Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Commercial insurance

• 07-06-2017 6:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭

I looking to put a 2nd van on the road and I having problems getting insurance for it.

Half the company's don't want to quote me . Fbd want to r**e me .

The problem is I don't have no claims as it's a 2nd van. What frustrating is I had a 2nd policy for a jeep 2 and half years ago but because it's more than 2 years it's lost .

What frustrating me is I spoke to them in jan for ball park figure . This was one week before the 2 years were up . I said I wanted to a ball park as I probably be getting something in few months . If they had told me I loss the no claims in a week I would have insured any car back then to keep it active .

Anyway where do ye fine lads and lassies insurer yer commercial vehicles ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Insure my van won by a country mile for me a few months back.

Mike Murphy car insurance were next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

they might pair your no claims bonus.

Like I hae my NCB for my jeep.

And me been a director I can use my NCB for one of the work vans here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Fbd did not seem to be talking about that but I might try that.

Who you with ?

Fbd did not seem to be talking about that but I might try that.

Who you with ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

I looking to put a 2nd van on the road and I having problems getting insurance for it.

The problem is I don't have no claims as it's a 2nd van. What frustrating is I had a 2nd policy for a jeep 2 and half years ago but because it's more than 2 years it's lost .

What frustrating me is I spoke to them in jan for ball park figure . This was one week before the 2 years were up . I said I wanted to a ball park as I probably be getting something in few months . If they had told me I loss the no claims in a week I would have insured any car back then to keep it active .

I've figured out who you are now. :)
    Steer clear of fbd unless you've a substancially large yoke insured with them!

I've figured out who you are now. :)
    Steer clear of fbd unless you've a substancially large yoke insured with them!

Ya I really hope I find someone cheaper . Looking to pull everything from them this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Grueller wrote: »

Who are county mile. I googled it and it comes up from Australia !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

"Insure my van" is the name of the insurance company.

Thanks lads . I check them tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

acorn insurance in Galway

Aren't to bad

pedigree 6 wrote: »

"Insure my van" is the name of the insurance company.

They won't quote me 😲

Alliance were quoting me but won't give open driving or allow me to have a named driver . This van is for a employee !!

I never heard something so stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

They won't quote me 😲

Alliance were quoting me but won't give open driving or allow me to have a named driver . This van is for a employee !!

I never heard something so stupid
    From reading your post I presume FBD is your current insurer. How old is the second driver (employee) and do they have a full license. Of interest how much did they quote you for the second van. You don't have to give exact figures.

Ya fbd have the current van and farm and bussocess and tractor . They quoted 1500 plus and giving me a discount to 1300 plus cause of all the rest .

2nd employee is 35 - 40 with full linince

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Ya fbd have the current van and farm and bussocess and tractor . They quoted 1500 plus and giving me a discount to 1300 plus cause of all the rest .

There must be something wrong with your second driver....or maybe you
    One company quoting high and another one refusing to quote for him......At least FBD will cover you and your driver.
    Paying around €600 comprehensive here for hilux open driving plus ifor williams trailer

The problem is I don't have any no claims for the 2nd van . Once they hear this they say no .

Bit of good news though was just walking to chill insurance . Did not realise they were a broker .

But they got 900 plus for the van with no claims with no open driving and no named driver and the other one for 650 with open driving .

I like to have open on both so we could swap vans but the above might be a option . Workable but not ideal. But far cheaper .

Fbd are 1300 plus plus 700 plus .

The problem is I don't have any no claims for the 2nd van . Once they hear this they say no .

Bit of good news though was just walking to chill insurance . Did not realise they were a broker .

But they got 900 plus for the van with no claims with no open driving and no named driver and the other one for 650 with open driving .

I like to have open on both so we could swap vans but the above might be a option . Workable but not ideal. But far cheaper .

what do you mean by no named driver and no open driving...it either has to be one or the other...if they don't want you to specify names it's open driving

rangler1 wrote: »

what do you mean by no named driver and no open driving...it either has to be one or the other...if they don't want you to specify names it's open driving

So 3 options for insurance .

1) your own name on insurance and that's all that can drive it .

2) your own name plus any drivers you want to add and name them

3) your own name plus opening driving . So anyone 25 to 70 van drive .

So they only offering option 1 on the van that's new with no no claims discount

If that's full comp, it's not a dear quote...

Ya fully comp. Are you talking the chill one or the fbd one ?

chill insurance, I presume the NCB will kick in on the €900 and come down to 600 in a couple years

Even better . He said there linking it to my first van and I have maxuimen ncb next year and can add open driving .

So seems a good deal. Only down side is

Employee can't drive that van and he said he must confirm with the insurance crowd will they take it. So fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Do you have a Rep you normally deal with for the rest?, get on to him and tell him the rest of the business will be gone if a reasonable quote isn't offered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭ravima

Just wondering, why are you getting a van for your employee? Has he no insurance in his own name? Was he ever a named driver?Are you genuinely insuring a second van for YOUR business, or doing a sort of a favour for the employee?

I actally tried that a few time with fbd rep . They don't seem to care to loss the business . I threatened last few years I going to follow through this year .

I not getting a van for employee . I getting a van for the business that a employee will need to drive

Edit : it's genuine business van . Not doing a favour for friend