of June to renew in your case, i was expecting 6-12 month's out of date.

I bought a new car recently, tax was expired 6 months, was waved through a few checkpoints and stopped once, told them the car was taxed online, they checked this and sent me on my way with a 'have a good evening' message.

I got the new tax disc for my car only yesterday.

Relax and enjoy your weekend, don't worry :)

Thanks everybody!

The "before or during" thing, is that official and documented?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Not many of them left at all.

Know one retired end last year.
    I find they love public car-parks.

Thanks everybody!

The "before or during" thing, is that official and documented?

It says it on the tax renewal form i got in the door yesterday for a car i scrapped 2 months ago :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

It says it on the tax renewal form i got in the door yesterday for a car i scrapped 2 months ago :pac:

Not true. There is no grace period.

The renewal form you get in the post and the pin allow you to tax the car within the month after expiry. That's what they mean about within the month.
    After the month you need a different form and pay arrears.

However by and large the gardai probably won't mind if it's less than a month expired.

Boards.ie comes through again and saves my weekend.

Cheers everybody. I'm off motorin' til I'm hurtin' !!

Over the years moving vehicles many would be out of tax by months if not years.

Was stopped many times no issues.

Van was last one where was out 5 years hit check point told him showed insurance he laughed and says look go on....

cml387 wrote: »
    Not true. There is no grace period.

The renewal form you get in the post and the pin allow you to tax the car within the month after expiry. That's what they mean about within the month.
    After the month you need a different form and pay arrears.

However by and large the gardai probably won't mind if it's less than a month expired.

i never mentioned a grace period, his tax expired in May, he recently renewed in June, no loss to the state, as i have often heard in court houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

i never mentioned a grace period, his tax expired in May, he recently renewed in June, no loss to the state, as i have often heard in court houses.

Yes, you're correct, but technically "failing to display a valid tax disc" is an offence in itself.

cml387 wrote: »
    Yes, you're correct, but technically "failing to display a valid tax disc" is an offence in itself.

100% correct

Ah crap back to square one.

Your tax is 9 days out, i would be hugely surprised if anything came of it, you worry way too easy OP.

Fine is small and if 2 months or more car can be lifted.

If you don't drive like a tool you will 99% be OK.

They will see you have taxed and most will say go on or even produce at station.

you worry way too easy OP.

Why yes, yes I do, thanks for noticing. But overall it looks like I'll live so it'll do. I'll just cross fingers they i don't get a fine, thanks.

As i have outlined on here before, i have driven cars that were months out of date with tax, i only ever got a fine if it was over 1 calendar month out.

i.e Expired on May 31st and stopped on July 1st.

The reason i got the other fines was because i was acting the eejit drawing attention to myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Worst case scenario is that you'll have to do a bit of paperwork to get a fine cancelled. If you want 'official' confirmation that you're OK.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=13233
    FCNs can be cancelled by An Garda Síochána when the evidence would not sustain a prosecution and / or due to exceptional circumstances a prosecution would not be appropriate, fair or proportionate
    Cancellation Request Categories. Cancellation requests fall into two categories. Category A covers mainly procedural issues. Category B relate to cancellations based on exceptional circumstances e.g. .
    Category A
    Cancellation requests falling within this category include –

In relation to an FCN for non-display of motor tax or insurance disc, motor tax had been taken out or applied for, or in the case of the non display of an insurance disc motor insurance was in place, at the time of the alleged offence.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Thats pretty definitive guys, thanks.

Man I love Boards.ie. :-)