Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Four year off-the-road sentence for weed smoking.

• 09-06-2017 12:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭

I was reading the Connacht Tribune this evening, and read that some stoner was given a mandatory four year ban from driving. He was caught with recent traces of weed smoking in his system under the new Garda drug testing policy.

Now, I fully agree with getting piss-heads and pot-heads off the roads. It makes journeys safer for those of us who don't feel the need to get off our heads before driving home. I doubt that anyone could disagree with that.

I'd ask if we should raise the drink driving ban up to 4 years? Or lower the sentences given to drug drivers to take account of our long history of trying to find loopholes for folks driving home with 15 pints on board?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,800 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I was reading the Connacht Tribune this evening, and read that some stoner was given a mandatory four year ban from driving. He was caught with recent traces of weed smoking in his system under the new Garda drug testing policy.

Now, I fully agree with getting piss-heads and pot-heads off the roads. It makes journeys safer for those of us who don't feel the need to get off our heads before driving home. I doubt that anyone could disagree with that.

I'd ask if we should raise the drink driving ban up to 4 years? Or lower the sentences given to drug drivers to take account of our long history of trying to find loopholes for folks driving home with 15 pints on board?

Do you have a link for that story Rumpy?

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Do you have a link for that story Rumpy?

http://imgur.com/a/CkRML

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Ted Plain

In their radio ad for drug testing they mention that they can detect if you ate fish last week, etc. So, does that mean that they can also detect hash in saliva, but long after it ceased to have any psychoactive effect?

Does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

In their radio ad for drug testing they mention that they can detect if you ate fish last week, etc. So, does that mean that they can also detect hash in saliva, but long after it ceased to have any psychoactive effect?

Does anyone know?
    They supposedly only test if someone is driving erratically. They can't really do feck all about amphetamine or codiene as both can be bought over the counter. Cocaine and yokes only stay in the system for a day or so. It's people out of the brain on Benzos that are the main target. And rightly so too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Does anyone know?

It can test for residual THC in saliva for up to about six hours after smoking. Thing is with most THC testing is though that after that, it's not directly THC it tests for, but for residual broken down THC (THC-COOC? Something like that) which can be traced for weeks afterwards. I may be slightly off on what exactly is tested for in the saliva, but I think it's the main component at that stage.

If it's just the saliva test, okay, at least it's more likely to be recent. I don't agree with banning people based on the resultant (broken down) components though as the person is not proving to be under an influence while driving. Tbh, even the saliva test isn't particularly accurate as a very unlucky person could get hit having smoked weed hours before and not being under its influence by the time they're driving.

Although one could argue that it is illegal so that's that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Even if the laws were changed, I don't think they would be rigorously enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I absolutely loathe drink and drug drivers, they are incredibly selfish people and any punishment they get is fully deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,589 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

They supposedly only test if someone is driving erratically. They can't really do feck all about amphetamine or codiene as both can be bought over the counter. Cocaine and yokes only stay in the system for a day or so. It's people out of the brain on Benzos that are the main target. And rightly so too.

Amphetamine over the counter?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Esel wrote: »
    Amphetamine over the counter?

Calpol 6+

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

The story has nothing to do with the new drugs stuff brought in this year tho? I see the article says it occured May 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,644 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I'd ask if we should raise the drink driving ban up to 4 years?
    I'm not sure, but I think such a penalty can be imposed for drinking driving. You can then appeal after 1-2 years.

They supposedly only test if someone is driving erratically.
    Not necessarily. If someone is stopped for some other reason and seen to have intoxication side effects (dilated pupils, slurred speech), then they might test.
    They can't really do feck all about amphetamine or codiene as both can be bought over the counter.
    Just because something is OTC or prescription doesn't mean you can drive while intoxicated / impaired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I know a guy in the army. Clean living pioneer as are his parents and siblings who failed a drug test after eating a poppy seed bagel the day before a surprise test. Very nearly cost him his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

4 years seems harsh enough but we weren't there and don't know just how erratically he was driving. I'm glad drug testing is being done, I know people who happily drive while stoned.

What if you were taking prescription painkillers or similar and warned not to drive *if the medication makes you drowsy* but you do drive because you know it doesn't have that effect on you, are you breaking the law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

If the Guards wanted to they could block the roads leading out of any small village and it's guaranteed they would catch people over the limit.

Same for pubs in rural areas, not everyone who owns the cars parked outside are drinking 7up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭sundodger5

Calpol 6+
    Calpol 6+ does not have amphetamine in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

sundodger5 wrote: »
    Calpol 6+ does not have amphetamine in it

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Are you thinking of Ritalin? Although its not OTC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,503 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

If the Guards wanted to they could block the roads leading out of any small village and it's guaranteed they would catch people over the limit.

Same for pubs in rural areas, not everyone who owns the cars parked outside are drinking 7up.

Theirs a few pubs in villages in my area. Taxi's can be gotten if people want but generally the owners bring people home who wouldn't have a drive. There is a pub tough and the Gardai basically sit outside it and catch people going home. It's unreal the amount of people that caught outside it and people still chances it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Theirs a few pubs in villages in my area. Taxi's can be gotten if people want but generally the owners bring people home who wouldn't have a drive. There is a pub tough and the Gardai basically sit outside it and catch people going home. It's unreal the amount of people that caught outside it and people still chances it.

I live in a small village myself, not as many would chance it as in previous times but quite a few do, never see the Guards out around here at the weekends.